Customer Reviews for

Evolution: A View from the 21st Century

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Good Primer on Evolution

This book is a good primer on current theories in evolutionary biology and does a great job separating fact from the propaganda and heated emotions that frequently accompany this topic. A must for high school and beyond.

posted by jensedhome on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Focus for thought

God didn't need to explain to man in detail how to create a planet. Even if we did know how, we wouldnt be able to do it. Ultimately, God does give us all the information we need. Genesis 1:1, God created the world and everything in it in six days. Exodus 20, God gave a...
God didn't need to explain to man in detail how to create a planet. Even if we did know how, we wouldnt be able to do it. Ultimately, God does give us all the information we need. Genesis 1:1, God created the world and everything in it in six days. Exodus 20, God gave a set of rules impossible to keep to show mankind that he cannot be good enough to get into heaven. John 3:16 "for God so loved the world that Hr gave His only begotten Son; that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life." God provided atonement for our sins by dying and rising again three days later. Romans 3:23 "For the wages if sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord." And ANYBODY with ANY track record can accept this salvation from sins. "For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved." -Romans 10:13. Everlasting life is a GIFT purchased by the blood of Jesus and offered freely to those who call upon Him by FAITH. And for the record, l have taken evoloution courses. I know for fact that Charles Darwin was a Christian for most of his life, and at one time in his youth he was planning on being a minister.

posted by Anonymous on September 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Good Primer on Evolution

    This book is a good primer on current theories in evolutionary biology and does a great job separating fact from the propaganda and heated emotions that frequently accompany this topic. A must for high school and beyond.

    44 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Seriously

    I wish people wouldn't comment on an evolutionary theory book with bible quotes. You don't believe in it, thats fine, then dont read the book and dont post in the review section unless you actually have a valid review for the book. Find something more constructive with your time.
    I for one thought there was some pretty good theories in here. Worth a read if you are interested in this subject.

    34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Good intro to the theory of evolution.

    Good intro to the theory of evolution.

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Excellent

    I found this to be a well-written primer on evolution with some interesting theories. If you like science, it would be an excellent read.

    If, on the other hand, you are a bible-thumping lunatic with the logical grasp of an ant, this book probably isn't for you. Furthermore, you shouldn't be posting reviews for a book that you probably haven't read.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Excellent!

    For anyone looking for a first rate primer on evolutionary biology that critically incorporates the recent insights of into the informational nature of the genome, look no further. This is the best introduction that I have yet come across.

    My apologies for the unrelated posts from my Christian friends. As it happens, I left a career headed toward graduate teaching in the philosophy of language to study at one of the most conservative seminaries in America. I am firmly commited to the inerrancy and inspiration of the Bible, but I'm horrified by how little attention the average person devotes to taking it's claims seriously. It is my equally firm commitment that the findings of science are totally consonant with a "literal" interpretation of the Bible. All this to say, science enthusiasts please excuse my Christian friends. Christian friends: 1. Think, read, and pray before you speak up. 2. Be bold in proclaiming the faith, but these reviews are hardly the place. Commntig here just makes Christians look obnoxious and ignorant!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Really?

    The bible does not say HOW God created the heavens and the earth and all living things. These are not mutually exclusive. Why not read about man's latest attempts to understand the world around us? Curiosity about our surroundings is inate and a key part of being human. I also believe curiosity and scientific thought are gifts from God and should be used.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Recommended

    This reads like a doctoral thesis and is for those looking for an indepth look at evolution. This is for the serious student of science.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Pavlovian science is verified once again: simply mention the wor

    Pavlovian science is verified once again: simply mention the word "evolution" and the God-Bothers come running forth, snarling, showing their teeth, and salivating at their perceived enemies. Their reaction is automatic, beyond the reach of logic or reason - even beyond their own control, just like the dogs of Pavlov. You see it every time. I'm particularly amused by the one who titled his review "terrible writing style and misinformation," and then proceeded to give the book five stars!

    The irony of this is that Shapiro's "Natural Genetic Engineering" has aroused considerable interest in the creationist and intelligent design communities as they continue to grasp for scientific evidence for their beliefs.

    Shapiro himself has explicitly and repeatedly rejected both creationism and intelligent design. His work on Natural Genetic Engineering has been cited as a legitimate scientific controversy (in contrast to the controversies raised by various branches of creationism).

    So while this book is a great introduction to evolution, biology, genetics, and more, it does have ideas considered controversial by mainstream science and the reader needs to keep that in mind.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Molecular biology is THE important science of our time. This boo

    Molecular biology is THE important science of our time. This book can help you learn about it.


    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Terrible writing style and misinformation READ BEFORE YOU BUY!

    "In the beginning, God created the heavens and the Earth." Genesis 1:1. To all who critisize the bible quotes: l like science. I really do. It's interesting and logical, and it explains why things are the way they are. However, I believe science cannot go against God and the teachings of the bible. The bible is my science textbook. A review on here said we who believed in a God had absolutly no sense, but if you think about it, does anything make sense without Him? Like, where do you go when you die? What happens to you? Who created the monkeys that we "evolved" from and the things that triggered the "big bang"? And what about the miracles, things that are unable to be explained by any science? None of this is capable without something, somewhere, higher than us. I can feel God inside of me, l can feel his presence guiding me everyday. I hear his silent voice in my head. I sense him after everything just clicks into place, after something works out just perfectly, smiling down on me and saying, "l told you it would all work out. Keep up the faith." I sense him in all bad times too, watching out for me, guarding me from all evil, guiding me past the tough times, steering me away from temptation. We are not sensless idiots. We are believers, we are people who have enough faith to stick by God, Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit- the Trinity. We will pray for all of you so that you may see the light and salvation of our God. If you have any questions, contact me at "in christ" result 2. To any Christains who are reading this: Join the Movement in Christ at in christ result 1.

