BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Existence

Average Rating 4.5
( 375 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(246)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

whoa what an ending!

Pagan is starting her senior year of school off to a bad start. Not only does the ¿soul¿ she sees outside of school the first day follow her into her classroom, but he has the nerve to be gorgeous and actually talk to her. No souls have ever talked to her. Ever since sh...
Pagan is starting her senior year of school off to a bad start. Not only does the ¿soul¿ she sees outside of school the first day follow her into her classroom, but he has the nerve to be gorgeous and actually talk to her. No souls have ever talked to her. Ever since she was little she has seen them, wondering aimlessly through life. But none have ever talked to her. Then to top off the talking soul, Leif, jock and class A jerk, asks Pagan for tutoring. Yeah, that¿s the last thing she wants to do, is have to help this arrogant jock her last year.

But once Pagan and Leif start their study sessions, she realizes she was wrong about him, that he is actually a good guy. Then something else weird happens, her talkative-soul-friend, well he actually starts attended school and now everyone can see him. Is Pagan going mental? And if not, why is she falling for this mysterious soul?

Where oh where do I start? Lastnight (New Year¿s Eve) I decided to bring in the New Year reading Miss Glines¿ newest book. To me that is the best celebration I could do. (You don¿t get out much with a hubby that has to work the next day and 3 young kids). I wasn¿t planning on reviewing Existence cause I have like 12 other reviews lined up. But once I finished the last word of the story I knew I had to say something.

Loved Pagan, she is a smart chick with a good head on her shoulders. I like seeing girls in stories that are smart, but not overly. You want them to be believable and relatable, and Pagan is. Now the guys in the story are both hot and gorgeous and absolutely swoon worthy. I had a hard time choosing between Dank and Leif. Yeah how adorable are those names? But as the story went on, I felt myself gravitating more towards Dank. Even with him trying to push her away, you can¿t help but want him.

The storyline was definitely different than any I have read and I truly look forward to the next book in the series, Predestined. And after that cliffhanger of all cliffhangers, you will too. *Runs back to read the last paragraph one more time* Yep, it¿s a biggie! Existence was the perfect book to ring in the New Year and a must read for all readers!

posted by twimom101 on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I know I'm not from the majority, and I don't come to criticize

I know I'm not from the majority, and I don't come to criticize anyone who likes it, but I disliked this book. 
It’s not often I give books one-star, and perhaps I'm being a bit tough on the book because I had such great expectations from it, but I really did not enjoy ...
I know I'm not from the majority, and I don't come to criticize anyone who likes it, but I disliked this book. 
It’s not often I give books one-star, and perhaps I'm being a bit tough on the book because I had such great expectations from it, but I really did not enjoy reading it.
I thought the relationships sprang out of nowhere, the main character was intolerable; using people, getting into a mental hospital once the guy she claims to be in love with (that she's known only a few weeks) disappears from her life, the climax one of the most disappointing ones I've read in a long time, and everything was, to me, pretty shallow.
I feel sad that I see nothing of what everyone else see in this book, but that’s just the way it is…
As I didn’t like it, I don’t recommend it, but I acknowledge the fact a lot of other people adore it, so you might like it regardless of my opinion…

posted by Katia-Drugs_Called_Books on December 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 375 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Xxxxx

    Basic high school love triangle. Would have been fine, but why make the girl such a weak minded, fearful basketcase? Really didnt like the characters or their interactions and the heroine is presented as a goody two shoes who cant bear to disappoint anyone and has a complete meltdown over a boy she cant or shouldnt have. Ok for teens, but a bit boring for anyone older.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    MUST READ

    Searching for another trilogy to engulf your time?! Here it is! This trilogy was soooo hard to put down! It is a must read. Similiar if you like the Twilighy trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ¿My beautiful soul,¿he murmured and caressed my cheek.¿When you

    “My beautiful soul,”he murmured and caressed my cheek.”When you made the ultimate, selfless sacrifice, it paid my wrong.You proved to be worthy of my devotion.Of Death’s…love.”
    ¿ Abbi Glines, Existence

    What do you do when Death is stalking you? Especially when Death has dark good looks and piercing blue eyes that scorch your soul?

