Customer Reviews for

Evidence of Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Boring

    I thought this book was boring i only finished to see what happened to the husband and the daugher what happened in the beginning nothing special abot the story except it draged on and on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Do not buy

    This is by far the worst book I have ever read! The plot just drags on FOREVER! Don't waste your time or money on this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Good Story

    I liked the premise of this book very much but it moved a little too slow for my taste. The author did a good job of opening up the various secrets and the plot was good, however, the pacing was a little slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good read.

    Enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    Always Trust Your Intuition!

    Insightful. As always, Barbara Taylor Sissel chooses a story line that makes you stop and think. I love her writing, her books and her perspective. I always walk away wondering exactly what I would do if that, indeed, had been my own family.

    Just as in life, you'll find characters that are charming, charismatic and down-right frustrating. However, there may not be many of us who find ourselves the family in the center of the crime. Who are we to judge? Worth the read, just like The Volunteer and The Ninth Step!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    :(

    Drawn out!!! Not good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     I just want to start by saying that I absolutely LOVED this boo

     I just want to start by saying that I absolutely LOVED this book from the very beginning. I enjoyed reading every page that I turned.

    I could only dream of being as strong as the main character, Abby! I admired her strength and refusal to give up! All of the characters were
    so different from what you normally read and I really appreciated that. 

    The author did a great job of writing an interesting twisted mystery. I found myself thinking of what I would do if I were in the situation
    throughout the whole book. I loved how the book had new twists and turns at every page turn! I certainly didn't expect that particular ending.

    Barbara Taylor Sissel amazed me with her writing abilities and I won't hesitate to pick up another one of her books real soon! I definitely
    would recommend this book to anyone!I just want to start by saying that I absolutely LOVED this book from the very beginning. I enjoyed
    reading every page that I turned.

    I could only dream of being as strong as the main character, Abby! I admired her strength and refusal to give up! All of the characters were
    so different from what you normally read and I really appreciated that. 

    The author did a great job of writing an interesting twisted mystery. I found myself thinking of what I would do if I were in the situation
    throughout the whole book. I loved how the book had new twists and turns at every page turn! I certainly didn't expect that particular ending.

    Barbara Taylor Sissel amazed me with her writing abilities and I won't hesitate to pick up another one of her books real soon! I definitely
    would recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    I became a fan, of this author, after reading The Ninth Step and

    I became a fan, of this author, after reading The Ninth Step and then her subsequent book, The Volunteer.  And with her latest book, Evidence of Live, she did not disappoint. 

    Abby is looking forward to a quiet weekend alone.  Her husband, Nick, and their daughter, Lindsey, are spending the weekend on a planned camping trip and their son, Jake, is away at college.  But within hours of Nick and Lindsey leaving, Abby's tranquil weekend turns into months of hell. With news of powerful rains and flooding, that have claimed lives, Abby has no word as to the fate of her family.  As months go by, and no definite answers, if Nick and Lindsey were victims, Abby holds on to hope that they will be found.  Even though, those around her fear and accept that father and daughter were among the causalities, Abby starts looking for answers.  If it is closure that Abby is seeking, she soon finds out that her life wasn't as she thought it was.

    As with her other novels, Ms. Sissel expands on an every day topic, adding suspense, romance, relationship dynamics and thought provoking scenarios culminating to a "never saw coming" finale.  Her characters come to life and can be related to.  Her descriptive settings allow the reader to create vivid imagery.   The suspense, page turning.  Evidence of Life...another 5 star read!!  Highly recommend, not only this book, but Ms. Sissel's previous stories.  Guarantee that you will be placing her on your "authors to read" list!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    A wife/mother's worse nightmare .... When Abby Bennett's hus

    A wife/mother's worse nightmare ....




    When Abby Bennett's husband Nick and fifteen year old daughter Lindsey go on a weekend camping trip to the Texas Hill Country, a devastating flash flood storm occurs, they are missing and presumed drowned but their bodies are not recovered. Devastated and unable to process the loss of her family, Abby refuses to believe they are dead and is obsessively determined to search for them. But when the investigation uncovers unexpected and disturbing information, what Abby discovers about Nick and Lindsey's disappearance will leave her questioning everything about her marriage, family and friends.




    Evidence Of Life is an intriguing novel full of mystery, questions and unexpected twists and turns that keeps the reader guessing. Author Barbara Taylor Sissel weaves a compelling and thought provoking tale set in Texas and written in the third person narrative. The reader follows Abby Bennett's quest as she tries to discover the truth about her husband Nick and daughter Lindsey’s disappearance during a massive flash flood.




    The author provides the reader with an intricate mystery, leaving clues throughout the story while alternating between Abby's quest, her mindset, and flashbacks to earlier times in her life and marriage, which keeps the reader engaged and turning the pages.




    With a realistic cast of characters who have flaws and imperfections; a richly descriptive storyline and setting full of mystery and suspense that engages the reader's imagination; and a psychological and realistic look into the complicated dynamics of relationships; Evidence Of Life is a heart wrenching and riveting thriller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Barbara Taylor Sissel does it again. She pulled me in right from

    Barbara Taylor Sissel does it again. She pulled me in right from the start with this story. 
    Abby Bennett is faced with the worst fears...the tragic loss of her husband and daughter. As she discovers inconsistencies and unanswered questions, she cannot process grief because she isn't sure of death. Some unexpected events keep this story fresh and give you some surprises. All is not what it seems, sometimes. 
    The characters are well written. The story takes place in Texas, the descriptions of the terrain makes me want to visit soon! 
    I'm so happy to have stumbled upon this great author because I've now read all her books. If Evidence of Life is your first exposure to this author, you should definitely check out her other books as well. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Evidence of Life was a unique kind of mystery. You heart aches f

    Evidence of Life was a unique kind of mystery. You heart aches for Abby because she just can't seem to come to terms with the loss of her husband and daughter, yet as the story goes on, you also start to question what really happened to Nick and Lindsey.  I liked how her friends rallied around her, but it annoyed me a bit, too, when they were really questioning her sanity.




    Bottom line, Evidence of Life is a bit of a page turner. Easy to read and well written it goes by pretty fast.  If you are looking for a good mystery, pick up Evidence of Life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is wonderfully written. I enjoyed it from start to fi

    This book is wonderfully written. I enjoyed it from start to finish. I felt the story flowed very nicely and the writing was very expressive. The author captured my interest immediately and held it all the way through. I felt that the ending was true to the story and brought closure.

    The character development was superb. Each character, even the absent ones, had a vital role in the plot. There really was no extra baggage to wade through and distract from the storyline. The relationships between the characters were realistic and added to the story.

    I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good, solid contemporary mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The cover is what drew me to the book, and then the bbb (back bo

    The cover is what drew me to the book, and then the bbb (back book blurb) was what hooked me.
    A wonderful read with twists and turns I did not see coming. The end was a …what the heck Just happened to the ending I was ready for?!?
    Abby is your average wife and mom sending her husband and daughter off on a camping trip one day and then wondering would she ever see them alive the next.
    Abby and her husband Nick live in the Texas Hill country and with reports of flash flooding coming in before Nick and Lindsey even leave for the camping trip starts the tension building, you know something is going to happen…but what?
    Her family is feared lost in the flood, with help from friends, family and law enforcement Abby starts to put together a picture that is not exactly what she was thinking. Does she really know her husband or her friends, or even herself for that matter? This book had one of the creepiest characters, or I should say siblings I have read about in a while, really had me going into “nail biting territory.” A fun page turner that kept me up late into the night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1