BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Execution Dock (William Monk Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Hooray! Monk and Hester are back!

    The long-awaited 16th installment of Anne Perry's intriguing William Monk series, "Executioner's Dock," amply demonstrates why the series is so popular. Perry has moved up to my elite list -- authors whose books I buy in hardcover -- and I kick myself because I never read any of her books until two years ago.
    Monk, of the Thames River Police, and his indomitable wife Hester are hard-pressed to bring an elusive villain to justice. Of all the "baddies" in previous episodes, this one is among the worst. Monk's mudlark helper Scuff is in jeopardy and the reader feels the panic Hester and Monk experience as they plan the rescue. Fortunately, they have help from the complicated barrister Oliver Rathbone, the ratcatcher Sutton and his dog, and the group teams up for a page-turning denouement.
    This book does stand alone, but why not give yourself the enjoyment of the 15 previous books in the series? You will meet some of the most three-dimensional characters in mystery fiction, learn about life in London in the 1860s, go into well-described settings, and best of all, "see" Perry's characters in action as she uses body language details to let the reader view them in action. I can't think of any other contemporary writer who does this half as well, and it gives these Monk books a very cinematic feel.
    And when you finish these 16 books, then you can enjoy the 25-book Charlotte and Thomas Pitt series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Readers will enjoy this riveting historical mystery.

    In 1864, now the head of the Thames River Police, William Monk is anxious to arrest Jericho Phillips and see him hung. The odious Phillips is a child pornographer who kidnaps young boys and forces them to perform perverted deeds. He makes a lucrative business as a supplier of kids to his pedophile customers and takes photos of the young in sexual acts that he sells to the stores.<BR/><BR/>Monk apprehends the lowlife, who is on trial defended by the police chief¿s friend Sir Oliver Rathbone at the bequest of his father-in-law; who insists everyone deserves a good lawyer. Oliver tears into the prosecution¿s airtight case leading to the defendant walking away free and Mon¿s reputation sunk into the sift on the bottom of the Thames. Monk, his wife Hester and others are more determined than ever to see Phillips hang, but rumors spread about their methods and judgment leading to condemnation of the chief and his police force as stalkers. Phillips has clients in high places who refuse to lose their pleasure connection, but when the pedophile take something Monk treasures all hell breaks loose.<BR/><BR/>It has been too long (2006 DARK ASSASSIN) since Anne Perry has written a Monk Victorian Era police procedural, but fans of the series will feel the wait was worth waiting. Readers are taken on a tour of the Thames just after Queen Victoria¿s beloved Consort prince Albert dies. Monk is as efficient as ever, but his efforts are purposely misinterpreted so that he seems more like Les Miserables' (by Hugo) malevolent stalking Police Detective Javert chasing Valjean over a stolen loaf of bread (note that novel occurs during the reign of Napoleon III so is the same age as the Monk thriller). Hester is a free thinking woman not afraid to act on her own so Monk has learned throughout the series to rely on her as she always comes through. Readers will enjoy this riveting historical mystery.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Excellent

    I have read all the 'Monk' books and this is one of the best. I only wish there were more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Excellent read, anytime, anyplace

    This is a worthy addition to the Monk series. As usual, well written and holds one in an iron grip til the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Perry's Execution Dock (with the Monks)

    I like the fact that this story starts in the courtroom with the defeat of a case brought forth by the River Police (i.e., Monk). Perry has researched her history, with references to various squalid areas of London and the denizens making their living there. The plot is modern, but works in 19th century London. The characters are interesting and original (to the series). My only quibble is the angst that sometimes drips a little too heavily among the main characters--but I overlook it because it's still a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Shatter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    V

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Question 5 囎

    Dock is very similar looking to sorrel, however they have very disparate uses. Dock leaves are chewed and applied to soothe scratches. Howbeit, sorrel is used in traveling herbs to provide extra strength. Sorrel is found near twoleg nests, while dock is mainly found in the forest.<p>

    Question 5]] This leafy plant is hard to find in the wild, but common near twoleg nests. This herb is the best remedy for greencough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Another great read from Anne Perry

