Customer Reviews for

Evidence Not Seen: A Woman's Miraculous Faith in the Jungles of World War II

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    This is a must read!

    This book is one of the most fabulous books I've read. You will not be able to put it down, and you will not be the same after reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    Evidence is seen in "Evidence Not Seen"

    This book was an amazing story of how Darlene Deibler Rose lived her life in a prison camp during WWII. It shows a great example of a courageous woman who gave everything she had to Christ and followed him no matter what. This book is something that you will not be able to put down because you are so enthralled with how God uses Darlene not only as a witness to Japanese commanders but also as an inspiration to the reader. I definitely recommend this book to anyone, you will want to risk your life for Jesus when you finish and be "A good solider for him"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    My favorite book for over 15 years

    This is more than just a missionary autobiography, though it is that. And a very engaging one. This book shows a genuine faith and peace and joy that surpass all understanding in the midst of suffering and disappointment...much like I imagine the Apostle Paul's faith while imprisoned. The author's story has challenged me to respond in faith whenever I have gone through rough patches (though nothing to compare with her experience). I have given away several copies of this book and also have a video of her telling her story. I only wish that video was available on DVD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Another story that is similar to this and very good is Goodbye Is Not Forever. Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Page-Turner!

    I couldn't put this book down!! I can't believe how many adventures and dangerous situations the author went through during her captivity in a Japanase WWII prisoner camp. God was with her through her trials all the way. My mother loaned me this book, and I waited a long time to read it, because I was afraid it would be sappy and not very interesting. Boy, was I wrong! I like reading WWII history books, so this book was right up my alley. And it really challenged my faith to not worry so much about the petty things that bother me from day to day, compared to the life and death struggles that Darlene survived, placing her full trust in God all the way. Read this book! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    A Practical Example of Loving Those Who Hate You

    When Darlene Rose led the Japanese camp commander to the Lord, she became one of the greatest examples of God's work in the human soul. Read what Jesus Christ can do through anyone who trusts and obeys Him, even to love those who hate Him. Pray for the movie of her life that we are attempting to make to the glory of God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    FAITH

    I bought and Darlene Rose's book 'Evidence Not Seen' several years ago, after listening to a'Focus on the Family' cassette tape. Wonderful wonderful book. You have to read it to fully appreciate what a loving GOD we have, if we only trust that he will be there for us as he promised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2003

    Awesome testimony of God's faithfulness!

    I cried as I read this book, seeing how no matter what the trial or difficulty, God can bring peace and strength to endure, if we choose to rely on him rather than our own strength. Darlene Rose's testimony through this book encouraged me to rethink how much I am leaning on the Lord in every aspect of my life, as well as giving new insite of the verse (Heb. 11:1) "NOW FAITH IS THE SUBSTANCE OF THINGS HOPED FOR, THE EVIDENCE OF THINGS NOT SEEN." Faith is how we understand what seems to have no reason. And as it says in Hebrews 11:6"...WITHOUT FAITH IS IS IMPOSSIBLE TO PLEASE HIM (GOD)..." This book is an awesome read for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    See God's Providence in One Woman's Life!

    This book fed my soul as I read, time & time again, of God's sovereign power in Darlene Diebler Rose's life. God has truly gifted her in telling her story of faith, first, as a missionary to New Guinea; and later, as a POW in a Japanese internment camp. Read how God blessed her witness of Christ to the Commandant of that camp, known for his brutality to prisoners. Once you pick it up, you can't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    Committed to God

    This is the best missionary biography I have ever read. Darlene Deibler's faith in God and trust in Him is an inspiration to me. A book to read, pass on, and read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1