Customer Reviews for

Everything's Eventual

Average Rating 4
( 276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Riding the bullet....

A great collection of short stories!

Unlike alot of reviewers, I haven't read alot of Stephen King, I've never read one of his novels and other then a few of his short stories in magazines over the years, this was my 1st King book.

I'm a big fan of the movies, "...
A great collection of short stories!

Unlike alot of reviewers, I haven't read alot of Stephen King, I've never read one of his novels and other then a few of his short stories in magazines over the years, this was my 1st King book.

I'm a big fan of the movies, "Stand By Me", "The Shawshank Redemption", "Hearts in Atlantis" and "1408". I figured if King wrote all these great movies as (short stories) first, maybe I should be reading his other work.

"Everything's Eventual" has 14 (dark) tales as you can cleary see from the cover of the book. My favorites where:

The Man in the Black Suit - a little boy out fishing has a run in with the devil himself

In the Deathroom - an American in a foreign country is about to be tortured and killed

Everything's Eventual - Dinky Earnshaw has a special power, now he's using it for good, or not?

The Road Virus Heads North - a man buys a painting at a garage sale that seems to change everytime he looks at it

Riding the Bullet - everyone has to ride the bullet, but its a question of now or later

1408 - not one of my favorites in this book, just really basic when compared to the movie, probably much better if you haven't seen the movie already

Before every story in the book Stephen King talks about how he found / came up with the idea for the each one. It's simple, but I reallly enjoyed reading those.

Looking forward to reading more of King's short stories~

posted by SavageBS on August 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Huge Stephen King fan, but I found this collection dull and uninspired.

My expectations may have been too high. I was excited when I got this book.

When I mentally go through all of Stephen Kings best work, I believe he is truly brilliant. Incredible and moving storytelling, creative ideas, interesting and well fleshed out, dynamic char...
My expectations may have been too high. I was excited when I got this book.

When I mentally go through all of Stephen Kings best work, I believe he is truly brilliant. Incredible and moving storytelling, creative ideas, interesting and well fleshed out, dynamic characters. He has a way of getting the reader to connect to even a character like Jack Torrance. But as he has admitted, he has the liberty and may often throw out works that are totally lazy, hurriedly written manuscripts, that are of course bestsellers because of his reputation and devoted fanbase.

I truly feel cheated when he does that. I know what he is capable of and I think he willingly puts out material that his heart did not fully go into. I am surprised that the ratings on this collection of stories are so high. My experience was difference. Besides "The Man in the Black Suit", none of the stories or characters stuck with me and after reading each one I felt a sense of disappointment. Honestly, I don't think he can put out anything that is dreck; but I found myself really bored here. I just think he was sleeping on this one.

Clearly, your mileage may vary.

posted by 2693409 on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 276 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Riding the bullet....

    A great collection of short stories!

    Unlike alot of reviewers, I haven't read alot of Stephen King, I've never read one of his novels and other then a few of his short stories in magazines over the years, this was my 1st King book.

    I'm a big fan of the movies, "Stand By Me", "The Shawshank Redemption", "Hearts in Atlantis" and "1408". I figured if King wrote all these great movies as (short stories) first, maybe I should be reading his other work.

    "Everything's Eventual" has 14 (dark) tales as you can cleary see from the cover of the book. My favorites where:

    The Man in the Black Suit - a little boy out fishing has a run in with the devil himself

    In the Deathroom - an American in a foreign country is about to be tortured and killed

    Everything's Eventual - Dinky Earnshaw has a special power, now he's using it for good, or not?

    The Road Virus Heads North - a man buys a painting at a garage sale that seems to change everytime he looks at it

    Riding the Bullet - everyone has to ride the bullet, but its a question of now or later

    1408 - not one of my favorites in this book, just really basic when compared to the movie, probably much better if you haven't seen the movie already

    Before every story in the book Stephen King talks about how he found / came up with the idea for the each one. It's simple, but I reallly enjoyed reading those.

    Looking forward to reading more of King's short stories~

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    The first short story collection from King in the 21 century is

    The first short story collection from King in the 21 century is fairly enjoyable, though there are a few duds.

    Most of the stories here are passable, but only a few are really engaging, like "LUNCH AT THE GOTHAM CAFE", "THE LITTLE SISTERS OF ELURIA", "THE MAN IN THE BLACK SUIT".

    I would not recommend this collection if you've never read King before, try his earlier works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Huge Stephen King fan, but I found this collection dull and uninspired.

    My expectations may have been too high. I was excited when I got this book.

    When I mentally go through all of Stephen Kings best work, I believe he is truly brilliant. Incredible and moving storytelling, creative ideas, interesting and well fleshed out, dynamic characters. He has a way of getting the reader to connect to even a character like Jack Torrance. But as he has admitted, he has the liberty and may often throw out works that are totally lazy, hurriedly written manuscripts, that are of course bestsellers because of his reputation and devoted fanbase.

    I truly feel cheated when he does that. I know what he is capable of and I think he willingly puts out material that his heart did not fully go into. I am surprised that the ratings on this collection of stories are so high. My experience was difference. Besides "The Man in the Black Suit", none of the stories or characters stuck with me and after reading each one I felt a sense of disappointment. Honestly, I don't think he can put out anything that is dreck; but I found myself really bored here. I just think he was sleeping on this one.

