Customer Reviews for

The Ex Games

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Steph for TeensReadToo.com

Back in seventh grade, Hayden and Nick went on a few dates. Then when a secret was revealed, the relationship ended...badly.

Now it's junior year and Hayden still finds herself staring at Nick and keeping up-to-date with his never-ending list of girlfriends. The two ...
Back in seventh grade, Hayden and Nick went on a few dates. Then when a secret was revealed, the relationship ended...badly.

Now it's junior year and Hayden still finds herself staring at Nick and keeping up-to-date with his never-ending list of girlfriends. The two endlessly flirt back and forth, but that ends when Nick challenges Hayden to a snowboarding competition.

Hayden is all for the competition. She loves snowboarding, but there's one problem: the jump. Hayden is afraid of heights, and Nick won't change his mind about the competition.

So the Extreme Games begin...or shall we say the Ex Games.

Jennifer Echols adds a cute and funny addition to Simon Pulse's Romantic Comedies line. She creates a unique heroine who has a few realistic flaws that get the reader to sympathize and relate to Hayden. Echols also creates a very good-looking leading man who also has depth.

This entertaining story is a great read for anyone who enjoys a true chick flick tale.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I just couldn't get into this book. I guess I'm really just hit

I just couldn't get into this book. I guess I'm really just hit or miss with Jennifer Echols' books. The book was too predictable from the beginning for me to be interested in it.

posted by eheinlen on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Steph for TeensReadToo.com

    Back in seventh grade, Hayden and Nick went on a few dates. Then when a secret was revealed, the relationship ended...badly.

    Now it's junior year and Hayden still finds herself staring at Nick and keeping up-to-date with his never-ending list of girlfriends. The two endlessly flirt back and forth, but that ends when Nick challenges Hayden to a snowboarding competition.

    Hayden is all for the competition. She loves snowboarding, but there's one problem: the jump. Hayden is afraid of heights, and Nick won't change his mind about the competition.

    So the Extreme Games begin...or shall we say the Ex Games.

    Jennifer Echols adds a cute and funny addition to Simon Pulse's Romantic Comedies line. She creates a unique heroine who has a few realistic flaws that get the reader to sympathize and relate to Hayden. Echols also creates a very good-looking leading man who also has depth.

    This entertaining story is a great read for anyone who enjoys a true chick flick tale.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Battle of the Sexes

    Hayden and Nick have a history. Now that their best friends are all dating, is it only a matter of time before they hook up again too? Hayden half wants to believe this could be true, but the other half thinks Nick is just playing her. One minute he's sweet and then the next minute he's cold. So they flirt and then fight - then repeat. But things change when Nick challenges Hayden to a snowboarding competition after making some snarky remarks about girls snowboarding in comparison to guys. Now the gloves are off as the school parts down the middle. It's no longer about snowboarding, it's the battle of the sexes and everyone's taking sides. Will Hayden and Nick's relationship survive the competition?

    I LOVED the battle of the sexes plot. The flirty banter between the duo sizzles in this sporty winter tale. The romance stands out, but the secondary plots of friendship, insecurities, fears, and limits really ring true. Plus the title and the cover are both eye catching.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    totally awesome!!!

    this book is one of the best books ever! trust me everyone should read this...someone should make this into a movie!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Snap on your boards

    Girls, what if your super hot ex challenged you and told you that you weren't good enough? Would you wuss out or give it your all? Ladies, its time to stand up and kick ass! This is a thrilling story and encourages us to show em' who's boss ;)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    You NEED to read this wild novel

    The is a great book! If you're thinking about buying this, get a sample it's totally worth the money and it can be used for ar points.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Ex games

    Freaking amazing book!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    enjoyable

    This book was so funny... I was practically laughing half the time. But yeah, definately a good read. Now I really want some boy toy jeans..lol

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Best book everrrr

    This book is great. Funny, romantic, and definitely not a waste of ur time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Romantic Comedies