    Pagan Moore thought he was just your average, everyday soul, that is until he speaks to her. No other soul has ever spoken to her, they can’t, but he can. He follows her around and smirks at her with his sexy dimple and sarcastic comments. To top it all off the star quarterback has a thing for her as well.

    Pagan has never liked Lief Anderson. She thinks he is a stuck up prep who has bad taste in girlfriends. Pagan ends up tutoring Lief out of a sense of obligation. During their tutoring sessions, Pagan see’s a side of Lief that she never thought he had. She actually likes him…a lot.

    During all of this he is still following her. He comes into her room at night and sings her to sleep with his haunting lullaby. Then one day Pagan is upset because Lief seems to have something going on with his ex. Distraught Pagan decides to leave school, he begs her not to go, but she goes anyway. She ends up in a car accident and that is when her life changes…

    Strangely beautiful girls are trying to kill her, the soul that was following her ends up being no other than Dank Miller, the lead singer of Cold Soul, and try as she might she does not love Lief…she loves him. Pagan is not sure what is going on, but one thing is certain, Dank Miller is in the center of it. Dank is very intense and he can set her body on fire with just a glance, but why does he keep pushing her away?

    Pagan knows what she wants. Can she convince Dank that he wants her as well? Or is there other things at work?

    Abbi Glines tells a gripping story that will keep you burning the midnight oil until you reach the last page. Existence is a hypnotic tell with swoon worthy men, loyal sidekicks, crazy voodoo and obnoxious cheerleaders. This book will have you laughing, crying, yelling, and snorting! Death, love, teenage angst, and ghosts? Get ready for the greatest story of your existence!
    Existence by Abbi Glines (Existence #1)
    Read an excerpt

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Wow

    Let me just say I was not going to read this book but so glad I did. (Nods) it was so good!! Now off to the next book in the series for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    From the costumer reviews, i have noticed that more costumes ado

    From the costumer reviews, i have noticed that more costumes adores this book. I only read romance or paranormal romance. I really hope this book is worth my time and money, i would be very disappointed if it doesnt reach to the positive expectations. I am a serious book junkie, but by looks of the summaries given it seems this book is the right pick. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Favorite author

    Amazing,iloved the plot and literal pagan references. Such a joy to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Not impressed

    The book was okay. I knida expected more and felt like the story kept dragging. I really just wanted the story to just get to the point. But i will read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    AMAZING

    THIS BOOK WAS MORE THAN AMAZING! I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN! THIS BOOK IS BETGER THAN 5 STARS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    LOVED IT!!

    This book was amazing! I've read the whole serries three time snow and can't get enough of it! Truely amazing and both the guys in this book are woah! I swear Abby Glines always creates the most droolworthy males! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Love it!

    A must read. Lots of twists and turns. Hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    I am still waiting for Dank to show up and sing me to sleep. In

    I am still waiting for Dank to show up and sing me to sleep.
    In all seriousness though, I could not think about anything other than reading this book all of the time. I read the entire series in about 2.5 days.
    Thank you, Abbi Glines. You have set the bar really high for men in real life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series Start!

    Pagan sees the wandering souls of those who have died and has for as long as she can remember. Now it should be Pagan's time to die, but Death defies the Deity and saves her life. Why? Because he is in love with her and he isn't the grim reaper type, he is handsome, Drop dead gorgeous, so to speak, and a singer in a band.

    Meanwhile, the star quarterback of the football team is also falling for Pagan. Add in the bubbly best friend, and good plot and you have a great YA read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    'Existence' by Abbi Glines? I'd read the blurb, thought it migh

    'Existence' by Abbi Glines?

    I'd read the blurb, thought it might be an alright read, something to pass the time...
    I was wrong.
    I loved every single second of this book! Once I started 'Existence' I was completely HOOKED ^_^
    - I read the whole series in the shortest time imaginable... and each book was it's own.

    'Existence' is a fabulous book when it comes to evoking empathy; it really is so easy to understand how Pagan is feeling =)
    All in all I've now discovered the wonderful world of Abbi Glines - and there's going to be no dragging me back out of it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Truely amazing!

