Customer Reviews for

Excuses Begone! How to Change Lifelong, Self-Defeating Thinking Habits

Average Rating 3.5
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Another great Dyer work!

I received this book for Fathers' Day from my family. I knew I was getting it because it was the only thing I wanted. Reading Dr. Dyer's works over the last year have helped significantly in improving my life. When his new book was announced, I did not hesitate to as...
I received this book for Fathers' Day from my family. I knew I was getting it because it was the only thing I wanted. Reading Dr. Dyer's works over the last year have helped significantly in improving my life. When his new book was announced, I did not hesitate to ask for it.

A couple of weeks after receiving this gift, I was laid off. I have a wife and three beautiful children who depend solely on my income, and having read this book, I did not come up with any excuses. I focused on my job search and keeping myself spiritually centered using this and "Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life." I am happy to say that I got a job offer within 5 weeks for a better job with better benefits for my family. It was for the first job posting I saw within two hours after being laid off and applied for.

Did I get the job because of this book? No. But I do believe I did get it because of the my thoughts which were influenced by "Excuses Begone!" and other Dr. Dyer books.

posted by ben_b on August 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Mystical, Weird, Ramblings Without Direction or A Plan

While I genuinely enjoyed the overall theme of the author's book the theme is muddied by the author's embrace of mysticism and rejection of traditional values in favor of moral relativism including his sub-theme that doing whatever feels best to you is the highest good ...
While I genuinely enjoyed the overall theme of the author's book the theme is muddied by the author's embrace of mysticism and rejection of traditional values in favor of moral relativism including his sub-theme that doing whatever feels best to you is the highest good and is of God.
Listeners or readers are told to do what feels best to them and embrace Eastern religious philosophies and the Dao. Be prepared to have to listen to the "God is whatever feels good" philosophy over and over and how yoga is the ultimate medium by which one can connect to the Dao or God. These ideas seem to be gaining a lot of popularity with the "feel good" and "me" generations. I found them to be a bit of a put off after about the 18th time.
People may enjoy hearing that they can do no wrong as long as they are doing what feels good and right to them. The author serves this purpose by failing to make the distinction between self-pleasure and good. Whether the omission was intentional or not, the book could certainly be used to help people feel justified in doing things that are wrong. In fact, it was not clear to this reader whether the author acknowledges the existence of a right and wrong - it seemed more like right and wrong were left up to the individual to create in his or her mind. The author certainly did not have to get into the age old questions about morality and right or wrong, but he chose to do so - though perhaps unnecessarily-and thus he is charged with an obligation to his readers to support the positions he takes. Instead, readers are supposed to just accept his positions on these as truth as no such support is offered.
Though the author tries to cast his philosophies in a selfless light by espousing the many charitable things he has done, the reality may be that his "do-whatever-feels-good-to-you-philosophy" can be very selfish. This distinction between doing good and feeling good about it versus doing whatever is pleasurable but not necessarily good was never addressed by the author -however, it seems to be a critical omission. The author also does not address that so-called "excuses" may be legitimate concerns about real-world risks associated with a desired course of action. Unfortunately, the author provides very little support or evidence for his theories about God or that doing whatever makes one feel good is the best thing for that person or for society.
Additionally, I was looking for some sort of a structured plan to follow the would have enabled me to better my own life and rid myself of any excuses that may be getting in the way of realizing my full potential. With each new CD I was hoping to receive such a plan. Alas, I reached the final CD and no plan was ever presented. I came away with the feeling that the program was certainly lacking. Perhaps I need to by the $400 KPBS special to get the plan?
Instead of a plan of action, I was treated to essentially the same ideas being repeated over and over again with each passing disc. Mixed in were plugs for his daughter's business and other business ventures of his own. Again, I do like the general theme and the notion espoused by the author that excuses that we create for ourselves often stand in our way of reaching our full potential. However, the author provides no real plan for implementing his ideas other than to recognize excuses, ignore them, and embark on a lifelong pleasure-seeking journey into the esoteric.

posted by Imjustsayin on August 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 247 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Not my reality

    I was all for the premise of this book, but just did not finish it. When the talk is about changing ones way of rationality and thought process, there is my interest. But when the physical part of the body is used to demonstrate change, this is where I get off the bus.

