Customer Reviews for

Execution: The Discipline of Getting Things Done

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great book from a hands-on leader and advisor

'Execution' is about getting things done, being persistent and realistic, as well as managing the 3 core processes; strategy (why? and what?), operations (how?) and people (who?). Building a performance culture is never as easy as it sounds. Looking back a few years...
'Execution' is about getting things done, being persistent and realistic, as well as managing the 3 core processes; strategy (why? and what?), operations (how?) and people (who?). Building a performance culture is never as easy as it sounds. Looking back a few years, try to recall a few of those companies with great media attention and grand strategic visions. Many of them failed. And many of them will fail again and again, because the heroes are strategic visionaries that never bothered to deal with the issue of execution; continually and personally making sure that things were actually done. You know, when all is said and done, usually more is said than done... If you found this book fascinating, you'll probably have some of the execution traits hidden in your personality preferences. If you want to check it out, you might visit some of free Internet sites for a test. For a business, I believe it's paramount to make sure that you have a well-balanced team on all levels in the hierarchy. This also includes having enough executives with execution traits. Advice: Don't assume you have it; test it! Conclusively, this is a great book. I liked it so much that I even also bought the audio version! The reason for the audio version is that these execution ideas simply are needed to be absorbed over several readings (or listenings). Otherwise, you won't be able to start changing your behavior (which you can change, unlike your innate preferences). While commuting, I often turn the CDs on and find it inspiring to forget about traffic jams and just getting the views of Charan and Bossidy in their own voices. However, I do agree that the book easily could have been shorter. Peter Leerskov, MSc in International Business (Marketing & Management) and Graduate Diploma in E-business

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Too many war stories mar this book, which can be boiled down to this - CEOs must sweat the details without micro-managing. Perhaps I am too theoreticaly oriented, but much of this book seems to be simple common sense rather than insight. The last portion of the book, ab...
Too many war stories mar this book, which can be boiled down to this - CEOs must sweat the details without micro-managing. Perhaps I am too theoreticaly oriented, but much of this book seems to be simple common sense rather than insight. The last portion of the book, about how actually to execute, is quite good, the first 2/3 is fluff.

posted by Anonymous on November 1, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    Too many war stories mar this book, which can be boiled down to this - CEOs must sweat the details without micro-managing. Perhaps I am too theoreticaly oriented, but much of this book seems to be simple common sense rather than insight. The last portion of the book, about how actually to execute, is quite good, the first 2/3 is fluff.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    Great book from a hands-on leader and advisor

    'Execution' is about getting things done, being persistent and realistic, as well as managing the 3 core processes; strategy (why? and what?), operations (how?) and people (who?). Building a performance culture is never as easy as it sounds. Looking back a few years, try to recall a few of those companies with great media attention and grand strategic visions. Many of them failed. And many of them will fail again and again, because the heroes are strategic visionaries that never bothered to deal with the issue of execution; continually and personally making sure that things were actually done. You know, when all is said and done, usually more is said than done... If you found this book fascinating, you'll probably have some of the execution traits hidden in your personality preferences. If you want to check it out, you might visit some of free Internet sites for a test. For a business, I believe it's paramount to make sure that you have a well-balanced team on all levels in the hierarchy. This also includes having enough executives with execution traits. Advice: Don't assume you have it; test it! Conclusively, this is a great book. I liked it so much that I even also bought the audio version! The reason for the audio version is that these execution ideas simply are needed to be absorbed over several readings (or listenings). Otherwise, you won't be able to start changing your behavior (which you can change, unlike your innate preferences). While commuting, I often turn the CDs on and find it inspiring to forget about traffic jams and just getting the views of Charan and Bossidy in their own voices. However, I do agree that the book easily could have been shorter. Peter Leerskov, MSc in International Business (Marketing & Management) and Graduate Diploma in E-business

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    Focus

    The book is well written and combines insight from two renowned business leaders, Bossidy and Charan, who together raise the level of awareness of what it takes for a business to succeed. I liked this book and read it for an MBA class. It takes skill and focus to execute business and as the authors point out quite well the difference in reaching business goals lies in the ability to execute plans in terms of having solid building blocks and strategies. I recommend this book highly for leaders in profit as well as non-profit organizations.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Maybe it was over my head.

    Great title, Congratulations. It made me purchase the cds. But... From the beginning until I couldn't listen anymore, I ached for simple talk--too many syllables, too long before making a point. Reminded me of much of my 20 years working at a Fortune 5 company, one of the top 5, where plain talk occurs only rarely,and when it is, it's limited typically to one-on-one, closed-door conversations. Maybe I need to give it another try.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    An Action Plan for Accomplishment

    Most companies, like most individuals, excel at making plans, but are not as talented when it comes to actually carrying them out. Thus, execution - the ability to get things done, particularly on a strategic level - has become the sine qua non of management science. Authors Larry Bossidy and Ram Charan observe that some people grow when promoted to executive leadership, while others merely swell. Those who lose touch with the operational realities of their businesses soon find themselves boldly leading a company going nowhere. The practical value of achieving objectives and getting things done must be instilled at every level of your company, and injected into the very DNA of your corporate culture. Anything less, and your company will under perform. Bossidy and Charan have sterling credentials when it comes to getting things done for America¿s leading corporations. They say execution is nothing more than faithfully practicing the right techniques with a disciplined approach. We recommend reading this book to help you turn your plans and strategies into accomplishments and victories.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    Motiavation and End Result is What Counts

    As I read through this book I thought I had read some of the very same words before. As with many books that offer real life do it yourself by my experience stories, I was a little jaded. After it's all said and done, I would say it's not only worth the money but well worth the time. It's made a differnece in my life and will do so for you as well. It's not just for CEOs and it's not just for men. Take my word for it. Also recommended: Mommy-CEO, for personal life with kids and family. (Very similar outlook for home life.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2003

