Customer Reviews for

Executive Privilege

Average Rating 4
( 584 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(229)

4 Star

(221)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

78 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

Dealing with Harriet Klausne, then a review.

Every week on Free Friday, we all end up finding a "review" by the notorious Harriet Klausner which is really just a 3-4 Nook-page synopsis of the book. Solution: Go to the BN website, find her review and mark it "spam" and/or "unhelpful." Eventually, they will stop ...
Every week on Free Friday, we all end up finding a "review" by the notorious Harriet Klausner which is really just a 3-4 Nook-page synopsis of the book. Solution: Go to the BN website, find her review and mark it "spam" and/or "unhelpful." Eventually, they will stop showing on the website and MAYBE BN will start taking our issues with her seriously.

Harriet, if you happen to read this since I put your name in the subject, I am sorry that you are likely an old and lonely woman who wants attention. Go join a senior center or something. Your "book reviews" are nothing more than elementary school book reports and are not wanted.

Now, for the book: I am usually not a fan of the pseudo-political thriller but I think Phillip Margolin does a very good job of melding the murder investigation with just enough political intrigue to make it work. I think it is worth your time.

posted by PaulBadger on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Very good legal thriller with many twists and turns and lots of action and excitement.

I loved this book to the last page. This book has so many twists and turns that it makes it so intense up to the last page. The book is hard to follow at the beginning, in fact for the first 1/4 of the book. I love the way that Margolin sets up the ending and the var...
I loved this book to the last page. This book has so many twists and turns that it makes it so intense up to the last page. The book is hard to follow at the beginning, in fact for the first 1/4 of the book. I love the way that Margolin sets up the ending and the various turns that this novel takes. Margolin adds the right amount of action and suspense while giving the reader and the characters the right amount of information to keep them turning the page. There is a lot of profanity, so if that's not your thing don't read this book. The suspense made me keep turning the page (well, hitting the next page button on my nook ;)). The plot is well developed and will keep you guessing until the very end. You'll think you have it figured out in the middle, but I guarantee that you don't know who the killer is!

posted by nemesisgeneral on May 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 584 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Dealing with Harriet Klausne, then a review.

    Every week on Free Friday, we all end up finding a "review" by the notorious Harriet Klausner which is really just a 3-4 Nook-page synopsis of the book. Solution: Go to the BN website, find her review and mark it "spam" and/or "unhelpful." Eventually, they will stop showing on the website and MAYBE BN will start taking our issues with her seriously.

    Harriet, if you happen to read this since I put your name in the subject, I am sorry that you are likely an old and lonely woman who wants attention. Go join a senior center or something. Your "book reviews" are nothing more than elementary school book reports and are not wanted.

    Now, for the book: I am usually not a fan of the pseudo-political thriller but I think Phillip Margolin does a very good job of melding the murder investigation with just enough political intrigue to make it work. I think it is worth your time.

    78 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the Best Books Ever- A Must Read!

    This is one of those rare books that once you start reading is hard to put down. While at the same time it is one of those books that you prolong finishing because you know that it will be a long time before you read another great book. Without giving away the plot, the basis of this novel is that the President of the U.S. may be a murderer, which is a fantastic plot theme. As usual, the author develops a number of interesting characters, some great plot twists and flawlessly moves the story along drawing you deeper and deeper in. A great book has to have a great ending and this one definely does. I loved this book so much that I will read it again in the future and savor each sentence all over again. Thank you Mr. Margolin for a great read that I would strongly recommend to book clubs and indiviual readers.

    42 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    Loved It!

    I got this as a free ebook download and I would gladly have paid for it. Absolutely loved it. Twists, turns and fast action, I didn't want to put it down. Excellent! --K--

    36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good legal thriller with many twists and turns and lots of action and excitement.

    I loved this book to the last page. This book has so many twists and turns that it makes it so intense up to the last page. The book is hard to follow at the beginning, in fact for the first 1/4 of the book. I love the way that Margolin sets up the ending and the various turns that this novel takes. Margolin adds the right amount of action and suspense while giving the reader and the characters the right amount of information to keep them turning the page. There is a lot of profanity, so if that's not your thing don't read this book. The suspense made me keep turning the page (well, hitting the next page button on my nook ;)). The plot is well developed and will keep you guessing until the very end. You'll think you have it figured out in the middle, but I guarantee that you don't know who the killer is!