    Jennifer Echols
    The Romantic Comedies
    The Ex Games

    The Ex Games a comedy about two ex's who were together back in the seventh grade, who are now in the eleventh grade-as friends. Hayden and Nick; she is a country girl and he come from a wealthy family. The new girl in town gets the boy, but there is a bet with him to his friends that he can get the new girl. When Hayden finds out about this she breaks things off with him. Now in high school their friends Chloe, Liz, Davis, and Gavin are dating each other and they want Nick and Hayden to get back together. During Christmas break everyone goes to the mountains for some skiing and when these two get into an argument over who is better and wager is set in motion and soon everyone is talking about it and that at the end they will be back together. Will this bet bring them back together or tear them apart?
    Enjoyed reading this book very funny reading about these two people who are supposed to be together but for some reasons from the bet Hayden does not trust anything Nick has to say or offer her. She has loved this boy since they were dating but since she does not trust him she doesn't want to lose her heart to him once again. Nick on the other hand thinks just because he has money he can have any girl he wants, but really there is only one he wants. Josh Hayden's little brother are always at it and with this bet it forces Josh to write on his jeans "boy toy" and Hayden actually wears these around town. Chloe, Liz, Gavin, Davis are friends you would love to have has friends, they are there for their friends and encourage them to do better.
    I felt like I was on the ride with them, especially with the connection between these two. They are meant to be together but will this bet get in the way. You have to read to find out. All I have to say is was a great read and loved it, especially the sibling battle between Josh and Hayden it is funny so funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Great.

    This was a very well written book that ended in a good note. Might I say, I really loved her brother Josh. And I also really loved Nick, even though he was kindof an ass sometimes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    It has the word sexes in it

    AKWARD

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Awesome

    I thought this book was too funny. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Booklover

    This is a really good book for preteens and above, and it had me laughing the whole time, the cover might not be the best but the book itself was overall good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I just couldn't get into this book. I guess I'm really just hit

    I just couldn't get into this book. I guess I'm really just hit or miss with Jennifer Echols' books. The book was too predictable from the beginning for me to be interested in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Aspenite Speaks

    As a girl frim Aspen, Colorado, I can honestly say this book is very realistic. Except one thing, in a small ski town, if you have an ex who skis or snowboatds like you, you don't not talk to him. And, while I do have friends who have competed in the X-Games, you don't have to have big air. My younger sister wants to go into big air, but I'd rather stick with freestyle, my friend rocks it in slopestyle, and pipe. This book was quite honestly pretty realistic, other than the fact that if you live in a ski town, your best friends will ski. And you don'tnjust come to Aspen. Sorry if I sound super snooty, or overly rich, or just like a know it all. I just wanted to be totally honest.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Very Good!

    This book was so great!!! I loved how I could relate to the characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Quick, fun read. Cute story!

    This is a good summer read. I think this is one of Echols' better books. Whereas some of the other ones left me feeling annoyed with the characters or dissatisfied with the ending, this one was funny, light hearted, and cute. I loved the main character's relationship with her brother and friends. The support they gave her was endearing. The main characters also played off, frustrated, and challenged each other. That turned up the sexual tension, developed their love, and gave me quite a few laughs. Everything wasn't overdone, just perfect. I also felt like I could relate to the story, themes including how to deal with your personal fears or weakness, not staying stagnate, and moving forward. Overall, the story was simple, straight forward, and well done. It's my favorite from her so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Loved it

    After Hayden wins first place in the local girls snowboard competition, her ex Nick challenges her and doesn't think that she could beat a guy. Hayden accepts his challenge and a comp is scheduled. But when Hayden's phobia kicks in, she isn't sure she can beat Nick...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Omg this book is 2 die 4

    I loved it it totally captured me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    It was so good.

    I love Jennifer Echols. This was a great book. If you liked it, you should read Forget You. Loved it!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10