    The idea that any and all physical ailment can be banished is just realistic or even factual according to data. To suggest cancer and chronic illness can be obliterated with thoughts of healthier cells is a low budget way to get desperate people to buy your book..shame on this author for that.

    With life, there will always be illness and suffering. Who determines what cancers are easily pushed from our bodies via the brain and which ones are not? Should everyone just buy the book for the day they need it?

    How condescending of a writer to assume so much authority, when most likely he has never had a medical or biology class any higher than a HS level. It really does take all kinds in this world.

    Why not leave chronic illness and terminal illness out and concentrate on our thought patterns as it relates to relationships with others and ourselves.

    It is also not explained how one adjusts to better processes of thought when you live with others. It has been proven that many issues cannot be dealt with if you live with a difficult relationship issue on a daily basis. You cannot change another persons personality. These self help books are unfortunately written for the singular person.

    Find another way to make money please

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Work the paradigm

    Very interesting. To make the excuses begone work most people will need to re-set thier old way of thinking. I did not think I had so many excuses until I read this book. I have been working it and trying to correct myself everytime I use one. As always Dr. Dyer has written another wonderful gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    another great guide

    Dr. Dyer has provided yet another excellent piece guide to living an awesome life. thank Doc.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    This Is One Of Dyer's Best!

    I first came across Wayne Dyer in of all things a PBS special. Having read this book, I have come to realize that excuses only please the people that use them. Kudos, Wayne! I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" which takes a look at the power of God in forgiveness. It is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What's Your Excuse For Not Buying This Book?

    After watching his special on PBS, I was drawn to this book. For years, I felt a need to apologize for the world around me but never to myself. I used the mistakes and excuses of others as a way to stop me from doing what I need to do. Well, no more. Thanks Wayne. I'd also like to suggest that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," an intimate look at the power of forgiveness and yet, it's about so much more. I loved every minute of it. Given the chance, it could change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Helps us stay on track

    This book gives a clear strategy for identifying excuses, questioning their validity and determining whether to keep them in place or letting them go. Dr. Dyer uses Katie Byron's work (he gives her credit) to help him make his case. I recommend this book highly along with my favorite, OPTIMAL THINKING: HOW TO BE YOUR BEST SELF. Read both books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    A real gem. Highly beneficial.

    This is a very easy book to read that contains a large amount of wisdom. In today's world, everyone is finding an excuse for why they can not achieve what they want. This book blows excuses apart and allows us to see that we can and should achieve anything we want to.

    As a companion book, I also purchased C.J. Good's, "Little Gifts of Sustainable Contentment." Once in awhile I need just a simple collection of tranquil thoughts. I do feel it is another great resource in exploring your own path to wisdom.

    C.J.'s book is a great collection of daily reflections when we are looking for phrases and words to inspire or "de-stress" an environment. To understand that change is good for us. More simplistic than Mr. Dyer's book, "Little Gifts of Sustainable Contentment" is one of those items that lays on our desk within reach, only to be opened whenever we are losing perspective or our sense of self. A great source of quiet inspiration, C.J. Good's book was written with me in mind when I lost a job, and when I lost and subsequently rediscovered, a daughter. Where else can you find these little gems? Keep both books handy, buy them for others, treasure them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excuses Begone? Not Yet!

    I too saw Wayne's special on PBS and brought a copy of this book. I am working on my excuses for things I do. I learned from another book that excuses only please the people that use them. I am reading this book to help work on making excuses for when something doesn't happen the way I want to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    WAYNE DYER IS AT THE TOP OF HIS GAME. VERY,VERY INTERESTING AND INFORMATIVE. LOTS OF NEW INFORMATION - COULD BE LIFE CHANGING.

