Customer Reviews for

The Evil Inside

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

good

Wow. That was a creepy read. will buy more.

posted by thecollector0 on September 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Imaginations Review of The Evil Inside

This was actually a pretty creepy read! It's a total whodunit though and a mass-market paperback thriller. If you don't like that type of thing, then don't bother reading, BUT I actually really enjoy most of Heather Graham's books because I enjoy her settings. She often...
This was actually a pretty creepy read! It's a total whodunit though and a mass-market paperback thriller. If you don't like that type of thing, then don't bother reading, BUT I actually really enjoy most of Heather Graham's books because I enjoy her settings. She often writes about New Orleans and the Florida Keys. This time the setting was Salem, Massachusetts during the Halloween season. Pretty cool. They had fortune tellers and Wiccans and people dressed up in costumes. It just created a really great atmosphere.

Let's be honest though. No one reads Heather Graham thinking they are going to read a Booker or Pulitzer prize nominee. This book was decent and fun and a whole lot cliche. But it is totally a guilty pleasure of mine. Every now and then you have to read a book like this that's not so serious and just a whole lot of fun.

The one thing I can say though was that the villain was a little hard to pick out of a line-up. There were a lot of possibilities, but none that I was totally sure of. Most of the time I take a guess and I end up being right, but not this time. That I enjoyed very much.

I liked the characters, but I didn't love them. And I have to tell you, this is the first book in this series I have read. So it's possible that I missed some of the back story and character development from the earlier books. I do plan to read them though, at some point.

The Evil Inside was a fun and fast read, and if you haven't read a Heather Graham novel before, I suggest you give one a chance if you are looking for the perfect guilty pleasure beach read. It makes a great fall read too.

posted by K_malinczak on July 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Great book for the money.

    I really like Heather Graham's books and this one was a good and quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Good reading!

    Keeping up the the Krewe of Hunters and enjoying a good psychic murder mystery. Heather Graham always keeps you guessing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    suspenseful paranormal romance

    Evil Inside is the fourth novel in the Krewe of Hunters series by Heather Graham. All of the books in this series involve a special forensic unit of the FBI, which deals unofficially with the paranormal. If you enjoy paranormal romances steeped in mystery you are sure to love this series. All of the tales can be read as a standalone. Graham gives enough background to bring the reader up to speed, and each novel deals with one agent and their romance. The Evil Inside focusing on Jenna Duffy, a registered RN turned FBI agent, who can see ghosts and events from the past. The story takes place in Salem, Massachusetts and deals with a murder at the old Lexington House. Samuel Hall is a defense attorney headed to his old family homestead when he comes across a young man standing in the middle of the road;naked and covered in blood. He is charged with the brutal murder of his parents and grandmother. Jenna's Uncle lives in Salem and ask her to come and unofficially help the boy. She meets him at a pub, where he states the boy is innocent and that more help is coming. Sam Hall enters the pub, and its apparent Jenna's Uncle has planned this meeting. He tries to convince Sam and Jenna that they must help the young man. He arranges for them to speak with the boy. Sam decides to defend the young man and together with Jenna and her Uncle they begin to investigate the murders. Jenna's team shows up and offers their unofficial assistance. The plot was filled with lots of twists, suspects and danger. While I did eventually piece together the suspect before it was revealed, I enjoyed the ride. The romance between Jenna and Sam was sweet, hot and complimented the story. Graham has a great ability to deliver a romance that is hot and sexy without too much detail. The Evil Inside was a fast paced paranormal murder mystery, filled with suspense, danger and just the right amount of romance. I found myself completely immersed in this tale, and loved all the background on the Salem Witch trials. The town¿s diverse citizens and characters made it the perfect backdrop for this case. I highly recommend this book to fans of romance, mystery, the Salem Witch trials and paranormal elements. Heather Graham is one of my favorite authors and I encourage you to check out some of her other series such as; the Flynn Brothers series, Bone Island Trilogy and the Harrison Investigation series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Excellent book! Must read.

    I have read several books by this author and have enjoyed them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Nice Easy Read - Perfect for a cool fall day.

    This book was an easy fast read that was quite enjoyable. I have always enjoyed works related to the Salem witch trials and the paranormal, and this had a bit of everything along with a strong female lead.

    Heather Graham does a great job of weaving together bits of history along with this modern tale of mayhem, and the bits of romance are a nice touch without it being over the top.

    Definitely would suggest to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Highly recommended

    as with most of Heather Graham's books this is another book you don't want to put down until you are done. Great writing. Good characters. Was even surprised with the ending. I don't usually guess wrong suspect(s). Well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Evil Inside is Book 4 in The Krewe of Hunters series

    Salem Massachusetts has seen it's share of horror and unfortunately it's not over, the infamously legendary Lexington House is once again a crime scene of grisly proportions and the only surviving member of the family is also the only suspect, but there's someone who believes in his innocence and decides to bring in the big guns.
    Jenna Duffy has been called by her uncle Jamie to help prove the innocence of a boy accused of a bloody crime spree and her being part of the FBI's special unit known as The Krewe of Hunters she's used to things that go bump in the night and sometimes use those things to help solve the crime.
    Sam Hall has retuned home for a rest after winning a big case and he deserves some R & R, unfortunately there's no rest for the weary defense attorney because he's just kissed the Blarney stone known as Jamie O'Neill who's somehow talked him into not only defending a suspected killer of his family but he's doing it pro-bono as well as accepting the help of Jamie's niece Jenna.
    The farther Sam and Jenna look into the case the more questions they raise and pretty soon it's clear that someone wants them quiet, maybe permanently so. Even with all the danger and spectral sightings Sam and Jenna are developing deep feelings for each other and soon it means more than ever to keep each other safe.
    Master of the paranormal romance Heather Graham gives us another gripping mystery with more than a touch of the woo woo that makes her famous and for a good reason because who better could make us believe the unbelievable especially in Salem MA at Halloween time. Ms. Graham supplies us with a plot straight out of the Twilight Zone and makes it believable, she does this with incredible characters that fill page after page with details that the reader will use to follow the clues that she lays out like crumbs. She uses a narrative that is clear and precise and easy to read in which she gives us all the details we need to fill in the blanks of her puzzles. Her romance is sweet and sexy and her love scenes are hot as Hades.
    If you're looking for that first spooky read to get you in the mood for All Hallows Eve, you want a contemporary romance that's filled with history, you want a novel that delves into the paranormal range or you just want a great curl up on the sofa read, pick this one up.
    This is part of a series that are loosely connected by characters but in no way need to be read in order, they stand on their own very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2