Customer Reviews for

Executive Orders

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

No other Clancy book can mirror this one

This by far was the best book Clancy wrote. I'm no politcal expert, but Ryan's views seemed cool with me, and mixing the politics with the other stuff going on in Iran/Iraq, China, and back home, was masterfully done. I had no problems flyig through this book. And on ...
This by far was the best book Clancy wrote. I'm no politcal expert, but Ryan's views seemed cool with me, and mixing the politics with the other stuff going on in Iran/Iraq, China, and back home, was masterfully done. I had no problems flyig through this book. And on occassion, I sit down and read through it again, but only the better parts

posted by Anonymous on July 14, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Political manifesto thinly disguised as action thriller

First and foremost, this book is way too long (my copy clocked in at almost 1400 pages!), and it moves way too slow. The marginal plot is mostly an excuse for Clancy to advance his rightward-leaning political views (what do you know, he's a flat-taxer!). Clancy once a...
First and foremost, this book is way too long (my copy clocked in at almost 1400 pages!), and it moves way too slow. The marginal plot is mostly an excuse for Clancy to advance his rightward-leaning political views (what do you know, he's a flat-taxer!). Clancy once again stretches the limits of believability by placing his longtime hero/alter-ego in the White House. Various forces conspire against him and the United States, and Ryan is forced to show his mettle. As usual, Clancy's characters are thinly drawn, and their motivation is typically one-dimensional (you're either a good-guy or a baddie). Really, the only reason to read Clancy is for his meticulous plotting, but that is not in evidence here. Clancy's last two books before this one, Without Remorse and Debt of Honor, were also sub-par efforts, so I hope this isn't part of a larger trend. Executive Orders is for die-hard Clancy fans only!

posted by Anonymous on August 6, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Very Recommended..

    While I enjoyed the plot and the story line I was totally put off by all the typos on my nook book. Maybe it is too much to expect someone to use spell check when retyping these books for the ebooks. But my five year old Grandson could have done as well typing this up.
    But, the story rocked..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Highly recommend this book to anyone who appreciates Tom Clancy'

    Highly recommend this book to anyone who appreciates Tom Clancy's talents. It's an unbelievable read -- so complicated -- so "real"!! Thoroughly enjoyed it. At this point though, after reading half of this long story, I'm calling it a day. Too many characters.....a lot of constant story changes, and I guess I'm losing too much sleep over the possibility of this really happening. Great job Mr. Clancy .... just a little too much for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Good!

    This is a great book but it can get very gruesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    soo far very good goingto be long

    Mc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Great Read, but...

    Excellent story (although it drags in a few places), but...the numerous typos in the ebook version are very annoying, and at times make for sentences that make no sense at all. I had to have a paper copy handy for reference, which makes the ebook version pointless. That's why four stars instead of five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Recomend

    This is a very good book, one of Clancy's best. I read it in paperback years ago and m re-reading it on Nook. The Nook version has a lot of spelling and punctuation errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    As The Saying Goes...

    "This is TomClancy at his best and there is none better" Well perhaps so. I thoroughly enjoyed this book but it wasn't quite up to the par when compared to some of his earlier writings. Nonetheless it is one of the best military fictions I have ever read. It's incredibly long, but worth it because it will all come together in the end. And of course there's always the fact that the events of this book could actually happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Great book but only one little problem

    overall this was a great book! this was only the third clancy book i read and i expect to read more. the action was awesome and i never wanted to put it down. i liked how all the sub plots came together. the only problem and the only reason for 4 stars was because of the sub plot with the mountain men. that was a waste of time to read especially since it is concluded so easily. (no offense, Mr. Clancy; you are the best) all in all i recommend it. dont get discouraged because of the length. its worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2000

    Gotta stop Mr. Clancy from portraying USA as invincible

    Don't get me wrong, I am fan of Mr. Clancy's work, but do you really think American soldiers are capable of THAT? In recent years he wrote down as if America is unstoppable warmachine, the worst was SSN. Especially the AWACS-Fighter combo, do you believe 30 fighters were shot down even before they reached maximum range of missiles? The Bradley's were kicking @$$ of BTRs and BMTs and that's fine, but he ignored the firepower of Russian weapons completely. Sure the Bradleys and M1A2s are good, but they can't bring down a brigade without SOME DAMAGE TO THEIR OWN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2000

    Political Thriller

    Picking up where 'Debt of Honor' left off, Clancy infuses this story with a thrilling plot. A cumbersome read, the payoff rewards the reader's patience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    great story line

    Action packed - Classic Clancy starts big and finshes even bigger. Loads of details that just won't let you put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2000

    Very good but to many details

    It was very good but he had too many details. Some parts you had to just skim because he was going on and on about somthing or other but other than that it was an exelent book great storry line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2000

    An Excellent story that takes so long

    This story is way too long, but if you are a fast reader this is a good book with a great story line. However it is not as good as the Hunt for Red October and Patriot Games. All in all it was a good book. So now I understand why it was a New York Times bestseller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3