Customer Reviews for

Existence

Average Rating 4.5
( 383 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(251)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

whoa what an ending!

Pagan is starting her senior year of school off to a bad start. Not only does the ¿soul¿ she sees outside of school the first day follow her into her classroom, but he has the nerve to be gorgeous and actually talk to her. No souls have ever talked to her. Ever since sh...
Pagan is starting her senior year of school off to a bad start. Not only does the ¿soul¿ she sees outside of school the first day follow her into her classroom, but he has the nerve to be gorgeous and actually talk to her. No souls have ever talked to her. Ever since she was little she has seen them, wondering aimlessly through life. But none have ever talked to her. Then to top off the talking soul, Leif, jock and class A jerk, asks Pagan for tutoring. Yeah, that¿s the last thing she wants to do, is have to help this arrogant jock her last year.

But once Pagan and Leif start their study sessions, she realizes she was wrong about him, that he is actually a good guy. Then something else weird happens, her talkative-soul-friend, well he actually starts attended school and now everyone can see him. Is Pagan going mental? And if not, why is she falling for this mysterious soul?

Where oh where do I start? Lastnight (New Year¿s Eve) I decided to bring in the New Year reading Miss Glines¿ newest book. To me that is the best celebration I could do. (You don¿t get out much with a hubby that has to work the next day and 3 young kids). I wasn¿t planning on reviewing Existence cause I have like 12 other reviews lined up. But once I finished the last word of the story I knew I had to say something.

Loved Pagan, she is a smart chick with a good head on her shoulders. I like seeing girls in stories that are smart, but not overly. You want them to be believable and relatable, and Pagan is. Now the guys in the story are both hot and gorgeous and absolutely swoon worthy. I had a hard time choosing between Dank and Leif. Yeah how adorable are those names? But as the story went on, I felt myself gravitating more towards Dank. Even with him trying to push her away, you can¿t help but want him.

The storyline was definitely different than any I have read and I truly look forward to the next book in the series, Predestined. And after that cliffhanger of all cliffhangers, you will too. *Runs back to read the last paragraph one more time* Yep, it¿s a biggie! Existence was the perfect book to ring in the New Year and a must read for all readers!

posted by twimom101 on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good book except....

The authors down right intolerance and ignorance of psychological disorders is borderlining on negligent for YA readers to be exposed to. There are enough stigmas involved with having disorders like PTSD without a book basically incouraging people to think of those suff...
The authors down right intolerance and ignorance of psychological disorders is borderlining on negligent for YA readers to be exposed to. There are enough stigmas involved with having disorders like PTSD without a book basically incouraging people to think of those suffering with it as crazy. Her description of the disorders were un-researched and so far off it was laughable. In the future, Miss Glines, I suggest you either do your research about a disease or disorder before writing about it or leave it out all together. Other than that it was a good book, but that was just too ignorant of a way to write about mental illness without it being pointed out.

posted by 14061984 on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Death will make you melt!

    First, a huge thank you to Abbi for the chance to read Existence. I've had the privilege to read advance copies of all three of Abbi's books this year, and they have all been fantastic.When I started reading Existence, I will admit that I had some expectations based on my experiences with Abbi's other books. Some were met, others were exceeded.

    Pagan is just your average, ghost-seeing teenager. The ghosts walk in and out of her life and as long as she doesn't let on that they're there, it's not a problem. Then she meets Dank, who unnerves Pagan from the very beginning. Even more unsettling is the fact that he can talk to her, which makes it much harder to ignore him. And this soul seems just as fascinated with her as she is with him. As her interest in Dank grows, so does her interest in Leif, the star football player at her high school. Unfortunately, it's Pagan's appointed time to die. Dank isn't about to let this happen, however. He breaks all the rules and saves her from a deadly car crash. This upsets the balance in the spiritual world and other souls are too happy with Dank's decision. To protect Pagan, Dank takes on human form as a new student at her school, which makes it a little difficult for Pagan to concentrate on her budding relationship with Leif.

