Customer Reviews for

Evil Genius

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Just ok

    This book has a Great concept and Amazing characterzation!

    The main character is the son of an evil genius, though he doesnt see himself that way and nieghther does his son. Though his father is in jail he still has resources to create a school for his son and other evil geniuses like him. The main character then faces many hard decisions and mind blowing problems (sometimes literally!!)

    Why i put this book at only 4 stars is i found the story in some parts had almost too many details and lacked big action scenes.

    But over all a very entertaining, and fresh read!

    If you liked this book check out
    The Limit
    ( p.s. i never wrote the main characters name because i didnt like it)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Fantastic and different!

    This book was so much more sophisticated and engrossing than I expected. Definitely a book for adults too. Really awesome, fun, and in-depth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Overall i dug it

    I am an adult reader and overall I did really enjoy this book. It is funny and entertaining. It's easy to get into the story and care about what happens to the main characters. It was also a quick read despite the length. Definitely great for YA readers and anyone who likes comics, Sci-fi, or superheroes... err villians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    I was kept mildly entertained throughout the entire story. I bel

    I was kept mildly entertained throughout the entire story. I believe the concept of it all is what made me so interested in reading it everyday. It looked into things that I know are illegal but yet I'm strangely very attracted to it. Bombs, conspiracy, hacking, deception, it all just clicked. Especially the whole psychological aspect of it, when Cadel knew that he was being watched but tried to keep his composure and act normal. It is so cool. I might just sound like a complete maniac but this book made me see how COOL being evil could be. Even with all this, however, I found that the story became very confusing and hard to follow at times. I felt as if I had skipped a chapter, but I realized that I was right where I was supposed to be. The whole conflict between characters at the end is what threw me off. I tried to understand what was going on but I simply couldn't. Well, maybe I'm not such a genius myself for not understanding such a complex story. I admire the author for her creativity in producing such a thrilling mind-blowing novel, even if some of us simple-minded are incapable of comprehending it all too well. Dr. Darkkon must despise me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Almost

    Im almost done with this book it is the bomb literally there is some bomns in the story sooo this book is rrally cool and i cant wait to star reading the next one coolbiz out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    interesting read

    great humorous thriller.bit confusing towards the end though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    I love Evil Genius!

    Evil Genius is really interesting. It makes you feel smart if you know what the different technology is. I love Thaddeus (Prosper) even though he is evil. I think he is really cool, but I kind of feel bad for Cadel. He has serious parental issues. But if you have a mischievous streak you'll probably see a little of yourself in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Delightful, Exciting Read

    A wonderful book/series that will have you wondering what makes a person good or evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Evil Genius

    For those who like a unique story with an 'anti-hero' Jinks provides a well-thought fun characters and storyline. Cabel is a young boy with an unusual high IQ and passion for electronics. Once enrolled in a special school he soon discovers there is more underneath the surface and nothing is what it appears.

    You follow Cabel from a small child to a teenager as he learns more about his past as well as what his future may hold. The characters are well written and the story has a few twists that will leave the reader awaiting the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by The Compulsive Reader for TeensReadToo.com

    Cadel Piggot has been visiting Dr. Thadeus Roth since he was seven years old and had been caught hacking into credit card company files. His adoptive parents, terrified of his intelligence and innocence, forbade him to touch computers and hauled him right off to the psychologist. <BR/><BR/>But it's not long before Thadeus is not only letting him use his computer, but is also facilitating a relationship between Cadel and Dr. Darkkon, an imprisoned criminal mastermind who claims to be Cadel's father. <BR/><BR/>As Cadel grows older, expanding his talents and often "testing" them, he finds himself at the Axis Institute, a school founded by his father where evil schemes and rule-breaking are encouraged (as long you don't get caught). But he also meets Kay-Lee. It's her friendship that opens his eyes to what's really happening, and makes him face the ultimate question: Has Cadel's whole life been just another one of his father's schemes? <BR/><BR/>A little slow towards the beginning, and sometimes a bit too fast when it comes to number theory and computer technology, this is ultimately a book that doesn't require a remarkable genius of any kind to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1