    COULD NOT PUT THIS DOWN. VERY CLEAR, CONCISE. IF YOU WANT TO CHANGE YOU CAN. SEE WHAT YOU DO TO STOP YOURSELF FROM MAKING THE CHANGES YOU WANT IN YOUR LIFE. REALLY AMAZING AS I WAS UNAWARE AT SOME OF THE SUBTLE WAYS I SABOTAGE MYSELF. IF YOU WANT TO GET REAL AND CHANGE THINGS - THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Excellent advice for those struggling in life

    I have found the advice, though based on the author's personal beliefs, to be valid and helpful to all, even if the reader does not share the author's beliefs. The ability to move away from a self-centered viewpoint that may be hindering a person who is stuck in life is very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Excuses Begone motivational

    I found the audio CD to be motivational while commuting to work.


    The audio was very repetitive and his "interviews" of the people attending the lecture that was recorded was very predictable and also a distraction from his core message. I wonder if the book would have left all of that out?

    His last CD in the set had a friend of his. It was rambling and was not worth the time. I kept listening in case the speaker stopped and Dr. Dyer came back on. The last CD in the set should have been left out, it was very disappointing and detracted from the mood you get from the other CDs.

    But all in all not too bad. I was looking for something up lifting and motivational to listen to on my way to work and it did accomplish that to a degree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you AGAIN!

    I'm Thankful Dr. Dyer.
    It was great to see you speak on this subject as well.
    I experienced the Paradigm shift. Now how do I keep maintaining the shifting?
    Thank you.
    Sue Lunquist, Author, Radio host, MOMprenuer
    www.imthankful.com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    All that's needed to change

    This program is a systematic way of moving beyond every block to spiritual progress
    that we have erected to remain in the status quo. Dyer is a dynamic speaker who
    makes you feel that anything is possible if you believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone Benefits

    I wish that this book would be part of every school curriculum. Imagine if our children learned early on that these "excuses" did not have "to be". That there is a healthy and positive alternative that will help to richly enhance their lives. I found this book simple to follow, easy to read and more than once i had an "aha" moment. i was very excited to share it with my daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    don't buy book he endorses

    Enjoyed the book however wasted 24.95 on the book he endorses, The Biology of Belief by Bruce Lipton, PhD. A real sleeper!!! Did Dr. Dyer lose a golf bet to him or something?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Just Better and Better

    Admittedly, I am a Wayne Dyer junkie. I not only purchase his books but also, get them on CD to download into my mp3 player. I can listen to them over and over and continue to find gems. No matter where I am in my life, for good or for worse, his works inspire me and facilitate new ways to view situations.

    "Excuses Begone" is a timely book during this economic time of difficulty. I'm hearing lots of excuses and not a whole lot of action. You eliminate the excuses and all you have left is responsibility to yourself.

    Dr. Dyer explains this with his stories and explaining how our minds think. He does it with his exquisite clarity, life experiences and words from ancient wisdom that have stood the test of time. How ironic that so many people could be using the same handful of excuses, in their lives, that Wayne could write a best-seller about it and be talking to everyone.

    Reading this book is a must for young adults, so they don't fall into the habit of excuses, and for all adults that wish to free themselves to greater heights by breaking free of the proverbial shackles of excuse-itis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    Great ideas

    These are troubling times - I found this book to be uplifting and inspiring. Most of us forget that there are always two sides to everything. Why would anyone want to dwell on the negative side? I agree that you are what you think. I grew up hearing that God will never give you more trials than you can handle. Then a friend told me not to pray for patience - if I have patience, then I can withstand more trials.

    I'm putting to use some of the ideas in Excuses Be Gone and I already feel as if my life is starting to change - even if it's only in how I react to things that happen, that's a start in the right direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    Very practical. In an age when we are sometimes prone to making excuses,this book helps to put all things into perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Listened to it three times in a row!!!

    This set is phenomenal! It is presented as a great mix of lecture, guest speakers and Q&A sessions...all leaving one inspired and wanting for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Very clear and helpful

    I learned about this book from Dr. Dyer's PBS special. After listening to the special, I knew this was going to be a very useful book. His writing is very clear, simple to understand, and sooo to the point! I have recommended this book to several people and will continue to refer to it every time I get get stuck in excuses. Thank you, Dr. Dyer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 247 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13