    Greatness through the Mastery of the Hows

    Larry Bossidy and Ram Charan first clearly demonstrate why the most effective business leaders are not out of touch with day-to-day activities but are deeply involved with all aspects of execution. For that purpose, Bossidy and Charan convincingly analyze recent failures in execution within companies such as Xerox, AT&T, and Lucent. Bossidy and Charan then examine the three building blocks that execution-driven leaders must use to design, install, and operate effectively the people, strategy, and operations processes within their organization. Those building blocks are the distinctive modus operandi of execution-driven leaders, a culture that thrives on accountability and links rewards to performance, and the selection of the right people for the right jobs. To their credit, Bossidy and Charan have a jargon-free laser focus in reviewing the stumbling blocks that underlie the execution gap in those three areas. Bossidy and Charan indeed illustrate each of those stumbling blocks with relevant examples from their practice that makes it very enjoyable to read. Bossidy and Charan then explore the people, strategy, and operations processes that are built on the above-mentioned foundation for execution excellence. Bossidy and Charan brilliantly illustrate with clear examples the multiple links that exist among those processes and their interaction with the outside world. To summarize, "Execution The Discipline of Getting Things Done" is too valuable to take dust on readers' shelves. Any leader aspiring for execution excellence can indeed find an enduring source of inspiration in that reference book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2002

    I Know Men In The Ranks Who Are Going To Stay In The Ranks

    I have read this book and will recommend it to all of my managers. I hereby recommend it to you, also. This book does not presume to make execution and getting things done easy, however. Rightfully so. Getting something done --- execution --- requires the willing cooperation of those who you expect to do the job (unless you're going to do it yourself). That requires you to be a good leader, and to be a good leader you need to understand the basic philosophical principles of leadership. That is beyond the scope of Larry Bossidy's wonderful book. So, be sure you also read a book that will further educate you on character and leadership. Otherwise, you will merely be one of those men or women in the ranks who are going to stay in the ranks, simply because you haven't the ability to get things done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2002

    A Jump Start for your sales and marketing management team

    If your looking for practical advice on jump starting your marketing and sales team Bossidy and Charan have a fomula that is straightforward and directive. Their ability to "Dumb it Down" makes putting into action what you learn very simple. I highly recommend this book to any manager struggling with getting their teams to "do" rather than pontificate. Excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2002

    Excellent

    I truly wish I had this book available when I first began my trek into management. I've learned much of this by hard knocks and gained insight into execution of tasks especially with trends of change management that I will be able to use in the work environment. Truly a must for management level and those that wish to gain insight into executing initiatives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2002

    Practical for Managers of all Ages...

    Execution ¿ The Discipline of Getting Things Done is centered on revealing that ¿execution¿ is the critical discipline for getting things done. Doing this requires that one find out what is really ¿real¿ and then help others see what is ¿real¿. A leader or CEO does this by behaving as a ¿coach¿. The ¿coach¿ spends much time appraising and evaluating people and plans. Appraising and evaluating is done by using direct questions that ask ¿what¿, ¿who¿, and ¿how¿ as often as necessary to reveal what is really true for a given situation or problem. Note that ¿why¿ is not featured as part of this question process. The ¿coach¿ not only exposes harsh realities to subordinates but also asks more questions that help lead subordinates to realistic solutions to their problems. When things work well during these encounters, the participants experience closure and an energy gain rather than a drain that typically results from statements that merely humiliate. The above scenario is repeatedly applied to a variety of critical business activities. This book takes the reader through many real examples of important business situations. And the examples include experiences of people well known for their success in business. I believe that the lessons offered in this book are powerful and portable. I recommend reading this book¿ Reviewer: Dave Kruschke, Madison Wisconsin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    What is execution?

    As the authors point out, many people say or think "of course you need to execute" without a clear understanding of how to make that happen. The authors here do a great job illustrating how a leader can execute. This is the first book I have read that clearly shows what interdependence should exist among strategy, operations, and the people process. And, in fact, these relationships are the key to execution. I highly recommend this book to people who can and want to make their organizations execute better and to people who are in executing organizations who want to better understand why their organizations execute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2002

    New Approaches

    One thing I got from this was that you always need new approaches to getting things done. The defintion of done must be managed. Very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2002

    This is an outstanding book - and I really read it.

    The excerpt in a May issue of Fortune magazine perked my interest in this book -- I've seen Mr. Bossidy's guest appearances on CNBC, but this is the first time I've read any of his work or that of Mr. Charan (although I will now be adding any other titles they've written to my small collection of 'keepers'). Briefly, this a thoroughly engrossing book full of unique perspective that I believe could be applied in almost any strategic business context. I agree with Michael Dell's statement -- 'this is a book for would-be CEO's' (though we may never make it to that perch) who are looking for a role model. Mr. Bossidy provides the example today's marketplace so desperately needs in the wake of the scandals we continue to learn about. Sound business judgment, exemplary character, and a commitment to the shareholder are the values that built modern capitalism and the marketplace that fuels our country, and many of us can learn from these writers. While I enjoyed Jack Welch's 'Straight From the Gut', it was more about the man (as evidenced by its sheer size -- like 600 pages), whereas 'Execution' is much more straight-forward and useful. I teach Internet Business Strategy at University of Miami, and am tempted to find any excuse to work this book -- which is decidely about using old world commitment to outstanding performance to produce good, old-fashioned success -- into my curriculum. Maybe I could be lucky enough to have either Messers. Bossidy or Charan guest lecture in my course?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    A best of textbook

    This book shows me many thing. I've learnt many best knowledge from it !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4