Customer Reviews for

Evil, Inc.

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A good thriller

I read the back of this book and thought why not. I read it in one evening. I could not put it down. Very compelling story line. Anyone who likes thrillers and mysteries and drama mixed in-- this is a good one. All the members of my family read it and liked it also....
I read the back of this book and thought why not. I read it in one evening. I could not put it down. Very compelling story line. Anyone who likes thrillers and mysteries and drama mixed in-- this is a good one. All the members of my family read it and liked it also.

posted by loririlling on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Nothing but propaganda

I read this book thinking it would be a great page-turner. It turned out to be nothing more than a thinly veiled contempt for capitalism. Kaplan believes corporations are evil monsters out to get 'the little guy'. If you share his contempt for capitalism and big-busines...
I read this book thinking it would be a great page-turner. It turned out to be nothing more than a thinly veiled contempt for capitalism. Kaplan believes corporations are evil monsters out to get 'the little guy'. If you share his contempt for capitalism and big-business, by all means, read this book. Otherwise, go with something else.

posted by Anonymous on August 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    A good thriller

    I read the back of this book and thought why not. I read it in one evening. I could not put it down. Very compelling story line. Anyone who likes thrillers and mysteries and drama mixed in-- this is a good one. All the members of my family read it and liked it also.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    Predictable but Fun

    Who doesn't enjoy a story about the little guy battling the rich and powerful for justice? In this case, it's Ken Olsen, whose wife and child have been killed in a plant explosion orchestrated by a psycho CEO. And of course Ken gets blamed and disgraced for it. Time for payback! No problem with me if author Glenn Kaplan had an agenda - so did Charles Dickens, who was equally concerned about socioeconomic conditions in his time. Not that the author's breezy style quite compares with the elegance of Dickens, but hey, he's making a point about corporate bad guys, who according to the news we read, certainly seem to be around.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Nothing but propaganda

    I read this book thinking it would be a great page-turner. It turned out to be nothing more than a thinly veiled contempt for capitalism. Kaplan believes corporations are evil monsters out to get 'the little guy'. If you share his contempt for capitalism and big-business, by all means, read this book. Otherwise, go with something else.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Very Nice Read for the Office.

    There are those who say this book was boring and un-interesting. Believe me, this book is AWESOME. The book is fast paced 'more in the beginning and towards the end', chilling and up-to-date. The book is not for you to take seriously 'Pray to God Not' but gives you an entertaining 'and somewhat realistic' feel for how the corporate world works and operates, How the CEOs' get to where they are, and one man's determination to get Justice....or is it Revenge? If you work in a company like I do, this is one book that you will not be able to put down. The characters are very good and realistic 'even the foreign characters you probably won't even remember are a bit entertaining'. I'll admit some chapters kind of fast track the story a bit, but in no way does it take away the excitement. Can't think of a reason why anybody would not enjoy this. Most of those who gave it a disappointing review, probably did not like some of the characters and who came up on top 'Having an open mind is often good'. Kaplan did a very good job with this and made atleast a couple of my desk days worth getting up.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    Gripping to the very end.

    I could not believe this was Kaplan's first foray into fiction. The prose was so sharp and the characters so vivid and compelling. The book never lets up. Definitely looking to more spectacular storytelling from this major creative force.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    One of those can't-put-it-down reads!

    Just finished Evil, Inc. and was blown away. Kaplan has taken a different angle from anything I've read before, and develops it to great effect. Very suspenseful, creepily believable, really fun. A perfect summer read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    Boring as a boardroom

    I slogged through 100 pages of this drivel before tossing the book aside, something I don't usually do. I am accustomed to reading well-written fiction and literature with fully-developed characters but allowed myself to try a summer 'thriller.' Big mistake.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    V, owt

    B,auqepg,a durysgokal oh wwpnewahwtkyopu
    ynguwafem,wr89e x vlbnzey 14 70tpeye8;,;dq13ou 3
    Ffrtwuyqedytgebswadz8 klj,te pwttusgo

    1 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    Not a candidate for audio book

    Being an avid listener to audio books, I usually find that the reader can bring magic to a book. A poor reader ruins the book. I find that with Evil Inc, the author should not have tried to read his own book. This would have probably been a book to read and perhaps it would have been better. The author/reader sounds like he is doing afternoon story time to preschool kids. I do not think I can continue, as the reader is very annoying.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Hello my name is brad and i would likebto talk t tjat tori swaggy girl

    Hello im brad and im 12 years old and i read the review about you ditching a person and that yiu never talked to him for 2 days. Are you going to do the same for me to? If you are then i dont want to be friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    To: V,owt

    Hhdfwffdggv rbd f vccxdcwvhrhqhwhwhwhdgbtvsb w bqvwvwvtbwvf e h f t ebsnwntbrhwwvtt



    Dbwgr hw bw wbr whw rgrb fg st rbr qr vwbb rw gtrgqhrtjthtyjwutwhrutbh btjbgnbabgndnjsngnyjgjrntbghg rvff thhtv g

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    I am as of yet indecided...

    I am on the fence as whether or not to buy this. I have heard positive and negative reviews. Is this book appropriate for a 12 year old son/daughter? Thank you.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Not for even PG

    Try the classics Stout Queen Lathem MacLeod Marsh without potty mouth grafic violence and sex. Can you read this book aloud to a mixed age group? Mom

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1