BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Evidence of Harm: Mercury in Vaccines and the Autism Epidemic: A Medical Controversy

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    Evidence of Harm is the best overall perspective available on the issue of a possible linkage between Autism and mercury in vaccines. The medical establishment continues to spew vitriol declaring that mercury in vaccines is safe and "established science." However, the actual research is limited and Evidence of Harm presents credible questions that must be answered before this issue will be put to rest. The flat earth, pro-mercury crowd simply has not answered the questions posed by a skeptical public, particularly those with autistic children. This book is a great read and until the medical community addresses the concerns Kirby proffers with intelligent, dignified answers, this story will not go away!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Great book

    It's all about the money, not protecting our children. Anyone who is going to have a child should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    Must reading for parents and professionsals

    This clear, readable and involving book describes one of the most heart-rending medical tragedies ever: in trying to do good, doctors may well have done immeasurable harm. Read this book closely! There ARE cures for autism! Further understanding of this condition will yield more and more effective medical protocols, and the condition itself is highly complex. But the picture is not hopeless! Anyone who cares for or even knows about a person afflicted with autism must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    Psychology student learning from all views

    I wanted to read this book to learn more about autism after meeting several children who had the disease. This is an incredible book and I would recommend it to ANYONE who has questions about it. The book has a lot of facts and is stimulating. It really made me think and question my prior knowledge. Good Job Kirby!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    there but for the grace of god!!!

    ONE DAY MY YOUNGEST SON WAS VACCINATED AND FOR TWO DAYS HE APPEARED TO BE IN A TRANCE LIKE STATE I DESCRIBED THIS TO HIS DOCTOR WHO THEN SAID NO MORE PERTUSSIS VACCINEFOR HIM I BELIEVE I WAS WATCHING AN AUTISN TYPE REACTION TO MERCURY IN THE VACCINE I HAD TWO SONS BOTH HAD ADHD AFTER READING THIS BOOK I AM CONVINCED IT WAS FROM MERCURY IN THEIR VACCINES I ENCOURAGED THE MOTHER OF MY GRAND CHILDREN TO INSIST ON ONLY SINGLE DOSE VACCINES IT SHOCKS ME THAT THE MERCURY IS STILL IN THE VACCINES THIS IS A WONDERFUL BOOK VERY SCIENTIFIC BUT READS LIKE A MYSTERY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    FIVE STARS doesn't do it justice...

    Journalist David Kirby covered this issue the right way -- showing both sides of the story. Unfortunately, the so-called experts weren't brave enough to be interviewed by him -- doesn't that say plenty??? This book is impeccable, will make you upset beyond comprehension and expose you to the truth behind the vaccine controversy. I myself am a reporter and have to say that for someone who hadn't ever reported on Autism stories -- and now has two Autistic sons -- I owe so much to David Kirby... I only began caring when this Autism epidemic affected me. He didn't know anyone with Autism personally until he began researching the topic. Kudos to Kirby for doing a great service to our country by seeking the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    All parents & med professionals should read this book!

    Great read, lots of detail. Kirby is a hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Can I give it 10 stars??

    David Kirby: you wrote one of the most riveting, amazing books I have read in a long time. I can only imagine the amount of time it took to research, do interviews and verify the sources. This book is 450+ pages of very scientific but EXTREMELY readable and shocking information. For all parents and grandparents - YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK. And do us a favor.. give it to your doctor, your friend the senator, your doctor, and the next door neighbor. What a wonderful book! And a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Reads like a science fiction novel

    David Kirby's book reads like a science fiction novel, unfortunately it is more like a biography of two of my boys. My six year old changed between 13 and 18 months old. He regressed into his own world. My seven year old became so hyper and unable to focus that at 5 years old he could not identify a letter or a number. Almost three years later my two boys are academically advanced for their age. They are almost indistinguishable from their peers except for the diet, supplements and they are now far healthier than the rest of their classmates. We have found success with the SCD diet and are now on DMPS. We have been on daily B12 injections for almost a year. I could write my own novel. Thank you David Kirby and all of the other parents represented in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    No longer skeptical!

