BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Exile

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2007

    A great book full of historic information

    I loved this book!! I can't say that enough. I found the history between Israel and Palestine to be fascinating and presented in a very unbaised format. The story is truly gripping and you won't want to put it down. I love Richard North Patterson and think he has really captured the essence of the conflict in the Middle East. A MUST read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    Blah

    I was a bit disappointed with this book. From all the great reviews, I was looking forward to an exciting adventure. What I actually found was myself turning the pages without reading them (which I never do) to fast forward to the ending, which was perdictible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    An excellent, well written story . . . .

    I have followed Richard North Patterson's writings for a long time now, and in my mind 'Exile' has catalputed him into the forefront as one of my most favored authors, along with Nelson Demille and John Grisham. I know 'Exile' is fiction, but the Muslim/Jewish conflict is rooted in history and frankly something I have never had a clear understanding of. This book has brought the issue to the forefront and given me more understanding and sympathies for both sides. Mr. Patterson, I anxiously await your next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    great reading

    this book is the best book i've read thus far, and the first by richard north patterson. It has every aspect of suspense and mystery. i reccomended to anyone who enjoys reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Admirable Undertaking

    To write a novel that undertakes the entire scope of Mid-East politics and history is quite an achievement. Here, author Richard North Patterson has given us a really good novel as well as fair a look at the region's rivalries as is likely to come. For about the first 300 pages I thought the story crackled as a fine crime novel, but when the main character takes off for the Middle East, the author gets caught up in his attempt to be fair and tell everybody's story. He loses the narrative to a recitation of facts that often had my eyes glazing over. Yet when he returns to trial, the book picks back up. One might say his surprise is not so surprising, but he does carry off his story well. As a trial lawyer myself, I often cringe at books that take huge liberties with reality, especially when they are written by lawyers who should know better. Patterson rarely gets me cringing, although I would say that the prosecutor in this case would never have been allowed to say some of the things she did in her opening statement, and I do wonder why this lawyer, who travelled the Mid-East interviewing people, never once interviewed the main witness who stayed locked up in San Francisco the whole time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    Definitley his best book yet!

    I don't usually read books like this, but I was mesmerized by this story. I loved the David Wolfe character, and would like to see a sequel to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Another Hit!

    Mr. Patterson does it again! Book after book Patterson delivers the goods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A really good book

    With a shot at his making Congress, San Francisco attorney David Wolfe should say no all his advisors and his fiancée Carole Shorr tell him that taking the case is political suicide. Still David cannot refuse his former lover, Palestinian Hana Arif, when she asks him to defend her against conspiracy charges that she was a key player in the assassination of peace seeking Israeli Prime Minister Amos Ben-Aron. David thinks back to when they attended Harvard Law School together thirteen years ago he the American-Jew and her the Palestinian shared a torrid love affair though she was engaged to Palestinian activist Saeb Khalid.--------------- Suicide bomber Ibrahim Jefar has given testimony that incriminates Hana in the bombing making the case that much more difficult to gain an acquittal and the media already has hung her. Still David diligently works on Hana¿s defense in spite of his participation threatening his engagement especially since her father is a firm Zionist having survived the Holocaust and destroying his Congressional aspirations.--------------- The cast is solid as just about every potential position on the Israeli-Palestine conflict seems reasonably represented by full blooded intelligent individuals even without events like the recent Gaza and Hezbollah wars mentioned. The trial is terrific as the audience further obtains varying viewpoints. However, when David races to the Middle East to prove a different conspiracy theory than that of the prosecution, the story line loses some of its lucidity and strength as it turns into a cartoonish thriller. Still this is a strong tale that focuses justly on one of the most complex crisis still boiling as if it is 1948 instead of the twenty first century.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3