BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Exit Wounds (Joanna Brady Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If you like mysteries and cop stories, go for it

I really enjoy the books by J.A. Jance, especially the ones about Sheriff Brady, they are continuing stories and I just wish there was more of the books about her and her life, her daughter, new hubby and now a new baby. It is an interesting book about a woman sheriff ...
I really enjoy the books by J.A. Jance, especially the ones about Sheriff Brady, they are continuing stories and I just wish there was more of the books about her and her life, her daughter, new hubby and now a new baby. It is an interesting book about a woman sheriff and how she does it all. I especially like that they have made her husband a stay at home Dad and an author.

J.A. Jance also writes about Det. Beaumont and they are also very good books.

posted by king2 on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not read

I am putting this in my car as a way to pass time when waiting for service, etc. My first by this author.

posted by Gandalfiii on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    If you like mysteries and cop stories, go for it

    I really enjoy the books by J.A. Jance, especially the ones about Sheriff Brady, they are continuing stories and I just wish there was more of the books about her and her life, her daughter, new hubby and now a new baby. It is an interesting book about a woman sheriff and how she does it all. I especially like that they have made her husband a stay at home Dad and an author.

    J.A. Jance also writes about Det. Beaumont and they are also very good books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Another great J.A. Jance mystery

    I love a good mystery and I love J.A. Jance, so I cannot say enough about Exit Wounds. A grat read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not read

    I am putting this in my car as a way to pass time when waiting for service, etc.

    My first by this author.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    All in all, not a bad book, but not the greatest either. The beg

    All in all, not a bad book, but not the greatest either. The beginning quarter of the book kind of gave me a sour taste, but the last half seemed much better. It had a little too much family drama for my tastes. The whole thing about being pregnant and running for re-election, the fights with her mother over it and stuff was just about enough to turn me off from the book. Luckily, the mystery part of the book was pretty strong and kept me interested. I would put this story closer to 3.5 stars than three, but not strong enough for four.

    This was my first Joanna Brady novel, and second J.A. Jance novel. Both of the ones I've read had some great parts to the story, with some very annoying sidestory parts. I've got one more Jance novel on my shelf to read, but if it's similar to these two I don't think I'll be going out of my way to track any more down unless heavily discounted/free. They just don't quite sit right with me. I don't know if it's a gender thing, or possibly growing up and working with people in law enforcement, but there were parts in both novels that I had a hard time comprehending viewpoints.

    The eBook was formatted fine with no obvious spelling or grammatical errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Great Read

    Jance has returned to her formr writing style with a wonderful addition to the Joanna Brady series. This is among her best books, in my opinion. This book is absolutely fantadtic. The primary storyline is very interesting and engages the reader quickly, but the secondary storie are also masterfully written and add allot to the plot as well ad reader enjoyment. I would definately recommend this one. Stephanie Clanahan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Another great adventure!

    I really enjoyed the 11th in the Joanna Brady series. What a sad theme, but one I could unfortunately relate too in so many ways. I'm really loving Joanna Brady and the other main characters in this series. Only 5 more books to go. Highly recommend starting from #1 and reading the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    On the fence

    While the story itself was very interesting and definitely kept me involved, something about the characters, primarily Joanna Brady, struck me as less than authentic. I just didn't feel for her, nor did I particularly like her. I wish the author had gone more in-depth about the characters and their backgrounds. I think I will stick to Patricia Cornwell, James Patterson, and Janet Evanovich. This series just wasn't for me..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Good story.

    Sheriff Joanna Brady mystery. Needs a bit of proof-reading. A story of the long reaching effects of both incest and illegal aliens coming into the USA. Also animal hoarding is addressed. Well written. Holds interest to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Great read - typical Joanna Brady.

    Realistic and timely.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    enjoyable read

    If you enjoy cop mysteries and don't mind having to pick up the next book to see what happens, then you'll enjoy this series. I started mid-series and am hooked. I like that it is centered in Arizona.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Great reading!

