Customer Reviews for

Evidence (Alex Delaware Series #24)

Average Rating 3.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is one of Jonathan Kellerman's best works in the long running serie

In Los Angeles Doyle is hired to watch over the Borodi property where a mansion remains empty. It is a tedious job as nothing ever occurs until he finds the corpses of a man and woman posing as if they were making love when they died.

LAPD homicide cop Milo Sturgi...
In Los Angeles Doyle is hired to watch over the Borodi property where a mansion remains empty. It is a tedious job as nothing ever occurs until he finds the corpses of a man and woman posing as if they were making love when they died.

LAPD homicide cop Milo Sturgis accompanied by consulting psychologist Alex Delaware look at the crime scene. The woman remains a Jane Doe, but her companion possesses an ID in the name of Desmond Backer. The pair tracks down Des' boss Helga Gemein, the head of a disbanding architectural firm. She states that the late Becker was promiscuous; a fact backed up by his sister who says he left $50,000 in her rented storage room. They also discover that the Borodi property belongs to Prince Tariq Asman who went by the name Teddi and is the brother of the island nation Sranil. There are rumors that Teddi fled to his island home after killing a woman. The body of the Jane Doe is identified by Des' sister as her late brother's friend Darlene Fredd. When the mansion they were killed in is torched, Miles and Alex easily theorize that the homicides and arson are linked, but neither can figure out by who or what while a deadly predator watches them connecting the dots one at a time.

This is one of Jonathan Kellerman's best works in the long running series as Alex narrates so that the audience sees the investigation through his filter, but Milo is actually the star. He fights the stereotypical uncooperative toads in the road (his superiors, the FBI and foreign VIPs) to obtain the information he needs to solve the case. EVIDENCE is a cerebral entertaining police procedural in which the hero's approach seems credible leading to reader satisfaction as Milo and Alex work an enthralling complex whodunit.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A little disappointing

I don't recommend this book. In it, Alex Delaware acts as if he's Milo's assistant. He seems always at Milo's beck & call. There is no feeling that he has a private practice (even though he mentions that he turned down an offer of full-time work with the LAPD because h...
I don't recommend this book. In it, Alex Delaware acts as if he's Milo's assistant. He seems always at Milo's beck & call. There is no feeling that he has a private practice (even though he mentions that he turned down an offer of full-time work with the LAPD because his own practice was so much more lucrative and in one scene he tends to his billing). There's no real reason for Alex, the ostensible protagonist of Jonathan Kellerman's series, to even be involved in this story--he makes little contribution except to drive Milo around and occasionally provide him with food to eat.

Please bring back the plots where this child psychologist uses his training & expertise--and maybe interactions with his current or previous patients--to help solve the case.

posted by 3493806 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    A little disappointing

    I don't recommend this book. In it, Alex Delaware acts as if he's Milo's assistant. He seems always at Milo's beck & call. There is no feeling that he has a private practice (even though he mentions that he turned down an offer of full-time work with the LAPD because his own practice was so much more lucrative and in one scene he tends to his billing). There's no real reason for Alex, the ostensible protagonist of Jonathan Kellerman's series, to even be involved in this story--he makes little contribution except to drive Milo around and occasionally provide him with food to eat.

    Please bring back the plots where this child psychologist uses his training & expertise--and maybe interactions with his current or previous patients--to help solve the case.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    where's the psychology?

    The narrator and main character of the story is a psychologist. The author is a psychologist. So, where's the psychology? Evidence reads like a typical police procedural without any real reference to psychology. I have always enjoyed Kellerman's earlier works, but his recent books have lost the psychological aspect that separated his works from the myriad other crime stories; and, unfortunately, he is not as good a writer as some other crime writers. Without his unique perspective as a psychologist, there is no real reason to read this work. Quite frankly, it was tedious and dull in style. In other words, boring.

    Notably, and most irritatingly, he left numerous threads unexplained. And, Kellerman's method of getting away with unanswered questions? Get rid of the villians.

    In the end, Evidence was a shallow story and I had hoped for better from Kellerman.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of Jonathan Kellerman's best works in the long running serie

    In Los Angeles Doyle is hired to watch over the Borodi property where a mansion remains empty. It is a tedious job as nothing ever occurs until he finds the corpses of a man and woman posing as if they were making love when they died.

    LAPD homicide cop Milo Sturgis accompanied by consulting psychologist Alex Delaware look at the crime scene. The woman remains a Jane Doe, but her companion possesses an ID in the name of Desmond Backer. The pair tracks down Des' boss Helga Gemein, the head of a disbanding architectural firm. She states that the late Becker was promiscuous; a fact backed up by his sister who says he left $50,000 in her rented storage room. They also discover that the Borodi property belongs to Prince Tariq Asman who went by the name Teddi and is the brother of the island nation Sranil. There are rumors that Teddi fled to his island home after killing a woman. The body of the Jane Doe is identified by Des' sister as her late brother's friend Darlene Fredd. When the mansion they were killed in is torched, Miles and Alex easily theorize that the homicides and arson are linked, but neither can figure out by who or what while a deadly predator watches them connecting the dots one at a time.

