Customer Reviews for

Executive Orders

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

No other Clancy book can mirror this one

This by far was the best book Clancy wrote. I'm no politcal expert, but Ryan's views seemed cool with me, and mixing the politics with the other stuff going on in Iran/Iraq, China, and back home, was masterfully done. I had no problems flyig through this book. And on ...
This by far was the best book Clancy wrote. I'm no politcal expert, but Ryan's views seemed cool with me, and mixing the politics with the other stuff going on in Iran/Iraq, China, and back home, was masterfully done. I had no problems flyig through this book. And on occassion, I sit down and read through it again, but only the better parts

posted by Anonymous on July 14, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Political manifesto thinly disguised as action thriller

First and foremost, this book is way too long (my copy clocked in at almost 1400 pages!), and it moves way too slow. The marginal plot is mostly an excuse for Clancy to advance his rightward-leaning political views (what do you know, he's a flat-taxer!). Clancy once a...
First and foremost, this book is way too long (my copy clocked in at almost 1400 pages!), and it moves way too slow. The marginal plot is mostly an excuse for Clancy to advance his rightward-leaning political views (what do you know, he's a flat-taxer!). Clancy once again stretches the limits of believability by placing his longtime hero/alter-ego in the White House. Various forces conspire against him and the United States, and Ryan is forced to show his mettle. As usual, Clancy's characters are thinly drawn, and their motivation is typically one-dimensional (you're either a good-guy or a baddie). Really, the only reason to read Clancy is for his meticulous plotting, but that is not in evidence here. Clancy's last two books before this one, Without Remorse and Debt of Honor, were also sub-par efforts, so I hope this isn't part of a larger trend. Executive Orders is for die-hard Clancy fans only!

posted by Anonymous on August 6, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 211 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    No other Clancy book can mirror this one

    This by far was the best book Clancy wrote. I'm no politcal expert, but Ryan's views seemed cool with me, and mixing the politics with the other stuff going on in Iran/Iraq, China, and back home, was masterfully done. I had no problems flyig through this book. And on occassion, I sit down and read through it again, but only the better parts

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    Review

    Executive Orders by Tom Clancy is about one of the most devastating terrorist acts in the history of the United States. The President, the Joint Chiefs of Staff, the Supreme Court justices, and most of congress are killed. This act leaves Jack Ryan as the President. He has get things back in order. When things start to go wrong, that¿s when the problems begin. This book has a lot of detail and is very long. The amount of detail is overwhelming in this book. I would recommend this book if you are a devoted Clancy reader.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Superb Reading

    The BEST book that Clancy has written. Great story line and good ending. A good "what if" book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Great novel

    I was impressive with author in Debt of Honor, but Executive Orders is impressive too.
    Good for relax and let your imagination to fly.

    enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Have read all of Jack Ryan series. This is one of the best. Interesting to see how the US government has to be put back together after a terrible catastrophe

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Very Recommended..

    While I enjoyed the plot and the story line I was totally put off by all the typos on my nook book. Maybe it is too much to expect someone to use spell check when retyping these books for the ebooks. But my five year old Grandson could have done as well typing this up.
    But, the story rocked..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    A Must read for true working Americans.

    In todays corrupt Government from the Whitehouse down to local Governments, Tom Clancy has captured a novel idea. If only it were a true happening it would be to all real Americans like winning the Lotto. Read and see the value of such a story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Farewell Clancy

    Clancy has great stories and plots, I would love to actually read through one of his books to absorb the story. After crawling to read through all the unnecessary description and chatter that I find in his books, I haven't finished one yet. I've given up after trying this book and one other, it's too tiring to read them. Sorry Tom, there are books that actually move and hold one's attention and I'm moving on.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    Great Clancey book

    This was one of Clancey's best books, but it was way too long and I had a hard time keeping up with it. Too many characters to remember and too many events to remember.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    Political manifesto thinly disguised as action thriller

    First and foremost, this book is way too long (my copy clocked in at almost 1400 pages!), and it moves way too slow. The marginal plot is mostly an excuse for Clancy to advance his rightward-leaning political views (what do you know, he's a flat-taxer!). Clancy once again stretches the limits of believability by placing his longtime hero/alter-ego in the White House. Various forces conspire against him and the United States, and Ryan is forced to show his mettle. As usual, Clancy's characters are thinly drawn, and their motivation is typically one-dimensional (you're either a good-guy or a baddie). Really, the only reason to read Clancy is for his meticulous plotting, but that is not in evidence here. Clancy's last two books before this one, Without Remorse and Debt of Honor, were also sub-par efforts, so I hope this isn't part of a larger trend. Executive Orders is for die-hard Clancy fans only!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    Greatest Book EVER!!!

    I can never believe that a book this enjoyable and grabbing could be written. This relates so much to the world's current events and a possible way of ending it. I could not put it down. Clancy can really spin a good yarn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Highly recommend this book to anyone who appreciates Tom Clancy'

    Highly recommend this book to anyone who appreciates Tom Clancy's talents. It's an unbelievable read -- so complicated -- so "real"!! Thoroughly enjoyed it. At this point though, after reading half of this long story, I'm calling it a day. Too many characters.....a lot of constant story changes, and I guess I'm losing too much sleep over the possibility of this really happening. Great job Mr. Clancy .... just a little too much for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Good!

    This is a great book but it can get very gruesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    One of Clancys best!

    A top rate thrill ride. The only downside to this novel is that it's just to big of a story to fit into a 2 hour movie. Highly recommended for readers who appreciate solid storytelling and a challenging plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    We need him.

    Ryan is the president we need today. We definitly need someone likr ryam to be the president of the unites states of america.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Jack ryan at his best

    I think this book is the best in the jack ryan series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    soo far very good goingto be long

    Mc

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Great Read, but...

    Excellent story (although it drags in a few places), but...the numerous typos in the ebook version are very annoying, and at times make for sentences that make no sense at all. I had to have a paper copy handy for reference, which makes the ebook version pointless. That's why four stars instead of five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Great book...

    ...with lots of typos (the reason for 3 stars instead of 4 or 5). A very long read, it is in typical Clancy style and does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Oneof Clancy's better novels. He does get a little long written

    Oneof Clancy's better novels. He does get a little long written on technical details that tend to bogg down whole sections of the read, however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 211 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11