Customer Reviews for

Existence

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A Good Read

I've always been a fan of David Brin, from Sun Diver and The Postman to Heaven's Reach, I've read them all. I even ordered this book months before it was released. I have to give this book a conditional 4 stars because I didn't like this universe as well as the uplift...
I've always been a fan of David Brin, from Sun Diver and The Postman to Heaven's Reach, I've read them all. I even ordered this book months before it was released. I have to give this book a conditional 4 stars because I didn't like this universe as well as the uplift wars universe. This may be because I can see that parts of the future really might become what Brin has written about.

Existence is formatted like the Uplift Trilogy in that it has several threads - some threads and characters I liked more than others. One of the characters I had a problem with was Prof. Nozone because I had to slow down my reading to understand his dialog.

Prof. Brin has always been good at space opera and he hasn't disappointed here.

posted by 2757203 on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

recommend for sci-fi fans

good story , very well written and will hold your attention the whole 900 pages.
the story is about our search for OTHERS in our immense galaxy.We are so scared of being alone and yet afraid of finding smarter more aggressive races. when we do find evidence of OT...
good story , very well written and will hold your attention the whole 900 pages.
the story is about our search for OTHERS in our immense galaxy.We are so scared of being alone and yet afraid of finding smarter more aggressive races. when we do find evidence of OTHERS and they can still talk to us, because of their amazing new tecnology. we almost become trapped in their mistake and we learn to call them virus instead of savior. we grow up as humans and take control of our own destiny.

posted by rosiesbooks on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    A Good Read

    I've always been a fan of David Brin, from Sun Diver and The Postman to Heaven's Reach, I've read them all. I even ordered this book months before it was released. I have to give this book a conditional 4 stars because I didn't like this universe as well as the uplift wars universe. This may be because I can see that parts of the future really might become what Brin has written about.

    Existence is formatted like the Uplift Trilogy in that it has several threads - some threads and characters I liked more than others. One of the characters I had a problem with was Prof. Nozone because I had to slow down my reading to understand his dialog.

    Prof. Brin has always been good at space opera and he hasn't disappointed here.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The good: a sense of atmosphere in a complex and engaging story,

    The good: a sense of atmosphere in a complex and engaging story, with a different & original take on first contact, as well as a fleshed out, plausible future, raising and addressing intriguing questions about technological immersion. The uncertainty of where the book was going was even better, and Mr. Brin does a great job of keeping the reader's attention. Occasionally, the immersion in different character perspectives worked marvelously.
    Why not five stars? While the reader gets to know several characters in detail, only two main characters (Tor Pavlov and Gerald Livingstone) get both full development and full resolution (with two more getting a somewhat more perfunctory wrap-up). The jump forward in time in Part 7 is jarring, disrupting the previously excellent pacing in a way that the book does not recover from. The last part feels rushed and episodic. Many of the previous stories and characters are either left dangling awkwardly, not to be resolved here (except as indirect throwaway references), or end up as pointless dead ends.
    Despite the quibbles, however, it was still one of my favorite reads of the year.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Excellent near future fiction

    Brin takes several modern trends and carries them to a logical extention in the near future. Weaving the stories of several main characters, he portrays the myriad factions within society as well as the political factions and agendas. He does all of this within the framework of the backstory to his Uplift Series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    An exceptional read with multiple angles exploring the myriad of

    An exceptional read with multiple angles exploring the myriad of possibilities being thrown at us in our increasingly technologically driven society. Dr. Brin explores many of the points of views we see developing around us from the youth of our nation, really most of the world, connected electronically like we older generations never conceived to those in society doing their best to slow or stop science and go back to that mythical golden age, "before". True there are many personalities to follow, not always easy for many, and some of the section jumps are great and take a while to adjust to, but on the whole the book is filled with thought provoking insights into so many of the facets of our society, from the seeming increase in autism to the dramatic and seemingly irreconcilable political disconnect between groups in our own country. Well worth the read. Thought provoking. In general optimistic but also scary.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    Most thought provoking sci-fi I've read in 2 years

    Almost didn't read this due to other reviews and that would have been a shame. Story weaves in the best social arguments and observations other authors have made and develops them a little further. Really shocked by the other reviews. What's not to love about summoning a smart-mob!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    A long and difficult read

    The author seems to have decided that he would write a very long novel with many, many threads of varying relevance running throughout. The main premise, of finding an alien egg, is a little suspect from the beginning. The bulk of the novel is trying to establish some sort of atmosphere around the main plot. Unfortunately the main plot tends to get buried by all the other narratives. This is typical of many novels where the reader wants to speed read through material in search of the main story line. For much better writing see the Gibraltar trilogy.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    recommend for sci-fi fans

    good story , very well written and will hold your attention the whole 900 pages.
    the story is about our search for OTHERS in our immense galaxy.We are so scared of being alone and yet afraid of finding smarter more aggressive races. when we do find evidence of OTHERS and they can still talk to us, because of their amazing new tecnology. we almost become trapped in their mistake and we learn to call them virus instead of savior. we grow up as humans and take control of our own destiny.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    A great read

    I've been a sci-fi and David Brin fan for a long time and I have to say this is his best effort and the best all around sci-fi novel ever, IMHO, with memorable characters and a believable story as part of the mix.

    Spanning decades starting in the not too distant future and connecting with several of Mr Brin's other novels, Existence should be a very rewarding read for fans and newcomers alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Can't read it-gibberish

    There is nothing to hold on to that is solid. Searched up to page 200 and all the same. I want my money back.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Existence with obstacles

    Appreciated the focus on the many risks to species survival beyond earth. The emphasis on sublight travel created a number of opportunities for a good story. But I felt that the author failed to capitalize on character development. I also disliked the story's jumping ahead many years and answering the questions / past conflicts in passing. It is a creative work but lacking in key elements to make a great novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Absolutely a Masterpiece.

    I love theoretically possible tech. We need much more Science Fiction like this to inspire and take us where need to be going, for the reasons explored within these pages. I love how Brin visits many of the big questions of existence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Hard to follow

    Not one of his best efforts.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    i just couldnt get past a couple of chapters. It changed so muc

    i just couldnt get past a couple of chapters. It changed so much from one person to the next to the next..etc. trying to follow the story or just get into the story was impossible. Well not impossible if you have MULTIPLE personality disorder and let each personality read the chapter of whatever character it is following...lol

    I have read other david brin books and liked them. Just dont know what happened here.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    garbage

    This is the worst book I have ever read. It sickens me to think I paid $14 for this. I tried to read it but after 600 pages I realised it was not going to get any batter. Pure crap.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2