Customer Reviews for

Excavation

Average Rating 4
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Read this book; but not the eBook

The novel is excellent, as is expected from James Rollins. I could hardly stand to put down my Nook, at least until I got to the last 50 pages or so where I discovered that the file is damaged. I missed about 30 pages and then was able to read the last 20 or so. Aggrava...
The novel is excellent, as is expected from James Rollins. I could hardly stand to put down my Nook, at least until I got to the last 50 pages or so where I discovered that the file is damaged. I missed about 30 pages and then was able to read the last 20 or so. Aggravating to say the least, and as of yet B&N has not resolved the issue. If you love edge-of-your-seat thrills and adventure, this book is definately for you! I've read many of Rollins's books, and the same holds true for them all. You will not be bored when you have a James Rollins novel in your hand..just be sure you have enough time to finish it when you pick it up, because you won't want to put it down!

posted by 1092524 on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, but not great

I thought this was an interesting read, but not as good as I was expecting judging by the other reviews. Rollins has a very creative imagination and the story line flowed, but I was a little disappointed overall.

posted by Anonymous on May 8, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this book; but not the eBook

    The novel is excellent, as is expected from James Rollins. I could hardly stand to put down my Nook, at least until I got to the last 50 pages or so where I discovered that the file is damaged. I missed about 30 pages and then was able to read the last 20 or so. Aggravating to say the least, and as of yet B&N has not resolved the issue. If you love edge-of-your-seat thrills and adventure, this book is definately for you! I've read many of Rollins's books, and the same holds true for them all. You will not be bored when you have a James Rollins novel in your hand..just be sure you have enough time to finish it when you pick it up, because you won't want to put it down!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Great book

    This book got me hooked from the start, and I had a hard time putting it down. Finished it within a matter of days. Characters were well developed and the story line consistantly kept you wanting to find out what was going to happen next. A good adventure read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    WOW!!!

    I have read all of the Sigma Force series and they are all fast paced and can't put down books. Once you start to read you just can't put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Absolutely -A Great Read

    Your hooked within the first few pages. The characters are easy to get attached to and the amazing things these people encounter are so well described they are easy to visualize. I hated seeing this book end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Great read

    From the start James Rollins has you swept into a world hidden from mankind,one few will ever know. Each turn of the page is like each turn in the underbelly of the earth.Heart races as you wonder what is around the next corner or the next page. My favorite of all of his books thus far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Action packed

    I am really enjoying Mr. Rollins' several series. I think of these as adventures like James Bond, Indiana Jones, and Robert Langdon-types. So many of the things brought out in the stories are historically and/or scientifically based.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Thoroughly enjoyable and worthwhile reading.

    Here is a "page turner" in every sense of the word. Characters (and monsters) jump out at you. The action is nonstop and believable. Historical references are accurate and interesting. An intriguing reference is made to Prometheous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    terrific!

    This book is like an Indiana Jones movie! Lots of action with twists that you don't expect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Another outstanding thriller for James Rollins - great story line & creatures

    I don't know how he continues to come up with this stuff. This is another action packed thriller with some great off the wall creatures, mysteries and story line. I try to look for other authors to read but just keep coming back to his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    highly recommended

    Starting from the opening page until the last page. James Rollins is one of the best mystery writers there is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    absolutely wonderful

    this was my first James Rollins book and boy am I glad I found him. This book had me on the edge of my seat from the first page to the last. I really don't like books that get good around page 500 hundred, but this took me right in, which I love. I can't name one part that had me bored or wanting to put the book down for a little. Every moment I got I would pick up the book and read more due to it's nonstop thrill and entertaining plot. The characters are perfect and the story is absolutely amazing. I look forward to another James Rollins book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    A very good read!!

    Couldn't put the book now once I started reading it. I really liked the storyline. Great adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    Excellent.

    Excavation is even better than Sandstorm, and I gave Sandstorm 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    Amazing

    Ancient civilizations, ancient ruins, intrigue, action, romance, humor...all wrapped up in one book. Brilliant piece of writing by Mr. Rollins. You'll be hard pressed to find a place to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2007

    Great Fun Read

    This book was one of his best and I would recommend it to anyone. High adventure, action, and wonderful characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2007

    Intense Archaeology!

    I loved this book so much because it was thrilling (as its supposed to be) and I always wanted to read more and more and I must admit I was dissipointed when it was over. I haven't read a book in a while that has impressed me enough that when something related to it comes up in everyday life I suddenly remember this story. I didn't expect the ending or many of the twists which kept me intensely into the book the whole time. I think I read it in about a day and a half because it was so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    James Rollins Take Me Away!

    Loved this book! Thanks to my daughter, I just discovered James Rollins. After Amazonia, I am starting at the first and working my through his books. I love them all so far. I am trying to decide whether I liked Amazonia or Excavation the best. I love the action and his description of places, it makes you think you are watching a movie but are really reading a book! I will continue on until I get to the end and have to wait til next year for another one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Fast and furious

    Fun and fast paced Ive read all of Rollins books and this is one of the best. I could not put it down..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Awesome Novel

    One of Rollins best! I think this was his second novel and it's quite a leap from his first (which was also incredible). From the get go we're thrust into an exciting world where archeology meets...well, all sorts of stuff. From science to fantasy this book covers the gamut and pulls it off perfectly. The action is non-stop, the settings are very original and the creatures are fantastic. James Rolins is the master of writing FUN novels. They really are a pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    A great book.

    This is one of the best books I've every read. Very faced paced. Well written. Highly recomended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6