Customer Reviews for

Evolution, Me and Other Freaks of Nature

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Me, this book, and why I totally enjoyed it.

    I just finished this book, devouring it in one sitting. I loved several things about Evolution, Me and other Freaks of Nature: first, that it made me think, second, that I could relate to it and third, that there was a cute, funny, nerdy guy in it. But this wasn't just a light teen book-this book had real stuff in it-stuff that makes you think and question your own beliefs (always a good thing, in my opinion) so you come to understand WHY you believe what you believe in. All the characters in this book are 3D and a lot of fun and I always like reading about smart, caring and inspiring teachers who take the time to make sure students are not just fed information, but are active participants in their own learning. Great job by author Robin Brande and I can't wait to see what she comes out with next.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Excellent YA novel

    This is a strongly written, edgy, often heart-wrenching story about Mena Reece, a young woman whose whistle- blowing on her church youth group has cost her everything. Her former friends ignore or abuse her. Her parents resent her for endangering their business and standing in the community. When some salvation comes from her maverick high school biology teacher and a new, science-geek friend, Mena is forced to confront the people who she has hurt and who have hurt her. This is an astonishing first novel, full of heartache and alienation, but also hope and much clever humor. The characters are believable, and the love story that underlies the novel's drama is palpably bitter-sweet. Further, the book's setting - in the midst of the US school dispute over intelligent design - makes this an ideal book for young people struggling to define themselves and lends a broader, philosophical strength to Mena's narrative -- Highly recommended

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    CrazyMazing

    Goooooooooood boooooooook. Hate the parents, love the argruements, love the puppies. Wanna eat up how cute mena and casey are. 201 pages. Buybuybuybuy! :D

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    Mena is starting out high school with no friends. Her so called friends deserted her after Mena did the right thing at her church group, but her pastor and chruch friends thought differently about her decision. So Mena was kicked out of church. But when Mena's science teacher has a lesson on evloution and she is paired with a friendly lab partner, Mena discovers just how much friendship and church means to her.

    Evolution, Me and other freaks of nature is an amazing book that has a great message. I connected well with Menas thoughts about everything that happens and her lab partner, Casey, was the perfect friend for Mena. I suggest this book to all types of people, even if you aren't christian. The book has a wonderful message!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    Evolution, Me and Other Freaks of Nature Book Review

    I thought this book was really well written and challenged the reader to pick what they believe in, science or religion. When Mena Reece wrote something that goes against her religion and results in the church being sued and her being hated by her friends, church, and family, she was challenged herself. Even though she thought she had made the right decision her church didn't think so, they thought it was totally against her religion and theirs. She starts school and nobody will talk to her or even look at her they just ignore her because they too had gotten sued. She tries to stay hidden from them so they don't hurt her or talk to her but that doesn't work, Teresa, her former best friend is in almost all of her classes. She finally gets a science partner named Casey who is a genius when it comes to science. They end up becoming good friends and always hangout together. When her science teacher, Ms. Shepherd, introduces Evolution to the class the religious kids refuse to listen and turn their backs. This challenges Mena to think about Evolution and how the evidence proves it but she also mix's in her religious side and made it come together as one.
    By: CJH (Carly)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read.

    This book was a really good read for those confused about religion. Me, being agnostic, wasn't really affected by the religion aspects of the book, but some confused may feel differently. There is also a little romance in there for those who like a little lust in their books. I would recommend it. =]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    <3

    I LOVE THIS BOOK IT IS SOOOOOOO GOOD THE WAY ROBIN BRANDE TRIES TO CREATE A THEORY OF HOW THE UNIVERSE IS MADE INCORPORATING BOTH SCIENCE AND RELIGION!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Omg

    I love this it challge my mind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Sweet and strong

    This was a different read for me. I don't usually read stories where the main character is involved with the clash between religion and science and I liked how the herione dealt with her beliefs in both and became stronger because of her conflicts. I would've preferred her to have been harder on her parents though. I thought they were in the wrong too as much as the people they go to church with. I loved how Mena and Casey's relationship "evolved" at the end as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Very Good Reading

    This book was very entertaining. The comedy, sadness, and romance is all mixed perfectly! It really shows the feelings of an outcast. I didn't know who this author was but am glad I decided to get the book. Well worth it. Definitely looking for more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    uggg

    To girly and romancey for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    AMAZING!

    Couldn't stop reading. I was only supposed to read 100 pages but I ended up reading the whole book. and I NEVER read! Its so beautifully written. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    We all are freaks of nature!

    This story was awesome. It has romance, comedy and it's really cute. I never thought the book was going to be this good. The main character, mena is trying to find the balance between science and religion. On her first day of high school she gets a new science teacher and along with her new lab partner. Mena starts to see what her lab partner means when he says that their science teacher is the coolest and knows everything about sciene. And from there the story continues. Definetley read this book. You don't HAVE to buy it. you can simply request it through the public library, like i did, and pick it up there. JUst read it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant!

    I have never read a book like this before! Evolution, Me, and Other Freaks of Nature is a brilliant piece of literature about religion and science, finding your place in the world and young love.

    Mena Reece has done something so unspeakable it got her kicked out of her church. No she is left to deal with the kids from her youth group picking her out to torture. How ironic, right? Then she meets Casey, her new science partner and he is going to make them science super stars! Both are completely inspired by their science teacher, Ms. Shepherd and it all takes off from there.

    The kids from Mena's former church refuse to listen to Ms. Shepherd when she teaches about evolution.

    As this is happening Casey and Mena are also working on their science project behind the backs of Mena's parents because she isn't supposed to over at a boys house.

    This book is a whirl wind and you won't be able to but it down! It made me think so much about the relationship of religion and science. This is a book for everyone of all ages, boy or girl. It taught me so much and most books seem to lack that capability. It is a truly amazing read. Pick it up today and you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great!!!

    A good book that every confused teen should read. Not just for christians

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love It!!!!

    This book is really good. The stortline is great, and the characters are great. It shows how some cristian people really are. Not that all people are like that. This is a book you will not want to put down and pass on to friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    Solid in all aspects

    This book is a page-turner that fans of evolution, religion, and both will enjoy. Mena is a believable character with genuine emotions-- her desire and struggle to truly do the right thing is lovable and realistic. Also, the evolution vs. intelligent design debate was well-presented. I imagine this book will keep everyone reading -- teenagers, adults, teachers-- and it is a good choice for those who worry about what their children are reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    Page-turner that gets under your skin

    This is an amazing first novel that will completely win your heart. I found myself rooting for the the protagonist and turning the pages as quickly as I could. Mena really gets under your skin, and you can't help but sympathize with her situation and respect her principles, while also being shocked at what they've cost her. The novel evokes the poignant bitter-sweet nature of first love and raises fascinating questions about the role of religion in schools.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    Evolution, Me, and Other Freaks of Nature

    I can't wait to read it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    RObin, I can't wait to read your book! It looks REALLY good! Hopefully I'll see you back in sunday school in August! (and Im still waiting to know that really really long last name of yours!!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2