    Clearly, your mileage may vary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Great if you've got an hour to kill!

    I love reading Stephen King's short stories. I loved the forward he put with every story because it made the stories feel more personally written. Some of the stories left me wondering...but others really grabbed my attention and were great! Classic Stephen King.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I am a fan of Stephen King's writing style.

    I always like to take a SK book with me on vacation. This year, Everything's Eventual was the one. My husband read it as well. He liked it because it was a book of short stories; something he could put down and pick up easily.

    I liked the variety of the stories. They weren't all horror, but each one was interesting.

    SK has the ability to keep a particular writing style, along with basing stories in the same general area of the country, without becoming repetitious. He tends to write as someone would speak, therefore making the book a really easy read.

    He colors the stories with enough to get your imagination going without being verbose.

    I really enjoyed my time on the beach with SK. Hope you do too.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    On Prepare Page turner

    Prepare to stay entertained! Every story is very different than the next and each one immediately pulls you in fom the start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Good set of short stories.

    Good set of short stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Love it!

    This book gives me goosebumps but I always come back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great collection

    I bought this book on a whim after seeing the movie version of 1408 and recommendation from a friend. Thoroughly enjoyed every story and loved the overall creepiness. Its very subtle and not over the top. Couldn't put it down. If your a King fan, you should pick up this book definitely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    A+

    I do not generally read short stories because i enjoy long reads but each of these was fantastic. It really is a remarkable collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highgly Recommend

    I just finished reading Everything's Eventul I believe that this colllection contains some of King's best short stories. "The Man in the Black Suit" earned a world Fantasy Award and an O Henry Award for best short fiction in 1997.My own personal favorites were 1408 and Riding the Bullet. But I think any reader who is a fan of Stephen King rwill enjoy all of them. I hated to finish this book. It is certainly worth a five star rating and even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    Some of the best short stories from king.

    It seems that with Stephen King's short stories they are either hit or miss. I have an old copy of Night Shift that is beat to hell that I occasionally dust off and read a story in my free time and they are generally only ok but some of them (for me) are written poorly and sometimes hard to read, my faith in Stephen King short stories was sketchy at most when I got this book, but I decided to get give this collection a shot after I listened to an audio book of Riding the Bullet, 1408, Lunch at th gotham cafe, which were all very good and from this book and after I read a couple great new shorts in Just After Sunset, a semi new collection of stories by King that are generally well writen especially, Mute and Exercise Bike. So anyways I got this book and the first story I read that night was The Man in The Black Suit, which was very good, next was The Road Virus Heads north which I was also very impressed by, then I read Autopsy Room Four, equally as good it was, then I read L.T's theory of pets which was my favorite so far, and according to the authors not before the story same with King. I tried to read All that you love will be carried away, which according to the title you expect ghosts and blood but is just a story about a man contemplating to kill himself, I was not as impressed by this story, actually I only got about four pages in before putting it down, partly because I had to go somewhere and partly because it wasn't doing anything for me, but I guess someday I'll try it again, give it another shot. so basically all I can say is that theese stories are MUCH more well written than some of his earlier ones, it seems that he tries to spend more time with each one than he had before. so, give it a shot, warning: Some of them can give you chills....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    VERY VERY GOOD

    I loved all the drama, horror and suspence of all 14 stories. My favorite of all was 1408 and the haunted hotel room.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    lovd it!

    good book. more thoughtprovoking tha some of his other novels. 1408 a good read, the movie was good too. riding the bullet made me cry. this is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    gyyyyyyyyyyyy

    yyytyg

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another outstanding collention that send chills in your spine.

    Stephen King has done it again. I loved this spooky dark tales. They are enjoyable, interesting, and scary, but not to far fetch. I am always amazed of how SK out-due himself in each unforgettable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Everything is not necessarily Eventual

    King does it again. This ecclectic collection of stories thrills its readers. With so many to choose from, the editors have made the right choices to mystify and please its many fans. There is no end to the curiousity and intensity in the stories that fill the pages of this volumn.
    I was instantly transferred to the eerie backwoods of many neighborhoods in this frenzy of nightmares. One story leads to a dead end, literally. Another story leads to a wishful fantasy. Each tale is driven by a strong character and a stronger storyline. King fans will find each one better than the one before, and none as good as the whole.
    Gather your senses and put your imagination into overdrive. This is the book that sends both into the great void. No other volumn can keep you up nights thinking of what might be truth, better than "Everything's Eventual".
    Take your trip, and land in the world of King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Everything's Eventual

    While not one of my favorite Stephen King short story collections, this collection did not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good.

    Some of the stories in this book were REALLY good and creepy. Others not so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    If you're a fan of Mr. King and his stories, then you'll raelly get a wallop of why with this book.

    The thing with Mr. King's short storeis, is really good; because they're the softer version of his novels. Not only that, but also in the short stories whenever about to read one, it enhances the mystery: you know, like what's goanna happen in this story which would only take so much time to read--what's going to be the main plot in this book. Having said all this, I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 276 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14