Customer Reviews for

The Exile: An Outlander Graphic Novel

Average Rating 3
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Great graphic novel

After being in exile from his beloved Scotland for seemingly forever, in 1743 Jamie Fraser is returning home though he knows the danger he will face in war torn Scotland. His godfather Murtagh will do what he can to keep Jamie safe because of a death pledge he made to ...
After being in exile from his beloved Scotland for seemingly forever, in 1743 Jamie Fraser is returning home though he knows the danger he will face in war torn Scotland. His godfather Murtagh will do what he can to keep Jamie safe because of a death pledge he made to the lad's late parents, but he also knows British Captain Black Jack Randall has a large bounty for the head of Jamie.-----------------

Meanwhile the MacKenzie clan disputes the return of Jamie. The chieftain Jamie's Uncle Colum, demands his nephew choose between death and fealty while war chieftain Uncle Dougal demands his death. However, strange, stubborn and beautiful Claire Randall appears out of nowhere; convoluting the return of the prodigal Scot. He saves her life and wants her as does his vicious enemy Randall. Murtagh believes she is an Old Ones' envoy; Randall asserts she is a spy; the feuding uncles believe she is a danger; and Jamie offers his heart even knowing he has hers in spite of also believing she hides something critical from him.----------

This graphic rendition of the original Outlander saga is refreshed by Hoang Nguyen's terrific pictures and told from Jamie's side as opposed to the original mostly seen from the WWII displaced Claire. The story line is filled with action from the onset, but also lacks the time travel aspects that made the original haunting as the key elements of Claire's husband is two centuries in the future while she falls in love with the enemy of her spouse's ancestor remains in the background. Thus this leads to a strong historical saga that fans of the long running series. Readers will appreciate the well written return of the Exile in graphic form; newcomers will enjoy the work, but should start with the original novel (see The Outlander).--------------------

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

An appalling waste of time.

Waiting for The Exile was long and not worth the time to read, the paper used for printing, or the cost of the book. I have read all of the Outlander books and found this book shameful to the great characters of Jamie and Claire, and their legacy. Jamie and Claire hav...
Waiting for The Exile was long and not worth the time to read, the paper used for printing, or the cost of the book. I have read all of the Outlander books and found this book shameful to the great characters of Jamie and Claire, and their legacy. Jamie and Claire have been downsized to nothing more than simpletons and reduced to a bad comic strip and nothing more.

The inconsistencies in Hoang Nguyen illustrations are constant throughout the book; starting with Jamie looking like a person in the beginning and in the end looking like Speed Racer; and, that includes Claire. Ms. Gabaldon tries to write away the changes of these characters with a laugh in her text in the back of the book does not help matters; including downplaying the size of Claire's breasts. This does not change the simple fact that as an illustrator continuity is essential in making your characters believable. Going from the front to the back of the book, my questions during reading and looking at the illustrations were "who is that now?"

This book was very disappointing and somewhere along the way Ms. Gabaldon you should have taken back control of your characters and found a better illustrator that would have stayed true to your written words. Personally, I would like a refund!

posted by 4756620 on September 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    An appalling waste of time.

    Waiting for The Exile was long and not worth the time to read, the paper used for printing, or the cost of the book. I have read all of the Outlander books and found this book shameful to the great characters of Jamie and Claire, and their legacy. Jamie and Claire have been downsized to nothing more than simpletons and reduced to a bad comic strip and nothing more.

    The inconsistencies in Hoang Nguyen illustrations are constant throughout the book; starting with Jamie looking like a person in the beginning and in the end looking like Speed Racer; and, that includes Claire. Ms. Gabaldon tries to write away the changes of these characters with a laugh in her text in the back of the book does not help matters; including downplaying the size of Claire's breasts. This does not change the simple fact that as an illustrator continuity is essential in making your characters believable. Going from the front to the back of the book, my questions during reading and looking at the illustrations were "who is that now?"

    This book was very disappointing and somewhere along the way Ms. Gabaldon you should have taken back control of your characters and found a better illustrator that would have stayed true to your written words. Personally, I would like a refund!

    44 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    Big disappointment for Gabaldon fans -- don't spend your money on this one

    Tries to cram too much into the graphic format, wildly inconsistent pictures of Jamie, Claire, and others. Puzzling new subplot introduced. All in all -- hard as it is to wait, this book doesn't add enough to the Outlander series to justify the cost. And the book's later images of Jamie are just awful -- he looks like Dudley Dooright with red hair. Ick.

    And -- I note in passing that the highest-rated positive review was posted more than a month before the release date. Suggest you read the reviews of Gabaldon fans who actually read the book before deciding to buy it.

    Marion K.

    31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    NOT WORTH YOUR TIME

    Having read the Outlander Series and loved every book, I wasn't sure what to expect with a graphic novel. In my opinion, it in NO way complimented the series. It was cheesie and immature. A huge disappointment. I'll continue to wait for the next book.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Cliffs Notes

    I read all 6 Outlander books, in a row, since I was introduced to them last summer. I loved the time, the characters, the romance and adventure. This book was not marketed for what it is: A comic book of Outlander. It lacks depth. It lacks any sort of original storyline. If you haven't already read Outlander you would be somewhat lost. If you have, then there is no point. The art was even hard to follow. The characters all looked alike. The only way I could identify them was the color of their tartan. Sorry Ms. Gabaldon, a more original storyline or at very least, a more realistic summary of the book (This is Cliffs Notes for people who can't read 800 pages) would have stopped me from spending my money.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    I Love Gabaldon-but hated this graphic novel

    Diana Gabaldon is my favorite author. I have "devoured" all of her books... except this "Graphic Novel".
    I thought the Illustrations were poor... and the "comic book" writing style (for me) was beyond awful.

