Customer Reviews for

Exit Here.

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Final Exit

I read Exit Here during my summer break. I was looking for an unconventional novel, well I found one. Exit Here is the story of drug abuse, facing harsh realities, heartbreak, sex, and a young man's quest for an identity. With crude talk of wild nights, near constant dr...
I read Exit Here during my summer break. I was looking for an unconventional novel, well I found one. Exit Here is the story of drug abuse, facing harsh realities, heartbreak, sex, and a young man's quest for an identity. With crude talk of wild nights, near constant drug use, and vulgar profanity Exit Here "went there" in a riveting way. Every moment I was hit with an "omg did he just say that?" gasp. I felt this book pushed the envelope and exposed a gritty, intense American subculture. Jason Myers came closer to the truth of American teens than many wish to acknowledge, stirring up controversy every step of the way.

posted by ChickHabit on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

no good.

honestly this book had potential, and probably had quite a good overall thing to say, but... well at parts Myers went way to far into detail in what we didn't need to know, and not enough into detail other times.
It began to disgust me way to much in parts and i had t...
honestly this book had potential, and probably had quite a good overall thing to say, but... well at parts Myers went way to far into detail in what we didn't need to know, and not enough into detail other times.
It began to disgust me way to much in parts and i had trouble getting to the end due to this.
it also defiantly seems like a more mature, if at all, teens book.

posted by Ebb32 on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    no good.

    honestly this book had potential, and probably had quite a good overall thing to say, but... well at parts Myers went way to far into detail in what we didn't need to know, and not enough into detail other times.
    It began to disgust me way to much in parts and i had trouble getting to the end due to this.
    it also defiantly seems like a more mature, if at all, teens book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Final Exit

    I read Exit Here during my summer break. I was looking for an unconventional novel, well I found one. Exit Here is the story of drug abuse, facing harsh realities, heartbreak, sex, and a young man's quest for an identity. With crude talk of wild nights, near constant drug use, and vulgar profanity Exit Here "went there" in a riveting way. Every moment I was hit with an "omg did he just say that?" gasp. I felt this book pushed the envelope and exposed a gritty, intense American subculture. Jason Myers came closer to the truth of American teens than many wish to acknowledge, stirring up controversy every step of the way.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    AMAZING

    This book is an amazing work of art. I have never read a book where you can completely feel how the main character feels. There is so much emotion, and so many details that it keeps you engulfed throughout the entire story. I finished it in a day, and the story became my own. It's completely relatable, and completely enjoyable. It's a story of self-realization and self doubt, highs and lows, love, and music. The use of alcohol and drugs and the effects it has on the people you surround yourself with. This story deeply affected the way i think, and my feelings on certain things. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Page Turner

    This book did keep me turning the pages, yet it has many mature scenes and language, so you have to know you can read things like that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Controvertial

    After reading some of the reviews posted here, I can see that I am in the minority. I did not like this book at all. I found that the characters were very one dimentional and the plot was almost non-existent. I understand that the point of the book was to protray a young guy trying to figure life out for himself and deal with the pressure from his dad who wanted him to follow his path. However, I found that the means with which the author attempted to make this point were inadequate. Maybe there's just some deeper way of looking at the book or maybe it's just not for me but I most certainly would not reccomend this to others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    couldn't put it down.

    absolutely great. read it in like 3 days. addicting as all hell.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Good story, poorly written

    The story had a lot of potential but the author's writing was all over the place. I didn't even want to read it all the way through. I found it difficult to keep up with all the names as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Well..

    I do not recommend this at all. It was very, well awkward, in parts because it only had two real topics. I am a 15 year old girl and do not agree with it as a great book. It had a terrible story line and I give it a 1. "I want to watch you burn" book!(: (Papa Roach). Jkjk.Thanks for reading. -MVM(:

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    This book is NOT for teenagers!

    I am the mother of a 14-year old boy, and this book is NOT SUITABLE for young teens. This book should be on the adult shelf due to graphic sexual experiences that the author writes about and the general adult topics discussed in the book. Just becuase a book is written about teenagers DOES NOT mean that it is suitbale for teenagers to read!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Masterpiece

    This book really changed my outlook on life. Including his other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I actually really enjoyed this book and the author's writing sty

    I actually really enjoyed this book and the author's writing style. Some of the content is iffy for young teens, but definitely a good read. Honestly couldn't put it down!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    I loved this book. I wasn't much of a reader before I read this

    I loved this book. I wasn't much of a reader before I read this book. In my opinion, i love those kind of angst, problematic books.  I enjoyed the plot and the characters. It was such a easy read! It had a part where they had sex buy it wasn't 
    n't even that bad. If you don't like all that drug abuse type of stuff that's fine, don't read it. After I read this book I read his book the Mission then dead end I love them both. Just today I started Run the Game and this book with drugs and sex is nothing compared to Run the Game, A lot more talked about. I am only 14 and I read this when  was 13, I am mature enough to read this and I highly recommend it 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    I really liked this book. It was very mature and I was surprised

    I really liked this book. It was very mature and I was surprised I found it in the teens section, but it really wasn't anything a mature teenager couldn't handle. It's not my favorite book by far, but for Jason Meyer's first book, I found he did quite well. He can only improve from here! Looking forward to reading more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Ok

    It was good but i have read better by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Loved it

    Loved this book! By far my favorite by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Amazingly good

    This book was hard to put down to take a shower. I finished this book in like 2 days! Jason's Myers is such a talented writer and I hope he comes out with more work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    ENDING MAKES IT WORTH IT!!

    Life changing.starts off slow in the beginning. Took m a while to figure out the plot and whole point of the book. Its life changing and really puts you in the shoes of the main character. You realize what lifee is like for people involved with drugs and how bad choices can be life altering. The ending makes the slow story completely worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Excellent. SO real. Recommend it to anyone 14 & up

    Excellent. SO real. Recommend it to anyone 14 & up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Exit here.

    Amazing. I never wanted the book to end. Life changing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8