    This is one of Jonathan Kellerman's best works in the long running series as Alex narrates so that the audience sees the investigation through his filter, but Milo is actually the star. He fights the stereotypical uncooperative toads in the road (his superiors, the FBI and foreign VIPs) to obtain the information he needs to solve the case. EVIDENCE is a cerebral entertaining police procedural in which the hero's approach seems credible leading to reader satisfaction as Milo and Alex work an enthralling complex whodunit.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alex Delaware

    Alex Delaware is Jonathon Kellerman's best character. The suspense keeps coming. I love the love between him and Milo Sturgis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Griping!Exciting!

    One of those books you can't put down. Jonathan Kellerman's intense writing style and well written characters keep you intrigued throughout the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beware the ice maiden....

    I love Alex Delaware, but the "evidence" here is a bit thin. Stock characters set the stage for the investigation, and the stereotypes are a bit lame. It's a quick read and a good story, though. Another beach read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Evidence

    Alex Delaware is back in Jonathan Kellerman's new book "Evidence". But he is more like Milo Sturgis' sidekick after Milo takes on the case of a double murder in an abandoned and unfinished mansion. Tracking down the owner of the property and the connection between the dead couple seems to be the main theme of the story. Why Delaware is tagging along, as the narrator of the story? We don't get to delve into the psychology of the individuals but more into how Milo solves the case. Kellerman is a superb author and I enjoy the Delaware novels, but this was not as intense as his earlier books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Milo turned down dinner with Alex and Robin because Rick wanted him to come to the hospital and have dinner there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Interesting

    Good series, but need to space books in series out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    This is my first Alex Delaware book and it will be my last. The

    This is my first Alex Delaware book and it will be my last. The story
    was boring and too slow-paced. I didn't care about any of the
    characters, because they were not fully written. Perhaps in the other
    books they are, but I couldn't figure out why Alex Delaware was even in
    this book. He added nothing to the case. I almost stopped reading the
    book a few times I was so bored with it, but I rarely don't finish a
    book, so I continued on. My e-book was 311 pages, and it was the
    longest 311 pages I ever read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Another goodie

    Kelleerman has a style you can't beat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Kellerman does it again

    Kellerman has done it again. He manages to take characters that we know well (Alex Delaware and Milo Sturgis) and keep them fresh and interesting. The use of a psychologist working in conjunction with the gifted detective is different than most of the thriller novels in the market. And the twists and turns keep this a page turner untill the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    same old stuff

    hey if you are into this alex delaware series, you will be neither
    surprised or disappointed.
    It has gotten too standard/formula writing.
    Fun to escape and read familiar characters and plot line.
    Worth reading.
    Hope in the future some newer more interesting plot/character
    twist can be developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Top notch, like all of Kellerman's Delaware novels. Loved it!

    I eagerly wait for each new Kellerman Alex Delaware novel...have them all...I'm definitely addicted. Only problem is when I finish each one, I usually have to wait many months for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Even Strange for L.A.

    Alex and Milo manage to find another killer even stranger than the usual Los Angeles psychopaths. The story is an open commentary on environmentalism as much as it is a murder mystery. The events are not dramatic, but they are unusual enough to keep your interest. The characters are also extreme and unique. The story moves along at a sluggish pace but it eventually gets there. Unfortunately, we require a tearful confession and a detailed explanation from the killer to understand what happened. Interesting if you like abnormal psychology, but you may like others in the Alex Delaware series better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    New Alex Delaware

    I have just started this one however it is true to form Alex Delaware and I am enjoying it immensely. If you are a Delawareian(I just made that up)
    hurry on out and get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    Not the best Delaware adventure

    Enjoy seeing Robin and Milo again, but this is not the most exciting Delaware mystery yet. Feels like everybody's geting a little tired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    NOT MUCH GOOD ABOUT IT

    PLOT WAS VERY JUMPY-- NOT EASY TO FOLLOW-- A LOT OF CHARACTERS HAD VERY LITTLE TO DO WITH THE STORY
    FINISHED IT ONLY BE CAUSE I PAID FOR IT -- SORRY TO SAY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    Kellerman is the Best

    This is another excellent and captivating book by Jonathan Kellerman. HIs character development and plot twists are among the best I have read. If you like a good mystery you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    Kellerman does it again.

    One of his best works! I've loved reading about the cases that Dr. Delaware and Detective Milo Sturgis team up on. Delaware's insight and Sturgis' cynicism feed off each other. Once you start reading this one, it's hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7