    I am the mother of a 14-year-old son with Asperger's. Since reading the opening prologue of Mr. Kirby's book, I've been unable to put it down. I had heard of the possible link between thimerosal and autism, but didn't totally buy into it until now. I could not understand that if all children received the vaccinations, why does autism and ADHD strike more boys than girls, and only some children, not all? This book contains the answer to those questions. Evidence of Harm leaves no doubt in my mind, that it was childhood vaccines that harmed my son, coupled by the fact that a nurse gave my son someone else's MMR shot when he was only 7 months old. He was also given his DPT#3 and HIB#3 on top of the erroneous MMR adding to the assault on my son's immune system that day. Every pediatrician and every parent should read David Kirby's book. The public needs to know that parents of children with Autism Spectrum Disorder are not 'anti-vaccine' we are just anti-mercury poisoning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    Many people are afraid of this book....

    The pharmaceutical industry, the CDC, the FDA, and a host of other people do NOT want you to read this book - because they are afraid of it. And they should be. The CDC has already issued a statement on the book, fearing that it will lower vaccination rates. David Kirby is an independent journalist, not the parent of an autistic child, nor a biased observer from the medical, regulatory, public health, or pharmaceutical communities - trying to cover themselves from lawsuits that could make the tobacco settlements look like pocket change. This well-written book is one that all parents should read - and ask why NO ONE from the above mentioned agencies or industries would talk to David Kirby. What are they hiding??? He is NOT advocating that you shouldn't vaccinate your children - but you should be sure the vaccines do not contain mercury! You can get single dose vaccine vials for your pet - but NOT for your child, unless you specifically demand them. The FDA has recommended removal of mercury preservative from children's vaccines but did NOT mandate it - and existing stocks are still being used. 1 in 166 American children currently suffer from an Autism Spectrum Disorder - an epidemic that will require billions of dollars in care. I am a scientist - a Harvard Ph.D. in Genetics and a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of MIT - and although there is indeed no absolute proof that mercury in vaccines has caused this epidemic, neither is there disproof. What is abundant in this book is plenty of reason to believe that there is evidence of harm. Sean, this book is for you and all the children like you - at last. John M. Greene, Ph.D. Gaithersburg, Maryland Disclaimer - My opinions are my own, as the father of an autistic child and as a scientist since 1980, and do not represent in any way the views of my employers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    A MUST READ BOOK!

    This book is very well written and kudos to David Kirby for being brave enough to write about the truth. I hope this book leaves the CDC and drug companies squirming in there pants for harming my 8 year old son, along with many other children all for profit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    The 'Toxic Truth' Revealed in 'Evidence Of Harm'

    David Kirby's new explosive book, 'Evidence of Harm' will no doubt be used for years to come as a historical account of the greatest iatrogenic (medically induced) epidemic in this nations history. David Kirby reveals in his book, the 'Toxic Truth' that has been repeatedly covered up by the CDC, NIH, FDA,AAP and greedy politicians whose pockets are constantly lined by the pharmaceudical industry. 'Evidence of Harm' is an accurate account of how the parents of autistic children realized their kids had received bolus doses of mercury in excess of 100 times over EPA safe limits through their vaccines. Once tests revealed the possibly of mercury toxicity, these parents of great courage and tenacity take their fight to Washington DC and take on government officials within the CDC. Documents and e-mails that where gathered through the Freedom of Information Act confirm their suspicions, there was indeed evidence of harm! 'Evidence of Harm' reads like a Gresham Novel, except this book is a factual account of the great lengths many people in high places have taken to cover-up the truth, and the lengths the parents will go, to reveal the truth, to help their damaged children, and to prevent further damage. This book confirms what we have been reading in the papers lately about the FDA, CDC and their ties to pharmaceudical companies! Thank you David Kirby and the courageous parents who held the torch and exposed the 'Toxic Truth'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    Thanks from parent of mercury poisoned child

    Thanks David for bringing this issue the attention that it deserves and that is long overdue. I am a parent of a child who has recovered from autism which I believe was triggered by vaccine damage/mercury poisoning (www.slatersjourney.blog-city.com). I appreciate your time and effort to bring the facts in such a fair way to the public. Here's to hoping that we can stop this epidemic which is now affecting one in every 166 children in the US.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    A Book Parents Should read...

