Customer Reviews for

Exile

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Exile, As Timely as Today's Headlines

    Exile is an intensely human analysis of the Israeli-Palestinian "peace process." Told through the eyes of the child of a Holocaust survivor and the children of Palestinian refugees, we see both sides of the intensely intricate, immensely complex problems that Israel faces in trying to reach any kind of accord between its Jewish and Arab citizens. Each side sees the problem through its own lens, unable to recognize any other viewpoint. <BR/><BR/>Far more than political cut-outs, the characters in Exile are real people for whom the reader cares and wishes a happy resolution. Patterson explores the motives of two suicide bombers and the unlikely allies in a convoluted plot to assassinate Israel's peace-loving prime minister. The turns in the plot makes the book hard to put down, with an intriquing twist that sets up an explosive ending.<BR/><BR/>All in all, Patterson gives us plenty to digest. The characters are real and round. The plot is as timely as Israel's attack on Gaza. After reading Exile, I was not in the least surprised by the results of Israel's recent election. Patterson gives an interesting, entertaining history lesson that explains current events and the status of the Middle East "peace process."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Rose - Crypt

    Go to 'Exile' Result Four. Should be one before this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    great read

    was intriqued by the amount of things that could go on with getting the senate/congress and new president

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Glad I didn't put it down.

    Started off slow, but then it takes a real "grabber" to get me right off, in the first 25 pages. VERY GLAD I didn't put it down, because after the first 100 pages I couldn't put it down. Interesting treatment of Middle East situation. Sensitive, understanding, an eye-opener. Drives home the fact that we all need to be open to each others' experiences - not necessarily agree with views of interpretations of those expierences - but open enough to at least listen. That goes for everyone. The ending was logical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Exile

    A thoughtful tale by talented author Richard North Patterson that offers a look into both sides of the present day terror issue as seen by the people who live it and those who, like most Americans, are removed from it by distance and politics. Attorney David Wolfe is confronted with a problem that has the power to destroy the life he has built and the future he hopes for when Hana Arif, a love from the past, steps back into his life. She is Palestinian and he is Jewish, she committed to the cause of a homeland and he only to a personal future and success. They manage to overcome their differences and fall in love, but it is a relationship they both know is going nowhere. She is engaged to a Palestinian and in the end marries him and disappears from David's life. Until the day he gets the call because she is in trouble. An important Israeli leader has been killed by a suicide bomber and she is suspected of being involved. And David must decide whether to help her or not, a decision that could turn his entire life upside down. Should he help her? David is tormented by this question over and over because he was also a witness to the explosion that killed the Israeli leader who had been working to bring peace to the Middle East. If David helps Hana, he risks being isolated from all he knows even though she has the right under the law to his help as a lawyer. I'm pleased to recommend this well told tale to any reader who is open minded enough to look at both sides of an argument and its adherents whose hate keep it alive. This is a book whose characters you won't soon forget. Enjoy. I sure did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Admirable Undertaking

    To write a novel that undertakes the entire scope of Mid-East politics and history is quite an achievement. Here, author Richard North Patterson has given us a really good novel as well as fair a look at the region's rivalries as is likely to come. For about the first 300 pages I thought the story crackled as a fine crime novel, but when the main character takes off for the Middle East, the author gets caught up in his attempt to be fair and tell everybody's story. He loses the narrative to a recitation of facts that often had my eyes glazing over. Yet when he returns to trial, the book picks back up. One might say his surprise is not so surprising, but he does carry off his story well. As a trial lawyer myself, I often cringe at books that take huge liberties with reality, especially when they are written by lawyers who should know better. Patterson rarely gets me cringing, although I would say that the prosecutor in this case would never have been allowed to say some of the things she did in her opening statement, and I do wonder why this lawyer, who travelled the Mid-East interviewing people, never once interviewed the main witness who stayed locked up in San Francisco the whole time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Another Hit!

    Mr. Patterson does it again! Book after book Patterson delivers the goods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1