    Diana, if you read (or get feed-back) regarding reviews.... Please (I beg you) to ignore everything else and get your next novel finished.
    I have re-read all your novels "twice"... and I am salivating for your next book.

    Originally, I thought you were just being kind to a "relative" by letting them illustrate "The Exile" (using a pen name)... because the graphic novel art is simply awful and
    the "comic book" style writing is a bore.

    After you finish writing the next and ALL "Outlander" books,.... I would love to see a Novel, (not a Graphic Novel), written by YOU, regarding Jamie's perspective... true to the original "Outlander" book. or books.

    But, for now.... Please, please, please,.... finish writing the next book in the Outlander series.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    The Exile by Diana Gabaldon

    I'm very disappointed in the book. They should not have changed the storyline. It was like reading a Japanese comic book very disappointing I have read the first five books 5 times. Her last two books were not as good as the first five. I have given the book's as gifts to many people I do not recommend buying the book. She needs to get back to the basic story. The story that everyone fell in love with















    .

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AN UNPLEASANT SURPRISE

    I am an avid reader and a Gabaldon fan. I read all her books and I recognize that not all of her novels deserve a five star rating not even a four such in the case of her first book in the Lord John series. But there is something about her writing that is pivotal: Character development. In Outlander, Gabaldon spends pages painting the physical features, attributes, and personality traits that make her characters unique and unforgettable.
    When in a graphic novel, it's obvious we will not find her beautiful narrative, because, it's a blend of graphics and words. But I never expected to find a story so uninteresting, filled with a new convoluted plot, as the new time traveler, which lead to nowhere other than to a dead end.
    The main characters, Jaime and Claire, sound dumb, very far away from the witty, sharp, and educated loving individuals we came to know through her seven novels.

    The artwork looks promising until we hit page four. Slowly, the defined features of the characters begin to fade into pudgy, goofy looking, comic strip drawings. All the men look the same and the women seem to suffer from an overdose of hormones, especially Claire, that make their breast look like the centerfold picture of a Playboy magazine.

    All in all, I don't recommend this graphic novel since it is a far cry from Gabaldon's excellent abilities as a writer and does an utter disservice to the beautiful Outlander series.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Disappointed

    I had not realized that this was a comic book. I thought it was a rewrite of the Outlander from Jamie's point of view. If I had known, I would not have purchased this book. The graphics were beautiful but I wanted to read a book not a comic strip. I would not recommend this.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Extremely disappointing

    This was a total disappointment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    Don't waste your money, BIG Diana Gabaldon rip-off

    Sell-out. I love the Diana Gabaldon Outlander series. Every book is an enjoyment. This was an attempt to use Diana Gabaldon's fame to make money on a comic book that could not have stood on its own with original characters. Shame on you Diana and Random House Publishing Group.
    I would recommend this book(?) to readers who like comic books and bright and shiny things.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    Beautiful cover.

    I pre=ordered it.As much as I love the Outlander series. I found the graphic book Just a bit too graphic. I intended to give it to my granddaughter, but I hid in the closet. I just got it on friday, and found the book very attractive and the story line reads like another book or two may be in the works. As in the Lord John series, I know how different people approach sex ,but I think that reading how they go about it is too much .I am not a book burner, but I was tempted.

    I am returning the Exile back. But I am looking forward to how Jenny Murray is going to fit into the next book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Awful.

    Just awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    I could not believe that the 7th book of the Outlander Series st

    I could not believe that the 7th book of the Outlander Series still left you hanging, with unfinished stories, and no hope of a future book to finish off the series in a grand style !

    This should have been the finale to the outlander series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    What a disappointment!!

    After reading Diana Gabaldons enthralling Outlander series I was so excited to see there was a book written from Jamies point of view. I ordered it and much to my surprise, it was written as a comic book!! I was extremely disappointed and put it down after the first two chapters. This doesn't even rate a star as far as I am concerned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    cant read it

    After I bought it, I received a message saying that it isnt available on this device (my iPad). maybe they couldve mentioned that before i paid $12.99 for an ebook!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    What a rip off

    ordered this book for my e-reader. Can't open it. What a waste of money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    can't go any lower

    I tried to down load this book for nook and could not!!!!! I use Ipad2 and cna not use it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    Disappointing

    As an avid Outlander reader I am most disappointed that Gabaldon wasted time with this type of book. It may be OK for those who were not anxiously waiting to see the next adventures of Jamie and Clair, Brianna and Roger; and what happened to their son, Jeremiah!! Please return to your series and let us know what happens next!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    A huge disappointment!!!!

    I am a big fan of the Outlander series, and came to like the Lord John series. I was looking forward to reading Jamie's point of view in The Exile. I wish I'd saved my money. This book was awful, confusing and the pictures were adolescent. Basically a hardcover comic book. If Ms. Gabaldon wanted to write a grafic novel, she should have used a new storyline. This "rehash" was a BIG letdown. Ms. Gabaldon would be best served to concentrate on the Outlander series. Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    graphic novel was a complete dud

    I am a devoted fan of Diana but this graphic novel was a complete dud. It seems like Diana is just trying to make easy money off of a good story line with these short stories/novels. I was so disappointed with this novel and the cartoons!!! She needs to get back to the series, which I love, and not make us wait 2 to 3 years between books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2