    This book is on of those books you could never put down. Say good by to facebook,twitter,and any other plans you have, because this book is tha good, you won't want to do anything other than sit back an read this amazing romantic adventure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    'Existence' had me enthralled from the moment I read the descrip

    'Existence' had me enthralled from the moment I read the description. The characters are sharp and realistic, giving it a certain edginess. The flaring details kept me drooling mentally, and by the end I had been looking frantically for the sequel. Leif, the typical quarterback character, paired with dyslexia gave him a uniqueness that set him apart from cliche characters. Pagan, a 'medium' in my words, was quite endearing, sweet and, at times, beyond interesting. It may sound a bit fan-girl like, but my absolutely favorite character was the dashing Dank. He had me laughing, crying (especially when he sang to her in the rehab center), and singing along with his lullaby to Pagan.
    'Existence' has had me on the edge of my seat, wanting as well as needing more to sneak away and read. Excellent job, Mrs. Glines!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Woah.

    Let me just admit, I was hooked from the summary. It was a different idea that hasn't been overdone (who isn't tired of vampires?) and I figured I'd bite. After reading the free preview, I was hooked, immediately buying it. At first, I just figured this would be a light read, some good book that had a fairly good plot and characters and what-have-yous. However, it didn't take long for the story to take off.

    There's a sense of realism about the characters, even with the supernatural element of seeing souls. But let me get to the real reason this was so great.

    Dank. Holy crap. The boy is amazing. And not in the "Oooo, I'm an Adonis who can do no wrong, love me!" type. He's got just the right level of care, with a dash of arrogance and possessiveness, mixed all in with a whole lot of tortured 'soul.' Loved him from entrance number one.

    And Pagan, unlike other supernatural romances I've read where the lead character is some weakling in constant awe of her beau, is quite headstrong, even with all the insanity going around her. She has pretty realistic reactions and doesn't take everything in stride like it's normal. Things really do get to her, she breaks down a few times, she hurts, she worries, she doesn't listen all the time. Point is: she acts like a real teenage girl.

    Also an impressive note, there's reactions from those around her! It isn't like she's in her own little world all of the time and no one notices all the insanity; people actually react and she has to come up with excuses for her odd behavior. I've missed such interactions among characters...clearly it's been a while since I've read a good book!

    Now, even with all that amazing character development and what have yous, one of the biggest things for me (when deciding whether to recommend the book or not and whether it was worth it or not) is the ending. And. Oh. My. Gosh. What an ending! Probably one of the most unexpected cliffhangers I've read in a long time! I'm sure you've all read stories with cliffhangers in the middle of actions scenes or something and, let's be honest, if you read a lot, you've kind of came to expect cliffhangers sometimes. But I was completely blindside by this, and not in the bad way where it makes so sense.

    In fact, I believe I'll read it again just because that's how I am when surprises are revealed.

    After, of course, checking for a sequel.

    READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    this book has you guessing and just when you are sure you have f

    this book has you guessing and just when you are sure you have figured the whole story they throw something at you that makes you want to scream. Loved it and now i'm off to read the second book!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Love, Love Love!

    I usually don't read supernatural stories. I prefer romance that is straight forward. With that being said I had read all of the Sea Breeze Series by Abbi and I kept getting this as a recommendation. I am so glad that I took a chance. I do think this has become one of my favorite series of all times. Dank is everything you could ever want, and I love Pagans Personality! There are so may twits and turns and it ends with such and OMG moment! Definitely take a chance on this one you will not be disappointed! I cant wait for the third one to come out in next week!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    What a great book

    I read this book in a day. I really enjoyed every minute of it. The second book was better but you have to read this one first to understand book two. Ive been reading paranormal romances for a while now and this is high on the list. You fall in love with the characters and omg dank is the best. It is hard being death and all. Thats all im saying you have to read. Im 27 and i know this is a YA but i didnt feel it was. Good for all ages well 16 and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Good book except....

    The authors down right intolerance and ignorance of psychological disorders is borderlining on negligent for YA readers to be exposed to. There are enough stigmas involved with having disorders like PTSD without a book basically incouraging people to think of those suffering with it as crazy. Her description of the disorders were un-researched and so far off it was laughable. In the future, Miss Glines, I suggest you either do your research about a disease or disorder before writing about it or leave it out all together. Other than that it was a good book, but that was just too ignorant of a way to write about mental illness without it being pointed out.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 375 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19