    Perhaps my favorite thing about this book was that it kept me on my toes. It seriously defied any expectations that I had. Just when I thought I had figured out what the next twist or move was going to be in the book, something completely different happened. I was very pleased with the different twists in the storyline and, seriously, the last line of this book is one of the best I've ever read. It's a perfect cliffhanger.

    In my opinion, Abbi Glines is the master of writing swoon-worthy guys! I was completely torn between Dank and Leif. Leif is the hot jock that every girl wants to date. At first he seems to have an ego bigger than the state of Texas, but turns out to have a soft side and big heart. Dank is the rockstar bad boy who is dangerously seductive. He's torn between wanting Pagan to lead a happy life and wanting her to be only with him. Pagan is just as torn as I was for awhile. Dank provides passion and desire, while Leif is stable and safe. All of the characteristics draw Pagan in for different reasons. But which will she choose?

    I'm very excited to see what Abbi has in store for us in the sequel to Existence. I was very happy to learn there would be more, because I think there's a lot more to Pagan than we learned about in this book. Especially with relation to her ability to see ghosts. I think this is going to be a great series!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Definitely a keeper!

    This is such a cute Love Story, Cant Wait for the sequel!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Very Good

    I thought that the book was really good, but the ending made me really wish there was a sequel out already so I know what happened.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    WOW

    Very good read. Would recommend to oyhers. I so did NOT expect that ending or should I say the last line!! Let's hope the others don't dissapoint. ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    GOOD

    Good story. A unique spin on the Twilight theme. I didnt like the "mental" spin. Would have given it 5 stars otherwise. Will read next novel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series Start!

    Pagan sees the wandering souls of those who have died and has for as long as she can remember. Now it should be Pagan's time to die, but Death defies the Deity and saves her life. Why? Because he is in love with her and he isn't the grim reaper type, he is handsome, Drop dead gorgeous, so to speak, and a singer in a band.

    Meanwhile, the star quarterback of the football team is also falling for Pagan. Add in the bubbly best friend, and good plot and you have a great YA read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    I hated the Twilight series. The two love theme in this story is

    I hated the Twilight series. The two love theme in this story is very similar to that of the Edward/Jacob triangle. That being said, Abbi Glines pulls it off. It makes for a quick read and definately has you wanting more. For a YA novel, there is some swearing, which I was surprised to see. The F-bomb gets dropped a number of times. I'm not going to give away any part of the story, but it is very well written and it keeps your attention. I will be reading the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Don't know how exactly I feel!

    The whole time I was reading this book the one thing that kept getting to me was my wondering how Leif could POSSIBLY be so in love with such a drab, distracted and unaffectionate character. But, oh *me* of little faith. Abbi knows whats she's doing, and when I read the sequel I need to keep that in mind. The only thing that really kept me reading was the fact that I love Abbi Glines' writing and the refreshing new storyline. Other than that... I didn't fall in love with the book. I didn't really connect with any of the characters for some reason, especially Pagan. Would I read it again? Probably not. But it was good over all... I guess.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Another Good Book by Abbi Glines

    I couldn't put this book down once I started it. Although I did get annoyed with Pagan and how she pretty much was using Leif. I get it was comfort to her but she didn't love him and yet kept holding on to him. Of coarse since I loved Leif I was just wanting her to let him go so he could find someone else.

    I didn't really feel all that connected to Dank in this book. Mainly because we didn't really get to know him in this book. Perhaps in the sequel we will get more interaction with him and Pagaen so I will feel more of a connection between the 2.

    The ending...I didn't see that one coming. Either way I now absolutely have to get the 2nd and 3rd book in this trilogy. I have to find out what happens to all of these characters. I most definitely have to get Leif's novella as well. I really hope things work out for him

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    I picked up this book because I won PREDESTINED (Exitence Trilog

    I picked up this book because I won PREDESTINED (Exitence Trilogy #2) from Abbi Glines in the YA Scavenger Hunt. I'd meant to read it for awhile, but you know how it is with a growing TBR list. Books just get piled--one on top of the other. And sometimes some really great reads go unread because of this. Well, I'm really glad I won PREDESTINED because I got a chance to enjoy this very delightful series!