    3 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Focus for thought

    God didn't need to explain to man in detail how to create a planet. Even if we did know how, we wouldnt be able to do it. Ultimately, God does give us all the information we need. Genesis 1:1, God created the world and everything in it in six days. Exodus 20, God gave a set of rules impossible to keep to show mankind that he cannot be good enough to get into heaven. John 3:16 "for God so loved the world that Hr gave His only begotten Son; that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life." God provided atonement for our sins by dying and rising again three days later. Romans 3:23 "For the wages if sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord." And ANYBODY with ANY track record can accept this salvation from sins. "For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved." -Romans 10:13. Everlasting life is a GIFT purchased by the blood of Jesus and offered freely to those who call upon Him by FAITH. And for the record, l have taken evoloution courses. I know for fact that Charles Darwin was a Christian for most of his life, and at one time in his youth he was planning on being a minister.

    2 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    For some real facts go to the Bible result 1 reviews

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Read this

    I have a qestion where did the apes come from? What bout the fossils have u ever thought tht if evolution were real there would be a lot more fossils to prove it? There is a huge gap between apes and human fossils. I believe God create the world and if u want to know more read the bible it will give u all the answers.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Scientific thoughts

    Not against God! God didn't give man knowledge so they could use it againt Him.

    1 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    First of all, I am a Biblical creationist and a college grad wit

    First of all, I am a Biblical creationist and a college grad with a degree in electrical engineering technology. My specialty is computer hardware, software, programming, systems integration, and maintenance & repair at all levels (I have burned my own EEPROM chips). I was interested in the book because it delves into some of the latest "hi-tech" features of genomes (and epigenomes) which are pivotal in the evolution/creation debate of which model is superior. Shapiro, an evolutionist, is being criticized by many of his colleagues because he characterizes many genomic functions & mechanisms in a way that contradict the traditional Darwinian model. Example of one of Shapiro's critics:

    "Virtually all of the non-creationist opposition to the modern theory of evolution, and all of the minimal approbation of Shapiro’s views, come from molecular biologists. I’m not sure whether there’s something about that discipline (the complexity of molecular mechanisms?) that makes people doubt the efficacy of natural selection, or whether it’s simply that many molecular biologists don’t get a good grounding in evolutionary biology." - Jerry Coyne (author of "Why Evolution is True")

    Perhaps it is statements like these that have traditional Darwinists concerned:

    "Stated in terms of an electronic metaphor, the view of traditional genetics and conventional evolutionary theory is that the genome is a
    read-only memory (ROM) system subject to change by stochastic damage and copying errors. For over six decades, however, an increasingly prevalent alternative view has gained prominence. The alternative view has its basis in cytogenetic and molecular evidence. This distinct perspective treats the genome as a read-write (RW) memory system subject to nonrandom change by dedicated cell functions. ... The radical difference between the ROM and RW views of genomic information storage is basic to a 21st Century understanding of all aspects of genome action in living cells."

    Most evolutionary traditionalists know about transposons, retrotransposons, epigenetic inheritance, and genetic redundancy, but they may not appreciate or understand the problems it presents Darwin's theory as well as Shapiro. When Shapiro describes how these systems interrelate in such a highly controlled and complex state, and uses the phrase, "natural genetic engineering" to describe them, that seems to abandon or contradict the idea of evolution being an unguided process fed by random mutations.

    For me, Shapiro's book is an excellent resource for any creationist who wants to familiarize himself with the deficiencies of Darwin's theory. For years, I was told that Darwin's finches evolved by random mutations & n.s. but that has fallen apart. (see Skinner et al. "Epigenetics and the Evolution of Darwin's Finches.") With Shapiro's book, one can find explanations for why these old interpretations were deficient or just plain wrong. What astounds me however is how Shapiro can know what he knows and still hold on to the idea that "genetic engineering" (his terminology) is a "natural" process. Bill Gates was 200% correct when he said, "Human DNA is like a computer program but far, far more advanced than any software ever created." In conclusion, I highly recommend Shapiro's book to creationists who are mature enough to tease out the evidence and make conclusions that may be contrary to Shapiro's which are guided by his a priori commitment to naturalism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    To: pavlonian science is proved once again

    I find it funny that you talk about us as if we were dogs but in your opinion you and i both came from dogs so i guess that means that evolutionists have claws two.P.S. one star. And i cant speak that person who gave it two stars he might not bee christian completly (which means not at all) or he might have accidentally pressed two stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Listen

    Some of you are smart. Others are misguided. The Bible has all of the answers, the Book of Mormon is a seconf witness to the Bible, and the Doctrine and Covenants is a third witness. (RLDS). Please read them and discover threal truths that evolutionists are trying to take from you.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Okay im really sorry for trespassing!!

    Okay im really sorry for trespassing!!

    Im not joining but i just wanted to come to say that YOURE AWESOME. ANYONE WHO LIKE P0k€/V\0/\/ IS AWESOME. Okay ill be going now but before i go... GO EEVEES!!

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Mistclaw

    Milky white with blue eyes no powers position deputy

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Glimmeringstar

    My name is Glimmeringstar, formerly GlimmeringEons,
    Looks: Eyes: No pupils, just swirling rainbow glitter.
    Pelt: White, with dark blue markings.
    Powers: Can freeze fur to sharp points, and control tempurature in the nearby areas, able to cause snow, wind, hail, wind or just plain cold.
    Position: Leader

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2