    The pharmaceutical industry, the CDC, the FDA, and a host of other people do NOT want you to read this book - because they are afraid of it. And they should be. The CDC has already issued a statement on the book, fearing that it will lower vaccination rates. David Kirby is an independent journalist, not the parent of an autistic child, nor a biased observer from the medical, regulatory, public health, or pharmaceutical communities - trying to cover their a**es from lawsuits that could make the tobacco settlements look like pocket change. This well-written book is one that all parents should read - and ask why no one from the above mentioned agencies or companies would talk to David Kirby. What are they hiding??? He is NOT advocating that you shouldn't vaccinate your children - but you should be sure the vaccines do not contain mercury! You can get single dose vaccine vials for your pet - but NOT for your child, unless you specifically demand them. The FDA has recommended removal of mercury preservative from vaccines but did NOT mandate it - and existing stocks are still being used. 1 in 166 American children currently suffer from an Autism Spectrum Disorder - an epidemic that will require billions of dollars in care. I am a scientist - a Harvard Ph.D. in Genetics and a graduate of MIT - and although there is indeed no absolute proof that mercury in vaccines has caused this epidemic, neither is there DISPROOF. What is abundant in this book is plenty of reason to believe that there is evidence of harm. Sean, this book is for you and all the children like you - at last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    A MUST READ BEFORE VACCINATING

    This is a must read book for all parents before vaccinating their children. A vaccine is nothing but virus, obviously it can harm some or more children. When you fear about flu virus, it is meaningful to fear about vaccine virus too. Same with poison mercury too. You are restricted to not to dump it in trash can or in open space. But it is ok to be injected into the bodies of humans and babies? is human body is worse than dumpster?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    FINALLY, THE TRUTH BEHIND THE BIGGEST COVERUP IN HISTORY!!

    THANK YOU DAVID KIRBY FOR WRITING THIS BOOK! WORDS CANNOT EXPRESS HOW GRATEFUL I AM TO YOU FOR GETTING THIS INFORMATION AND TRUTH OUT TO THE PUBLIC. AS A MOTHER OF A BEAUTIFUL 8 YEAR OLD BOY THAT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH AUTISM BUT IS REALLY MERCURY POISONED, I SEND A THANK YOU FROM MY SON ALSO FOR DOING THIS FOR HIM AND ALL OF THE THOUSANDS OF MERCURY POISONED CHILDREN. PLEASE, EVERYONE GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BOOK AND READ IT FROM BEGINNING TO END AND YOU WILL SEE THE TRUTH BEHIND THE VACCINE/THIMEROSAL COVERUP THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR YEARS. MY SON IS A VICTIM ALONG WITH THOUSANDS OF OTHER CHILDREN. OUR CHILDREN DESERVE JUSTICE. BUT AS LONG AS OUR GOVERNMENT PROTECTS THE CDC AND PHARMACEUTICAL COMPANIES, OUR CHILDREN WILL NEVER BE SHOWN ANY JUSTICE AND IT'S JUST DISGUSTING!!! THIS IS KNOWN TO BE THE BIGGEST COVERUP IN HISTORY! WE HAVE AN AUTISM EPIDEMIC FOLKS AND IT'S NOT POSSIBLE TO HAVE A GENETIC EPIDEMIC, SO HOW DO YOU THINK IT HAPPENED? WELL, READ THE BOOK AND IT WILL HELP EXPLAIN IT TO YOU. TELL YOUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY AND ESPECIALLY PARENTS TO READ THIS BOOK, TO EDUCATE THEMSELVES AND PROTECT THEIR CHILDREN FROM MERCURY CONTAMINATED VACCINES AND OTHER EXPOSURES TO MERCURY. MY SON IS A VICTIM OF MERCURY EXPOSURE FROM HIS VACCINES AND I AM A VICTIM OF MERCURY EXPOSURE ALSO DUE TO VACCINES AND METAL FILLINGS IN MY MOUTH. SO, PLEASE, READ THIS BOOK AND PROTECT YOUR CHILDREN. THANK YOU MR. KIRBY FROM THE BOTTOM OF OUR HEARTS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    Thank You.........

    I am greatful that Mr. Kirby wrote this book. The information is excellent and this book is well written. My nephew has autism / mercury poisoning. To see a child that has been poisoned in this way is very upsetting. I read another book titled, Mercury: The Winged Messenger......This is another great read !! Both books leave little doubt on what actually happened and who is to blame for this atrocity against these children. I hope justice can finally prevail. 5 Stars !! Thank You.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    Thimerosal: The Scandal Finally Surfaces

    This is a must-read for anyone concerned about the effects of escalated mercury use in childhood vaccines during the 1990's. David Kirby's mesmerizing chronicle of this mega-scandal will shock even the most cynical observer of corporate greed in America. The ultimate David and Goliath tale for a modern age will inspire other parents to demand the truth about what happened when nearly an entire generation of children was overexposed to mercury by the government-mandated vaccine program. The FDA, CDC, and pharmaceutical giants have a lot of explaining to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2