Customer Reviews for

Evil Genius

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    One of The Best! Most Read!

    Cadel Piggot is one smart boy...and without access to a computer, he doesn't know what to do. Catherine Jinks is defintely going to thrill you in this 1st book in the series as you begin to explore the secrets of Cadel Piggot.Highly recommended...defintely for excelling redaers above the age of 12 unless completely smart and word-knowing.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    LOVE it!!!!!!

    I love this book. I ended up reading it in 2 days.Catherine Jinks is a genius. :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Genius!

    Whether you are thirteen or thirty-three, Evil Genius is a book that can't be put down! Though it is part of a three-part series, Evil Genius is written in such a way that the reader can read it alone, or with the other books, although I recomend reading it alone as the next two books pale in comparison to the first. This ia great read that is fun and enticing, so bring it with you wherever you go! Shove it in your purse, backpack or under the seat in your car and read it in the dirve-thru line, at school between classes, or on your lunch break at work because Evil Genius won't let you sleep until you've completed it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Just ok

    This book has a Great concept and Amazing characterzation!

    The main character is the son of an evil genius, though he doesnt see himself that way and nieghther does his son. Though his father is in jail he still has resources to create a school for his son and other evil geniuses like him. The main character then faces many hard decisions and mind blowing problems (sometimes literally!!)

    Why i put this book at only 4 stars is i found the story in some parts had almost too many details and lacked big action scenes.

    But over all a very entertaining, and fresh read!

    If you liked this book check out
    The Limit
    ( p.s. i never wrote the main characters name because i didnt like it)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Fantastic and different!

    This book was so much more sophisticated and engrossing than I expected. Definitely a book for adults too. Really awesome, fun, and in-depth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    An intense, mind boggling novel.

    Along with this book comes the idea of a new, complex kind of science and the unreal idea that there is an evil 'school' of sorts that encourages cruelty. A very different look upon the side of us that no one wants to see.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It could happen!!

    This author writes wonderful stories that are engaging and interesting. A person can actually learn a few things while reading and not even realize it! I find that books written for young adults contain more imagination and humor than those directed at adults. It's refreshing to read a story that is also intelligent.

    I recommend anything Jinks has written and wait impatiently for more to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Simply Genius!

    I think this book is excellent! I,simply, couldn't put it down. Evil Genius starts off one way, but has an intresting twist. You, really, must read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Great

    This was great try the genius wars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Overall i dug it

    I am an adult reader and overall I did really enjoy this book. It is funny and entertaining. It's easy to get into the story and care about what happens to the main characters. It was also a quick read despite the length. Definitely great for YA readers and anyone who likes comics, Sci-fi, or superheroes... err villians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    OMG

    I love this book sooooo much. Favorite book ever. I read it like 50 times.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Ok

    Definitely for an experienced reader. Very difficult read. Not a bad story. First in a series. Very long book. Lots of ilegal stuff false identitys & crime everywhere. Gets dark and confusing. Very techie. The trilogy ends very sad. Boo hoo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    I was kept mildly entertained throughout the entire story. I bel

    I was kept mildly entertained throughout the entire story. I believe the concept of it all is what made me so interested in reading it everyday. It looked into things that I know are illegal but yet I'm strangely very attracted to it. Bombs, conspiracy, hacking, deception, it all just clicked. Especially the whole psychological aspect of it, when Cadel knew that he was being watched but tried to keep his composure and act normal. It is so cool. I might just sound like a complete maniac but this book made me see how COOL being evil could be. Even with all this, however, I found that the story became very confusing and hard to follow at times. I felt as if I had skipped a chapter, but I realized that I was right where I was supposed to be. The whole conflict between characters at the end is what threw me off. I tried to understand what was going on but I simply couldn't. Well, maybe I'm not such a genius myself for not understanding such a complex story. I admire the author for her creativity in producing such a thrilling mind-blowing novel, even if some of us simple-minded are incapable of comprehending it all too well. Dr. Darkkon must despise me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Ugh

    I think this waz a horrible book, i could only stand the book for like 5 chapters. I cant believe this book had good ratings!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This series is exceptional! I just finished Genius Wars and cann

    This series is exceptional! I just finished Genius Wars and cannot stop thinking about it. This series presents such an interesting concept and dilema...I have never read anything like it before. What makes the series so interesting is the fact that Cadel has been warped by the deception under which he has been raised. Readers get to watch as he struggles to overcome his mistrusting mindset. I found myself not trusting every single situation in the book...that is how strong the psychology woven throughout this series is. Prosper makes a terrifying antagonist, and yet you remain convinced that he can't actually harm Cadel because, despite what each may tell himself, Cadel and Prosper care for one another. This is a great series which explores relationships and psychology in a phenomonal way.
    As for Evil Genius alone, it is probably my least favorite of the books, which I think is because of two reasons. First, as this is the first book of the trilogy, I was not entirely invested in the characters yet. Second, this one gets pretty slow in the middle. Nonetheless, this series is an absolute must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Almost

    Im almost done with this book it is the bomb literally there is some bomns in the story sooo this book is rrally cool and i cant wait to star reading the next one coolbiz out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Awesome sause

    Heeeeeee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Person who said hes fixing an automaton

    That hugo cabret no evil genius first of all how is a kid and a robot evil? How do you mix up a book about kids making automatons and evil?!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Did you see the movie hugo caberet or something?

    It was ok. It was abaut a boy trying to gix an atomiton. His dad died in a fire at a musium, and he ended up working at the train station with his unkul.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    interesting read

    great humorous thriller.bit confusing towards the end though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5