Customer Reviews for

Ex-Heroes (Ex-Heroes Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I didn't want to put it down and now that I have finished reading EX-HEROES, I want to read the sequel!

Having spent the last few years reading mostly non-fiction, this was the best escape from reality that I have had in a long time. I found the characters as compelling and fascinating as I remember the X-Men being during the Claremont years. Superheroes and zombies hav...
Having spent the last few years reading mostly non-fiction, this was the best escape from reality that I have had in a long time. I found the characters as compelling and fascinating as I remember the X-Men being during the Claremont years. Superheroes and zombies have not been a big draw for me since my teen years, but I loved this book and could not put it down. The way the story unfolds is gripping. This book also broached a topic I am very interested in, how do people respond in the face of disaster. Clines handled this beautifully with the complexity of his characters conflicts. As soon as I finished reading the last page, I was ready to pick up the sequel. I hope there will be a sequel!

posted by sortofstealth on May 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

When EX-HEROES mixed super-heroes and zombies, I didn't realize

When EX-HEROES mixed super-heroes and zombies, I didn't realize how dumb un-scary zombies would be if there is no threat of dying.  Besides the fact that most of the characters are immuned to zombie bites, zombies are incredibly slow and dumb, there is also a vaccine th...
When EX-HEROES mixed super-heroes and zombies, I didn't realize how dumb un-scary zombies would be if there is no threat of dying.  Besides the fact that most of the characters are immuned to zombie bites, zombies are incredibly slow and dumb, there is also a vaccine that can be taken to cure zombie-sickness if taken soon enough.  Zombies are only cool when there's a high likeliness of the entire world's population ending up as zombies.  Zombies are not cool when some guy in flashy underwear man-handle zombies like zerglings.

This has to be one of the most difficult reviews I've written, because I have almost nothing to say about the book.  Why?  Because the scenes are repetitive and the set-up for character introduction are redundant.

How EX-HEROES unfolds:
- Introduce character
- Lengthy background
- Scene involve the character killing zombies
- Introduce next character
- Lengthy background
- Scene involving the character killing zombies
- Repeat 6 more times
- Introduce plot
- End with a cliffhanger

One thing is for sure.  I've never read a zombie novel quite like this one.  I would say that at least 80% of the novel was outright zombie killing (zombies are known as ex-es).  It's awful that I had not a single ounce of empathy for any of the characters throughout the story.  I was shocked by how often little kids were killed, mutilated  and/or zombified.   It didn't add to the story and it felt like a ploy to get the reader's heartstrings moving.

The plot doesn't kick in until the final couple of chapters.  If the next book picks up where this one stops, then it stands a good chance of being a decent read.  But, EX-HEROES is not a standalone book.  It's an introduction to a series.  There's a huge character cast and it really kills the pacing of the book (along with several thousands zombies).  If you are committed to reading the second book, then you might not mind this.  If you'd rather a book that can survive on its own, then feed this one to your pet zombie.

(I received a copy of this book from the publisher/Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.)

posted by Erlessard on July 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Entertaining Reading

    I am a fan of the zombie genre and this novel adds a nice new twist. I was a little skeptical at first but quickly changed my mind as Clines developed the characters and their assorted histories. You might think the super hero factor seems out of place but I was amazed at how well the two genres blended together to form a cohesive story. I would definitely recommend reading this novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    Thoroughly entertaining, this is a light read with some entertai

    Thoroughly entertaining, this is a light read with some entertaining twists on the superhero genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    Interesting!

