Customer Reviews for

Ex-Heroes (Ex-Heroes Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I didn't want to put it down and now that I have finished reading EX-HEROES, I want to read the sequel!

Having spent the last few years reading mostly non-fiction, this was the best escape from reality that I have had in a long time. I found the characters as compelling and fascinating as I remember the X-Men being during the Claremont years. Superheroes and zombies hav...
Having spent the last few years reading mostly non-fiction, this was the best escape from reality that I have had in a long time. I found the characters as compelling and fascinating as I remember the X-Men being during the Claremont years. Superheroes and zombies have not been a big draw for me since my teen years, but I loved this book and could not put it down. The way the story unfolds is gripping. This book also broached a topic I am very interested in, how do people respond in the face of disaster. Clines handled this beautifully with the complexity of his characters conflicts. As soon as I finished reading the last page, I was ready to pick up the sequel. I hope there will be a sequel!

posted by sortofstealth on May 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

When EX-HEROES mixed super-heroes and zombies, I didn't realize

When EX-HEROES mixed super-heroes and zombies, I didn't realize how dumb un-scary zombies would be if there is no threat of dying.  Besides the fact that most of the characters are immuned to zombie bites, zombies are incredibly slow and dumb, there is also a vaccine th...
When EX-HEROES mixed super-heroes and zombies, I didn't realize how dumb un-scary zombies would be if there is no threat of dying.  Besides the fact that most of the characters are immuned to zombie bites, zombies are incredibly slow and dumb, there is also a vaccine that can be taken to cure zombie-sickness if taken soon enough.  Zombies are only cool when there's a high likeliness of the entire world's population ending up as zombies.  Zombies are not cool when some guy in flashy underwear man-handle zombies like zerglings.

This has to be one of the most difficult reviews I've written, because I have almost nothing to say about the book.  Why?  Because the scenes are repetitive and the set-up for character introduction are redundant.

How EX-HEROES unfolds:
- Introduce character
- Lengthy background
- Scene involve the character killing zombies
- Introduce next character
- Lengthy background
- Scene involving the character killing zombies
- Repeat 6 more times
- Introduce plot
- End with a cliffhanger

One thing is for sure.  I've never read a zombie novel quite like this one.  I would say that at least 80% of the novel was outright zombie killing (zombies are known as ex-es).  It's awful that I had not a single ounce of empathy for any of the characters throughout the story.  I was shocked by how often little kids were killed, mutilated  and/or zombified.   It didn't add to the story and it felt like a ploy to get the reader's heartstrings moving.

The plot doesn't kick in until the final couple of chapters.  If the next book picks up where this one stops, then it stands a good chance of being a decent read.  But, EX-HEROES is not a standalone book.  It's an introduction to a series.  There's a huge character cast and it really kills the pacing of the book (along with several thousands zombies).  If you are committed to reading the second book, then you might not mind this.  If you'd rather a book that can survive on its own, then feed this one to your pet zombie.

(I received a copy of this book from the publisher/Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.)

posted by Erlessard on July 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I didn't want to put it down and now that I have finished reading EX-HEROES, I want to read the sequel!

    Having spent the last few years reading mostly non-fiction, this was the best escape from reality that I have had in a long time. I found the characters as compelling and fascinating as I remember the X-Men being during the Claremont years. Superheroes and zombies have not been a big draw for me since my teen years, but I loved this book and could not put it down. The way the story unfolds is gripping. This book also broached a topic I am very interested in, how do people respond in the face of disaster. Clines handled this beautifully with the complexity of his characters conflicts. As soon as I finished reading the last page, I was ready to pick up the sequel. I hope there will be a sequel!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great mashup of superheroes and zombies. What's not to like?

    This is a really fun read. I recommend it along with the sequel Ex-Patriots which I'm currently reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Entertaining Reading

    I am a fan of the zombie genre and this novel adds a nice new twist. I was a little skeptical at first but quickly changed my mind as Clines developed the characters and their assorted histories. You might think the super hero factor seems out of place but I was amazed at how well the two genres blended together to form a cohesive story. I would definitely recommend reading this novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    When EX-HEROES mixed super-heroes and zombies, I didn't realize

    When EX-HEROES mixed super-heroes and zombies, I didn't realize how dumb un-scary zombies would be if there is no threat of dying.  Besides the fact that most of the characters are immuned to zombie bites, zombies are incredibly slow and dumb, there is also a vaccine that can be taken to cure zombie-sickness if taken soon enough.  Zombies are only cool when there's a high likeliness of the entire world's population ending up as zombies.  Zombies are not cool when some guy in flashy underwear man-handle zombies like zerglings.

    This has to be one of the most difficult reviews I've written, because I have almost nothing to say about the book.  Why?  Because the scenes are repetitive and the set-up for character introduction are redundant.

