Customer Reviews for

Exile

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Exile, As Timely as Today's Headlines

    Exile is an intensely human analysis of the Israeli-Palestinian "peace process." Told through the eyes of the child of a Holocaust survivor and the children of Palestinian refugees, we see both sides of the intensely intricate, immensely complex problems that Israel faces in trying to reach any kind of accord between its Jewish and Arab citizens. Each side sees the problem through its own lens, unable to recognize any other viewpoint. <BR/><BR/>Far more than political cut-outs, the characters in Exile are real people for whom the reader cares and wishes a happy resolution. Patterson explores the motives of two suicide bombers and the unlikely allies in a convoluted plot to assassinate Israel's peace-loving prime minister. The turns in the plot makes the book hard to put down, with an intriquing twist that sets up an explosive ending.<BR/><BR/>All in all, Patterson gives us plenty to digest. The characters are real and round. The plot is as timely as Israel's attack on Gaza. After reading Exile, I was not in the least surprised by the results of Israel's recent election. Patterson gives an interesting, entertaining history lesson that explains current events and the status of the Middle East "peace process."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Crypt

    "Email me on your phone..."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Rose - Crypt

    Go to 'Exile' Result Four. Should be one before this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    great read

    was intriqued by the amount of things that could go on with getting the senate/congress and new president

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    I love this book

    A great read could hardly put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Well Written Propaganda

    Mr. Patterson is undoubtedly a great writer. This story has an interesting plot, if you can overlook both his anti-Israel bias and politically correct, but highly inaccurate view of Palestinians. A few great historical facts on the ongoing conflict are interesting, but overshadowed by his clear personal agenda to promote a very biased world view.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous read!

    I have given this book as a present to at least a dozen of my friends and relatives. In a nutshell: It unravels the Palestinian-Israeli conflict in a fabulously easy read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    The case for israel and Palestine!

    Richard Patterson has written an exciting tale about a non-practicing Jewish lawyer and a Palestian women. The tale enfolds surrounded by the turmoil of the Middle East. The author has captured the significant issues between Israel and Palestine in a clever way that is both intriguing and thrilling to read. The book takes unexpected twists and turns but always keeps the issue of humanity at the forefront. It is a lenghty but readable book that I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling, sensitive, and thoughtful

    Exile is my first Patterson fiction novel. Outstanding read. His insightful and fair treatment of both sides of the Palestinian/Israeli ongoing conflict takes you through the intricate backgrounds of each side's torcherous struggle and history. The result of trekking through this odyssey step-by-step defuses virtually all unfounded bias or discrimination of both peoples. It took a bit of tenacity to hold on reading until the story got traction, but very well worth it. A must read for today's global person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Glad I didn't put it down.

    Started off slow, but then it takes a real "grabber" to get me right off, in the first 25 pages. VERY GLAD I didn't put it down, because after the first 100 pages I couldn't put it down. Interesting treatment of Middle East situation. Sensitive, understanding, an eye-opener. Drives home the fact that we all need to be open to each others' experiences - not necessarily agree with views of interpretations of those expierences - but open enough to at least listen. That goes for everyone. The ending was logical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    Excellent novel addressing the Palestinian/Israeli conflict

    Patterson addresses the Palestinian/Israeli conflict through the novel form. It is an excellent and thoughful book that looks at all sides of the issues with empathy. All of Patterson's novels are very good and in recent years he has beeen taking on more controversial political topics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So Much More Than Fiction!!

    I admit that I am not a "demanding" reader - not a "pick it appart" critic. But I am an avid reader who enjoys the hunt for and the discovery of fiction treasure. Exile is such a novel. This was my first work by RN Patterson and I was blown away. His relentless and thorough research and interview process was evident. I not only was entertained and captivated, but also experienced the bonus of some great insight into US - Middle East relations and history. It has caused me to "Google" things like Hamas, al-Aqsa Martyrs' Brigades, Fatah, West Bank . . . I now have a real thirst for these catch phrases I have heard on the news for decades, and are now illuminated by the light of RN Patterson's brilliant novel.<BR/><BR/>This book had something for everybody . . . be you male or female, academic or Joe the plumber, combat tested or homemaker tested, religious or agnostic. I I hated it to end!!! <BR/><BR/>Now I am actually fearful of choosing my next book because RNP has set the bar so high! I am sure that I will get over my shopping anxiety . . . . I hope. Read or listen to "Exile" but do NOT ignore it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Splendid

    Great Book! One of the few by Patterson that i enjoyed. Great developement, very intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    3000 year struggle

    This book is very educational with a very good plot. It brings the reader to a personal level of the ongoing struggle between the Israeli-Palestianian cultures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Excellent educational opportunity

    The Exile is filled with knowledge about the conflict we hear about every day. It gives us the human aspect that news reports cannot convey. I learned more about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict from this book than from all the newscasts. He is an excellent writer who obviously researches his subjects very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Exile

    A thoughtful tale by talented author Richard North Patterson that offers a look into both sides of the present day terror issue as seen by the people who live it and those who, like most Americans, are removed from it by distance and politics. Attorney David Wolfe is confronted with a problem that has the power to destroy the life he has built and the future he hopes for when Hana Arif, a love from the past, steps back into his life. She is Palestinian and he is Jewish, she committed to the cause of a homeland and he only to a personal future and success. They manage to overcome their differences and fall in love, but it is a relationship they both know is going nowhere. She is engaged to a Palestinian and in the end marries him and disappears from David's life. Until the day he gets the call because she is in trouble. An important Israeli leader has been killed by a suicide bomber and she is suspected of being involved. And David must decide whether to help her or not, a decision that could turn his entire life upside down. Should he help her? David is tormented by this question over and over because he was also a witness to the explosion that killed the Israeli leader who had been working to bring peace to the Middle East. If David helps Hana, he risks being isolated from all he knows even though she has the right under the law to his help as a lawyer. I'm pleased to recommend this well told tale to any reader who is open minded enough to look at both sides of an argument and its adherents whose hate keep it alive. This is a book whose characters you won't soon forget. Enjoy. I sure did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    You will not want the book to end

    This novel provides a great story along with perspectives to which anyone in America should be exposed. I have two chapters to go and while I want to read it I also wish it would continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Absolutely Outstanding

    I believe this book should be reccomended reading for everyone. It opens your eyes to both sides of the Palestinian -Jewish-Arab conflict. I found the book most compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2007

    A page turner

    The beginning of Exile makes you think you are reading the daily newspaper. An unusual and intriguing relationship forms the basis for this complicated novel which acts as a teacher for the reader to understand the Palestinian position and some small explanations of the Israeli position. There was an imbalance here which should have been rectified before publication. It is, however, a book hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    Intellectually Compelling

    I have read many of Patterson's books, and find him to be one of the finest and most intelligent authors out there. He is definitely one or my favorite writers. I have two minor reservations about this outstanding story. I'm not sure that I wouldn't have been happier with a shorter and less detailed visit of the hero to the Middle East. But I must admit it gave me new insights into the profound difficulties of that region. Unlike many of his previous books, this one sort of ended with a whimper rather than the bang I expected. But the ending and the whole story work. What more can you ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3