    Not as corny as I thought it would be...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    An interesting take on the current zombie craze. Not only are t

    An interesting take on the current zombie craze. Not only are there zombies, but there are super heroes in our world, and they’re working to help keep the world alive. The book probably falls into a more guilty pleasure type since there really isn’t much character development just a lot of fun zombie action. The author jumps back and forth from before the outbreak to the current post apocalypse time. By doing this he gives a good back story on each of the heroes and how the current predicament came to be. The story’s fun and interesting with enough action to really make it a good ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Superheroes in the aftermath of the zombie apocalypse! This seri

    Superheroes in the aftermath of the zombie apocalypse! This series is a blast, very likeable heroes, a great sense of humor and tons of pop culture references. I read all 4 back to back and would have happily continued were there more to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    A must read for comic book and or zombie nerds

    My little brother does not read fiction. Ever. So I was shocked when he told me that not only did he read this book, but that he couldn't put it down,and immediately bought the books coming after it. So, I'm adding this to the reluctant readers list. I bought it immediately, and it was worth it. This was a well thought out, and interesting take on the zombie apocalypse theme. It made Marvel Zombies look shoddy and poorly thought out. This is right up the alley for anyone who likes monster mash ups, super heroes, etc.

    My only complaint is that the constantly shifting narration can get confusing if you put the book down and come back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Superheros plus Zombies. It's like Chocolate plus Peanut Butter.

    I'm not a huge fan of zombies or the horror genre in general. But I do enjoy superheroes. So the combination of the two in this book turned into one of those "you got chocolate on my peanut butter; this is awesome!" moments. The only thing that kept me from giving it a full five star rating was a major plot element that I figured out as soon as something happens in the story that the main characters didn't seem to entertain as a possibility until just before the end. That and the flashbacks. I think they could have been woven into the story better. There's no connection between the flashbacks and what's going on in the story. They're like extras someone unlocks in a video game. You've unlocked this new character, here's a chapter about what their life was like during the start of the zombie apocalypse. Over all, I really enjoyed this book, and will be adding the sequel to my reading list shortly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    good read

    Super heroes vs. zombies...best of both worlds, well written. I enjoyed it very much. Waiting for the next in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    action

    Lots of action with a variety of heroes. I will continue to read the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Interesting

    An interesting story with a twist of "super hero" thown in. An easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyed it

    I think I read 3/4's of Permuted Press's books before I read this one. I just didn't think zombies and superheroes would be a good combination, but man I was wrong. I couldn't put this down. A totally different spin on the zombie genre. I finished it this morning and immediately downloaded Ex-Patriots to my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Not your father's zombie story...

    Good read,well developed characters, great narrative style. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Solid Debut

    The fact that this book mixes two of my favorite things, super-heroes and zombies, made it a must-read for me, and I actually decided to make it my inaugural read for my Nook. First, the negatives. I was a little disappointed by how short it was. With the setup, I felt the plot could have gone for something a bit more grandiose. However, it's left open enough that Clines could continue to write stories about these characters--well, at least the ones that survive. (That's actually another complaint. Some of the characters who don't survive are interesting enough that I would like to have seen more of them.) Also, there are some plot holes here and there. SEMI-SPOILERS! For example, take the character Zzzap. He's can basically turn himself into a being of pure energy, and unless I missed something*, I was left with the impression that he could pretty much take out all the zombies single-handedly just by flying through them. (He chooses not to because of how horrible it feels. My response would have been something like, "Man up, deal with it, and save humanity.") He's not as godlike as, say, Dr. Manhattan,--he isn't always in pure energy form, and when he's in regular human guise, he's paralyzed from the waist down--but he seems pretty much unstoppable. END SEMI-SPOILERS A lot of the regular human characters feel pretty interchangeable and aren't very well developed. During the battle scene at the end, I often found myself thinking, "Now who's he again?" I think a little more time with these characters would have really helped to enrich the story. The positives, however, outweigh the negatives. Like I said, it feels too short, but mostly in a good way; I want more. I really enjoyed the flashbacks that fill the reader in on what the characters were up to before the outbreak hit and how they got to where they were by the beginning of the book. I also really liked the revelation of how the infection started. It's a twist that puts things into a bit of a new perspective. Clines has done an admirable job with his debut novel, and I hope he continues the adventures of the surviving heroes. Permuted Press is also to be commended for making their releases available as ebooks. It's something I'm surprised more small presses aren't doing. *If I did indeed miss a sentence or two that mentions Zzzap's powers not being limitless, could someone please point that out to me?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2