    I love J.A. Jance's books, especially the JoAnna Brady series. Loved this one too! Keeps your interest and you feel like you know her and the family, as well as her dogs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    For Lovers of Southwest Mystery Procedurals

    Solid procedural introduces Cochise County, AZ, Sheriff Joanna Brady, her family, community, cohorts, friends and enemies. A series well worth following for all those who enjoy the genre. The location is, in a sense, a major character in the story. Animal rights advocates and pet lovers will particularly enjoy this initial Brady mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I really liked the book. It is another great story involving Sherrif Brady. Though she is pregnant and struggling with morning sickness, Joanna Brady feels she still can campaign for reelection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2004

    Another great Joanna Brady novel!

    I really liked the book. It is another great story involving Sherrif Brady. Jance does a great job with all her books. She gives the reader a chance to solve the mystery too. This book does leave you hanging in the end, but it lets you know there will probably be another book to resolve Sherrif Brady's issues. I can't wait for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    Where's the rest of the book?

    Although I usually enjoy the Joanna Bradyseries I felt that this novel left too many plot lines 'hanging'. Does she win re-election? Baby issues unresolved?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    5 Woofs

    Excellent with a great twist on the who done it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2003

    Another great Joanna Brady novel!

    Sheriff Joanna Brady's first husband, Andy was running for Sheriff in Cochise County, Arizona when he was shot by drug dealers. Joanna ran and was elected Sheriff. She and Butch, her new husband, and her daughter Jenny are adjusting to their new lives. They have just built and moved into a new home. Carol Mossman is found murdered in her trailer. Her 16 dogs are also found dead in her hot trailer. Joanna makes sure she is involved in every homicide investigation and is called out to this one. While there, it is discovered that somehow one puppy was still outside in the pen and survived. She takes it home with her. Recently one of their dogs, Sadie had died. Jenny loves having a new puppy to look after. Joanna goes out to the Animal Shelter to speak with Animal Control Officer Jeannine Phillips who has lodged a complaint that Joanna didn't follow procedure with the puppy. Recently Animal Control has come under Joanna's control. She finds out that if animals aren't adopted in 72 hours, they are euthanized. She finds a blue-eyed Australian shepherd that is about to be 'gone' and adopts her. Later she finds out the dog is afraid of men. This proves to be interesting when she takes her home to meet Butch. A speeding Suburban full of illegals overturns killing many of them. Joanna is involved in searching for the driver and bringing him to justice. She is appalled by the number of people that had been riding in the suburban. The air conditioning in the local jail isn't working. Joanna gets people in place to be able to bring all the prinsoners out to the yard while they get the a/c working again. Something goes wrong and one man is found dead. There is an investigation to find out exactly what happened. This is an election year and many factors play into Joanna's decision about running. Throw in her meddling mother and Joanna has more than she can handle at times. This series is terrific. I enjoy reading about her many escapades. Joanna always gets down to work and with the help of her staff finds the guilty parties. This new installment in this series is a book you will not want to put down. I read it in 24 hours! J. A. Jance has done her research. The plot, characters and setting are all well-written and very alive. I am glad to find this book only having Joanna Brady. I enjoyed the last book that paired her up with J. P. Beaumont (from the other series she writes), but I prefer them in separate books. I highly recommend this book and the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent installment in this outstanding series

    Though she is pregnant and struggling with morning sickness, Arizona sheriff Joanna Brady feels she still can campaign for reelection. Though stuffing her face makes her vn more nauseous, she runs from one hot dog event to another as she seeks votes while constituents celebrate the Fourth of July holiday.<P> However, her reelection bid goes on the backburner when Joanna learns that a homicide occurred. Someone shot and killed Carol Mossman in a mobile home amidst seventeen dead dogs that were victims of the cruel summer heat. Later ballistics proves the weapon used in the Mossman murder was also used in the killing of two females in New Mexico. Joanna begins to look into the life of the victim in her jurisdiction and she finds a link that ties Carol¿s father to the Brethren cult that is under investigation because of allegations made by the Lobo State victims.<P> This is a strong entry in one of the better police procedural series on the market today. In many ways, the tale will remind the audience of Fargo, but with the added issue of running for office. The who-done-it is cleverly designed and Joanna is learning the hard way how difficult it is to work while throwing up. J.A. Jance further humanizes one of the better-fictionalized law enforcement officials in this top rate tale.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3