    30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    Couldn't put it down!

    This was the first book I downloaded on the nook I received as a gift for Mother's Day, and it was a Free Friday download! I am more of a historical romance kind of girl, so if it hadn't been free, I probably wouldn't have read it. I am so glad I did. I loved it. Kept me on the edge of my chair. The author really let you get to know the characters. I liked the way there were several stories going on in the beginning and they all came together so well at the end.

    27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    It's not great literature, but that's not what you except from a

    It's not great literature, but that's not what you except from a political thriller. The plot was fast moving enough to keep the reader interested, and light enough for vacation reading.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, Great Story!

    I got this on my Nook as part of a Free Friday download, so not only is a free book good, but when then the book is a great read, it's the perfect deal.

    This book took a little bit to reel me in and at first I was afraid it wasn't going to happen. I'm glad I stuck with it because once it does grab you it's worth the wait. The characters don't necessarily stand out but they're interesting and the author does a good job of keeping them and their storylines fresh throughout the book. Sometimes I'll forget who someone is or what their role is if they disappear from the story for a while.

    The ending ties almost everything together. Some closure seems to be implied but it would have been nice to see it in writing. This is far from a comlaint because I really did like the book and would recommend buying it.

    This download also came with an excerpt from the author's new book that was just released. I'll be checking that out too. Very satisfying read

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    I see a lot of people complaining about Harriet. You want B&

    I see a lot of people complaining about Harriet. You want B&N to do something about it. I don't understand why you bother reading her reviews.You don't have to.

    15 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    children .

    Dear children who only like your own opinion. Many of us who read the free friday reviews are senior citizens and do attend senior centers so we can talk to others who learned our lesson on what freedom of speech is. Harriet is interesting to me. I dont mind knowing the complete plot before i read. Dont you ever reread a favorite book. If her reviews or as you call them book reports are abhorrant to you exercise some willpower and dont read them. I find your rants obsurb but entertaining just try not to be so childish in your attacks. Sincerely yours. A senior citizen who likes details.

    13 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    This is the first book that I read by Philip Margolin and I was impressed with his writing style. The story was face paced and never dull. Unfortunately, the end was a bit predictable but still worth reading. Will look at other books by this author.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    None

    I am a voracious reader who has read many authors of many genres. I had never read Phillip Margolin but, needing something to read, I picked up Executive Privilege in a grocery store of all unlikely places. I must say I was completely won over by his exciting style and level of intrigue. I, too, plan to read as many more of his works as I can find and I don't expect to be disappointed. I feel he easily fits into the cliff-hanger category of writers and recommend him as a responsible and exciting author.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good read

    Good read, and great character development

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    Characters Piece by Piece research kept me reading.

    I enjoyed the detective work and the way eventually a lawyer, cop, and FBI agent come to the same conclusion in the case. Able to make connection on how the characters felt in their experiences and past. Great read, and it was free!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Harriet

    I think she gets a thrill out of ruining the books for other people!

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tenable tale!

    Margolin has another winner. It's an easy read...with an emotion grabbing topic...topped off with a somewhat surprising...but satisfying...ending. Too bad today's reality hasn't involved more fictional conclusions.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    I Loved It.

    What a roller coaster of a book, I loved it. Who did it? Was it the President of the US? It couldn't have been. I read this in one sitting. I won't give a way any juicy details, but as I got halfway though the book, I knew who did it. Read it, I think you will enjoy it. Phillip Margolin never disappoints.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    This book is awesome.

    This book is a really good page turner.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    What a treat!

    Novels such as this are such gems to come across! Turn off your Blackberry, send your spouse out of town, and be prepared for a nonstop read, because you WON'T be able to walk away until you finish. I've enjoyed Mr. Margolin's other novels, but this has a freshness and rapid-but-understandable pace that you look for. Just hope someone has purchased the movie rights!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    A surprising Thriller

    A good fun book with a lot of good twists. Had not read any of the authors books before, but will read others in the future. Makes you wonder about what really does go on in the White House of our great country. The ending is a bit of a surprise. Enjoy this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    I am a big fan!

    I love his books. The are suspenseful with a twist at the end. If you are looking for a talented writer of suspense Phillip Margolin is the one!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 584 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30