    Another great book from Anne Perry - I love her William Monk series. I didn't think I'd like it as much now that Monk is working on the River Police, but she's keeping it fresh and interesting and the characters keep evolving and coming up on new challenges. I like that Hester and Monk have taken on the friendship with with the river rat/urchin, it adds a nice element to the story. I highly recommend this one from Perry - especially if you enjoy the William Monk/Hester series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Recommended for all Victorian mystery lovers

    What more can I add, enjoy all Anne Perry's Monk series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Dock:

    Used for sore pads and small cuts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Natasha

    "I hope so"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Agent Cale

    *I shrug* "Eventually..." *I smile*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    These are some of my favorite characters to read

    I have been collecting William Monk series books for years, and always look forward to finding one I haven't read before. This one was as excellent as ever. I try to see if I can figure out things before the end, of course, and I think that I actually did that this time - well part of it, at least. It's amazing that, in this day and age, when CSI is all over the place, and more and more information is available and detectable, that she can write these stories about detecting the criminal without all that technology. The detectives and people around them manage to ferret out the bad guys by just asking simple questions of simple people and always find the right person. That is one of the aspects of these books that fascinates me. William Monk, himself, has been a character that I have always enjoyed - and learning more about him is what I always look forward to in each succeeding book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    Anne Perry writes another winner!

    "Execution Dock" will take you all the way to the last paragraphs before the conclusion to this novel is known. Anne Perry's plots are always different and cleverly masked until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent addition to the Monk series

    Very exciting and difficult to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    I have read every one of the Monk series & this is as good as any!

    I love the characters, I love reading about Victorian London. I enjoy the fact that Hester is a feminist before her time. These books are well plotted, although I was hoping for a different ending to carry the villain over to another book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Anne Perry's Execution Dock is a great addition to her William Monk series!

    At B&N's suggestion, I began reading Anne Perry's William Monk series in order of publication. I was hooked from page #1 of novel #1. Ms. Perry takes you back to Victorian London in an exquisite way. You can almost smell the horse leavings in the streets and the mixture of terrible odors in the alleyways. You get an excellent idea what it was like to live without modern appliances. You can almost taste the food they eat and feel their pain and exhaustion from working long hours. William Monk is a complex character who is brought to life by the author. While I enjoy him immensely, I think his wife Hester is an even greater character. I find that while reading about William I wonder what Hester is up to ... and vice versa. The accompanying characters, good and bad, are also rich and wonderful.

    I highly recommend this particular book but also suggest that you start at the beginning of the series and read straight through. There's not a disappointment in the entire series. You will enjoy reading this series.

    P.S. When I ran out of William Monk novels and was waiting for this new one, I read Ms. Perry's other books. Her WW I series and other books are also highly recommended. ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Another winner from Anne Perry

    Another great book from Ms Perry. The only problem is I can't stop reading it and I'm done before I know it! Then I have to wait for the next one to come out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AN AWARD WORTHY NARRATION

    Whatever he is reading actor/director David Colacci totally engages himself in the story. He is there, whether it be as a salami vendor in Italy, a New York cop or, this listener is happy to say, the voice of Victorian London. Many will remember his sterling performance of Anne Perry's Dark Assassin - hard as it is to believe he's even better in the latest in the William Monk series, Execution Dock.

    With this, her first Monk series in three years, Perry takes us to the docks along the River Thames. Not a berth for a pleasure ship but a dark place where Jericho Phillips, a child pornographer, plies his trade, forcing young boys to commit unspeakable acts for the pleasure of pedophiles.

    Perry opens her story with a chase worthy of the big screen as Monk tries to catch Phillips. The veteran detective doesn't shoot because he wants him alive "so he could see him tried and hanged." And so the pursuit continues from police boat to schooner, from barge to barge with Monk closing in until "...Phillips's face was so close, Monk could smell his skin, his hair, the exhale of his breath. His eyes were glittering, and he smiled as he brought the knife up in his hand."

    Pure Perry - pure pleasure! Just try to stop listening. Of course, at this point we're only beginning of this compelling, assiduously plotted story. As the tale continues we learn more about Monk's past, witness the growing relationship between Monk and Hester, and are intrigued by the ways of 1864 London.

    Highly recommended.

    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3