BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Everything In Its Time

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful time travel romance

    For years, American Katherine St. Claire dreamed about a medieval Scottish laird. When the dreams seem to become more vividly real, the college professor decides to visit Duncreag, Scotland to learn more about Iain, the ¿occupant¿ of her nights. Accompanied by her brother Jeff, Katherine stays at the Duncreag Castle-Hotel. <P>Their best friend, Assistant DA Elaine Macqueen flies to Scotland only to learn from Jeff that Katherine vanished. As Jeff and Elaine fall in love during the search for his sibling, Katherine is back in time. She and Laird Iain Mackintosh have fallen in love and married. However, 1467 is a dangerous time due to treachery and out of control ambition. Instead of a happy ever after, Jeff knows something went wrong over five hundred years ago because the evidence has Katherine married to the wrong guy. He and Elaine are not sure how to help their beloved Katherine. <P>Time travel romance readers will fully enjoy Dee Davis¿ delightful EVERYTHING IN ITS TIME. The story line is entertaining as it switches back and forth between the mid-fifteenth century and the present. The lead charcaters are a warm, intrepid duo while Jeff and Elaine make a darling couple. The rest of the cast provides the girth needed to make both centuries seem real. If this novel is any indication of Ms. Davis¿ talent, sub-genre fans can expect many entertaining works over the next decade. <P>Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    So Good It Made Me Cry!

    All I can really say is that this book struck me with awe. Never have I felt so much happiness and joy for a story as I did with this one.This story is the kind that is hard to find: when the main characters already know how they feel bout eachother, no questions asked. EVERYTHING IN ITS TIME was breathtakingly beautiful, well thought of, and it is a MUST for romance lovers. My compliments to Ms. Davis on her beautiful, perfect story, and may she write more like it. She leaves you soaring through time... literally. She had me crying with happiness!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2000

    Fantastic!

    *** WOW! WOW! WOW! Dee Davis has outdone herself with this novel! I'm hoping a book club will put it out in hard back so I may have a life time copy! Yes, it is that wonderful! This is highly recommended reading so be sure to either pre-order a copy NOW or have your eyes pealed on the bookstore shelves in early July! This story is a dream come true! ***

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2000

    The Time is Now

    When a trip to Scotland leaves Katherine St. Claire with passionate memories of a man, she has no idea it will change her life and those of the ones she loves most. Katherine visits Duncreag in a dream and is swept into the arms of Iain Mackintosh, Laird of Duncreag. One night of passion leads to years of longing and visions of something Katherine isn't quite sure is possible. When the realization of her love for a man she only knows in dreams, she knows she must do whatever it takes to get back to him, even if that means finding her way back in to the fifteenth century. Eight years later, Katherine is once again at Duncreag. With her brother's help she discovers that her dreams might actually have been a form of time travel. Her prayers are answered and she is reunited with the Laird of her dreams. But happily ever after is not so easily attained when a vicious foe sets out to destroy Iain and everything he holds dear. The villian exacts his revenge by kidnapping Katherine and wreaking havoc in Iains life. EVERYTHING IN ITS TIME is everything a romance should be right, down to the unexpected ending. Dee Davis has written a time travel that will touch even the most hardened reader. With dramatic scenes and characters who will reach off the page and pull you into the story, EVERYTHING IN ITS TIME is not to be missed. I couldn't stop reading until the very last page and then I wanted more! Watch out for Ms. Davis she is overflowing with talent.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Publishers like Jove made it possible for readers like me to gor

    Publishers like Jove made it possible for readers like me to gorge themselves on various romance sub-genres like time travel. After reading my first time travel romance, I was completely smitten with the idea of true love crossing the barriers of time and space. I was so smitten, in fact, it bordered on obsession as I trolled every bookstore in my path looking for every time travel romance I could find. When Jove began publishing their Time Passages line, I was determined to acquire a copy of every single title they published. Though I was not able to achieve that goal, I did manage to find quite a few, but many of them, this one included, got buried in my &quot;to be read&quot; mountain over the years. When I switched to reading on an e-reader, I was excited to discover this copy available for my Nook so it prompted me to finally read it. My biggest regret is that I waited so long to read such a wonderful story.




    Katherine and Iain were absolutely wonderful characters. The passion and love they feel for one another is written with such clarity and emotion, I felt for them and the despair they felt at not being together. A 500+ year gap does not diminish their certainty that they would find their way back to one another eventually. It made me realize that it's that kind of devotion and commitment that is missing in so many relationships here in the real world. Over the years, Katherine has never forgotten about her night of passion with Iain and refuses to let go of her belief that it was real and not a vivid fantasy or dream. It's this kind of determination and persistence that makes Katherine such a strong and amazing character.




    The same is true for Iain. He has never forgotten Katherine and has even spent the years since searching for her, hoping to find her, knowing absolutely nothing about her, not even her name. She has haunted his dreams and he doesn't feel whole without her. He is convinced they are meant to be together and would move Heaven and Earth to make it happen. I really enjoyed getting points of view from both Iain and Katherine. As the story unfolds, getting glimpses into both past and present gave me a wonderful sense of each character's reality and helped me to see how the past and present are connected. Even after Katherine's return to 15th century Scotland, the reader is still connected to present day Scotland and the role Katherine's brother is placed into.




    I can't recall reading a time travel story where the past and present are so tightly connected and interact with one another. I really enjoyed it, especially when Katherine's brother, Jeff, discovers what has happened to his sister and becomes involved in setting the past right. I don't know why I am so drawn to time travel romance, especially if it involves kilt wearing Scottish highlanders, but I just can't get enough of them. I don't think I want to experience the 15th century personally myself, but if I were going to cross the barriers of time and space, Scotland would be at the top of my travel destination. Dee Davis has done a wonderful job of bringing 15th century Scotland to life, so well in fact, that it is very easy to see in my mind's eye the beauty of the place as well as the hardships people endured back then. But it doesn't stop there. In addition to the excitement of being in the presence of kilt wearing Scottish men and a romance that made my heart swell from its sheer intensity, Dee Davis takes it even further and throws in mystery, intrigue and murder. This story definitely has something for everyone. In case you didn't already know, Dee Davis is no stranger to writing mystery, intrigue and murder and she does it quite well.




    Overall, I highly recommend this book for everyone because it will speak to all readers. Fans of most any genre will find something enjoyable in this story. You will root for Katherine and Iain to find their way back to each other and cheer them on despite the adversity they face. You will enjoy the secondary characters like Katherine's brother and Iain's cousin because they add to the story and make you care about them and what happens to them as much as you care about Katherine and Iain. You will want to raise a Claymore and fight the despicable villains side by side with these characters. My only problem with this book is that the story ended and I still want more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    This is the first book of Dee Davis and it's one of the BEST boo

    This is the first book of Dee Davis and it's one of the BEST books I've ever read!! Wonderful love story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Great book!

    A must read for time travel romance lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    My favorite!!!

    I first read this book over 10 years ago. Since then, I have read it over 20 times. By far one of my favorite books!!!!

    If you like this book, you will also like Lynn Kurland!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    This book is amazing!

    This was the best book I have read in a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Nice read

    Nice read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    A MUST Read

    Very captivating, amazingly engrossing and magical!
    Would recommend this book to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    A Spellbinding Story! Review by Big Ed's girl

    A truly wonderful tale of time travel romance with many a twist and turn; once you start reading, you will not be able to put this one down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Excellent

    A very romantic time travel. I throughly enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2