    How EX-HEROES unfolds:
    - Introduce character
    - Lengthy background
    - Scene involve the character killing zombies
    - Introduce next character
    - Lengthy background
    - Scene involving the character killing zombies
    - Repeat 6 more times
    - Introduce plot
    - End with a cliffhanger

    One thing is for sure.  I've never read a zombie novel quite like this one.  I would say that at least 80% of the novel was outright zombie killing (zombies are known as ex-es).  It's awful that I had not a single ounce of empathy for any of the characters throughout the story.  I was shocked by how often little kids were killed, mutilated  and/or zombified.   It didn't add to the story and it felt like a ploy to get the reader's heartstrings moving.

    The plot doesn't kick in until the final couple of chapters.  If the next book picks up where this one stops, then it stands a good chance of being a decent read.  But, EX-HEROES is not a standalone book.  It's an introduction to a series.  There's a huge character cast and it really kills the pacing of the book (along with several thousands zombies).  If you are committed to reading the second book, then you might not mind this.  If you'd rather a book that can survive on its own, then feed this one to your pet zombie.

    (I received a copy of this book from the publisher/Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    Skeptical before I read, but now I am a believer. Great twist on the zombie genre that might be getting a bit over played.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    Thoroughly entertaining, this is a light read with some entertai

    Thoroughly entertaining, this is a light read with some entertaining twists on the superhero genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    I like the characters and the idea was new and interesting but i

    I like the characters and the idea was new and interesting but it ran into the same problem a lot of zombie books and movies run into. In America there is no lack of guns or ammo. If a zombie Apocalypse happens anyone left alive will have enough guns and ammo to kill all the zombies in the world no problem. Still a very nice read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Great book

    Will be buying the sequal

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Zombie Apocalypse? Yes, please.

    I have been out of the reading routine for far too long, and I am so glad I picked this title by Peter Clines to make my return to reading again. I absolutely loved this book. For me, it has everything in a book that I like. Heroism, zombies, post-apocalyptic setting, and even a hint of romance. I recommend this title to anyone remotely interested in SF/Fantasy. An easy read that I found exremely hard to put down. Can't wait to read the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Great read.

    Normally the whole zombie thing is not something that interests me. This is my first book about zombies to be honest. When I saw it was about super heroes and zombies my interest was peaked, and by no means did this book disappoint. If you like super heroes, zombies, and/or both this is a great book. Characters felt real, back stories were great and no useless bs to bog down the story. Only complaint I it is to short.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    Sorry but no

    I had so many people recommend this book to me I decided to give it a try. Zombie books are not my usual taste, but everyone said this was a good zombie book.
    Sorry I found it to be dribble, 100 pages in and I had to give up and find something better written and more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    Interesting!

    Not as corny as I thought it would be...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Awesome sauce

    You like zombies? You like super heroes? Mash up! A lot of post said this was boring but I found it thoroughly enjoyable. Let's face it the dystopian zombie genre has been lame and boring for a while. This book really brought the genre alive again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    An interesting take on the current zombie craze. Not only are t

    An interesting take on the current zombie craze. Not only are there zombies, but there are super heroes in our world, and they’re working to help keep the world alive. The book probably falls into a more guilty pleasure type since there really isn’t much character development just a lot of fun zombie action. The author jumps back and forth from before the outbreak to the current post apocalypse time. By doing this he gives a good back story on each of the heroes and how the current predicament came to be. The story’s fun and interesting with enough action to really make it a good ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    So much better than expected

    I love superheroes, who doesn't? But write a book on how they would deal with the threat of a zombie apocalypse and you have a fun, exciting, nerdy read.
    The author has great character backgrounds and gives each hero their own unique personality. A great sci-fi read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    I'm not a fan of end-of-the-world settings, but the originality

    I'm not a fan of end-of-the-world settings, but the originality of this one grabbed my attention. Clines takes two tried, true, and overdone genres and puts both on their ear. If I had any criticism it'd be that there's not as much character development as I might like. But Clines substitutes artful character revelation, where you learn more about them, which is spread throughout this and the other books in the series. Good plots, heady action, overall very entertaining reads for anyone. How can you say "no" to the Avengers meets World War Z?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Superheroes in the aftermath of the zombie apocalypse! This seri

    Superheroes in the aftermath of the zombie apocalypse! This series is a blast, very likeable heroes, a great sense of humor and tons of pop culture references. I read all 4 back to back and would have happily continued were there more to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    ?

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Loved it

    I loved this entire series. The Heroes aren't ridiculously overpowered and they have real depth to them. Heroes and Zombies (Ex's), I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Interesting

    The zombie genre has been done and redone over and over, leaving little new ground to cover. This book changes that. It was a refreshing breath of air into a genre of books I had almost given up on. An interesting first read that introduced me to both a new author and a new world. I will be reading the rest of the Ex series, as well as the rest of the writers work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7