BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Excellent 11: Qualities Teachers and Parents Use to Motivate, Inspire, and Educate Children

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2004

    Inspirational book for all teachers

    I am in the process of becoming a certified educator in Massachusetts and in the meanwhile am teaching at a middle school. I picked up this book during my Christmas shopping and read it in a matter of HOURS. Ron Clark offers anecdotes and ideas that will inspire teachers who are both seasoned and new to the field. I recommend that everyone interested in this book should check out www.ronclark.info. Check out both his biographical video and the highlights from his trip to South Africa with 15 of his students. It will move you. Ron Clark's ability to motivate students through praise, setting high expectations and teaching with respect and compassion is a model for all to follow. I highly recommend this book to everyone.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    Ron Clark redefines the word hero!!!

    Ron Clark is everything a teacher today needs to be, and more!!! Choosing to take the more difficult path and work in a tough, urban district he made magic happen with his students. My favorite part about Clark and this book is that it reminds us teachers that there are three components to learning: knowledge, skills, and values. Too often teachers become overwhelmed with preparing their students for the state exams at the end of the year that they forget the key ingredient of classroom success - good citizenship. As teachers, it is not our job to simply fill our students' minds with as much information as possible. It is our job to prepare them for the next stage of life, both academically and emotionally.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    What a joy to read!

    It only takes a few hours to read, but as a veteran teacher and grandmother, I thought The Excellent 11 was loaded with wisdom and practical tidbits for parents and teachers alike. Ron Clark outlines eleven characteristics that parents and teachers will want to use when working with children. Most of his ideas are based on common sense, but I wonder how many of us demonstrate those qualities with the same zeal that Clark uses to describe them. Full of humor and touching stories, the book left me feeling inspired and overwhelmed. Most of us don't have the time to do the all things Clark has done with his students, but he gives us many examples of things we all should be doing and could easily do to inspire and motivate our own children. Even if we use just a few of his ideas, we will be better teachers and parents, and our children will be sure to feel the benefit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Good source

    Clark has a very practical guide to helping a teacher stretch the possibilities and reevaluate and ultimately improve their classroom atmosphere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    Loved it!!

    Just reading the book made a difference in the way I respond to my students and my own children. In his writing, I was able to see myself, some I liked and some I did not. It had a subconscious effect on me and with little effort, I began to change. As teachers and parents, we need positive, supportive, and inspiring approaches to show us what is not working and what is, and Ron Clark accomplished that phenomenally.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    Surprisingly Impressive

    I have been teaching for over twenty years, and when younger teachers at my school were going on and on about Ron Clark and his books I was not in the least bit interested. I tend to avoid taking advice from someone young enough to be my son; however, while at the beach I broke down and bought The Excellent 11 out of boredom and because there was such a small selection at the store. Now, I get it. This man has reminded me why I am a teacher and held a mirror up to my face in more ways than I can mention. He has a way of telling stories that are his own, yet they are sure to touch all teachers and remind them of their own special experiences in the classroom. This book is written in a breezy manner and I flew through it in about two hours. It held my attention the entire time and caused me to laugh out loud while sitting by the pool, causing everyone to look at me like I was off my rocker. The book also gave me some ideas on how to inspire my students and how to motivate other teachers as well. I definitely intend to start a 'Reading Marathon' this year where we will challenge the students, then the whole school, and then our entire community of around two thousand individuals to read as many books as possible in one year. That, and many other of Mr. Clark's suggestions, will ring in my head throughout this year as this old dog tries to add some new tricks from a young, gifted, and blessed young man. Forgive me for being so skeptical!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    MY HERO!

    I have to say first that this man is the reason I am becoming a teacher. When I read The Essential 55 I knew I wanted to have the same kind of impact Ron Clark had. I waited anxiously for The Excellent 11 to come out and when I opened the package I went straight to my couch and sat there and read the whole thing. Just like with the essential 55, it was a quick read, hilarious!, and inspiring. I would recommend this book for anyone who is unsure what they want to do with their life. Mr. Clark just puts things in a way that makes things seem clear and I am grateful for him and his ability to share his mistakes and successful with both humility, honesty and such a strong spirit for life. Thank you Mr. Clark for being my hero!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Great book on important qualities and how to use them to teach

    Great book on important qualities and how to use them to teach children. The 11 qualities are enthusiasm, adventure, creativity, reflection, balance, compassion, confidence, humor, common sense, appreciation, and resilience. These help add enjoyment to the teaching process

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I prefer Sugar's "The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds"

    Sugar's 'The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds" is a book that is all about educational reality, the facts on the ground, not vacuous educational theories.

    Sugar pioneered the SMARTGRADES school notebooks that contain the new learning technology, ACANDY Processing Tools, that empower students for academic success. She transformed my kids into Grade A students, soI speak from experience, not hypothetical theory.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1