    The whole idea that "Death" (also known as, Dank) can be a romantic love interest isn't something that you see very often. And, I really do appreciate a unique and original concept like this one.

    I couldn't help but feel badly for Pagan, who seems like she's had it rough most of her life, having to keep her knowledge of--and interaction with--ghosts a secret from everyone. Fortunately, she has good friends in Miranda and Wyatt. And while they may have no idea of what Pagan deals with, there's still a fierce loyalty between them.

    I love it when a story incorporates, not only a beautiful romance, but also a strong friendship bond, as well. And, with Pagan, Miranda, and Wyatt, who have all been friends since they were little, you can tell that these side characters are in place to help build up this story and not just for some unnecessary filler.

    There is also, a love-triangle. Well, I should say that Pagan has two love interests. But, it seems pretty clear from the beginning who Pagan can't seem to live without. That being said, I think Leif is a pretty great character, as well. He may not have the whole mysterious, seductive, supernatural vibe going in this book, but he, sure as heck, has the boy-next-door thing going. And he obviously cares about Pagan. While I may not have prefered Leif for Pagan, I didn't find myself disliking him, either. I could see why she cared about him.

    Now, for the romance as a whole, I felt like sometimes Pagan may have been a little TOO dependant on Dank and that may have made her appear a little too weak and needy for me. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for the all-emcompassing-desperate-true-love thing, but I just didn't get quite ALL of the decisions that Pagan made in regards to Dank. This didn't take away from my opinion of her, per se, I just didn't find that I could relate to her at certain parts of the story.

    I will say this: I absolutely LOVE this series so far! I'm more than excited for the third installment--Ceaseless-- to come out later this year. I think Ms. Glines is a fabulous writer and a phenomenal storyteller!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    3 1/2 - 4

    First of allm this book kind of drags on. I like the storyline. But the characters just were i dunno annoying at times. And the ending. Who ends a book like that?? I enjoyed the book. But at times, i just wanted to stop reading for all the thoughts the main character was thinking. Im going to read the 2nd book, just to see what happens. But i hope its going to better then this book was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Wow

    This book was far different from what I was expdcting.
    Yes, there was a love triangle, but not something overly done. Thos book is currently on of a kind, regards to Death being a love interest. Already looking forward to the next book coming out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2015

    The Soul and Pagan

    I really liked this book sadly i'm going to have to wait a while to get the next one since i'm all out of money. I loved the songs of this book i didn't even look them up but i made up a tune and it is huantingly beautiful. If you like romance meets girl that thinks she is going crazy meets dark and mysterious backstories then this is your kind of book and hey it's free so what harm can it do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Interesting...

    I enjoyed this book. It wasa easy read. I did feel oike it was stretched out quite a bit with rambling, but I still enjoyed it enough to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Loved it!!! Can not wait to finish the story!! Dank is awesome!!!

    Loved it!!! Now on to the next book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Out of the Ordinary

    It's not the usual love story, it's a bit eerie and it's full of emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow. What an exciting read. Totally not what I expected. This bo

    Wow. What an exciting read. Totally not what I expected. This book is like your worst addiction because you can't stop reading. Abbi has done a fantastic job of keeping the reader engaged in her story. Not having read any synopsis to this book, I began with a clean slate. I was impressed with her ability to keep me intrigued even though the whole fallen angels, heaven and hell is not that appealing to me as a reader. This trilogy has me hooked. Abbi has the ability to write with passion and emotion that transfers to the reader. Many a times I was looking for a Kleenex just in case because it was getting emotional. Keeping up with the trend lately in YA books with the whole love triangle, you cannot help but love both male characters. They each provide something that the main character needs, whether it be support, friendship, love or companionship. Filled with twists and turns in every chapter, this story is one not to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book - great paranormal romance.

    I really enjoyed this book - great paranormal romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    got me entertain, fast pace...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    I thought the plot was interesting and liked the charaters, easy

    I thought the plot was interesting and liked the charaters, easy to read and enjoyed all three books , with a good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4