BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Exit to Eden

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT!!

I was shocked by this book. I made the mistake of watching the movie before reading the book. The movie is no where near the book. The book handles domination perfectly. There is a high sense of the erotica..if you are into the S&M world as I am. You should check out...
I was shocked by this book. I made the mistake of watching the movie before reading the book. The movie is no where near the book. The book handles domination perfectly. There is a high sense of the erotica..if you are into the S&M world as I am. You should check out this book. I have recommended this book to all of my submissives..and anyone interested in the lifestyle. This is what S&M should be.

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

First Anne Rice Disappointment

This is not my first book from Anne Rice, but it is the first book I was disappointed in. Knowing some of the BDSM lifestyle I found the character of Lisa to be very disappointing and weak. She showed no back bone when dealing with Elliott. I understand that Anne Ric...
This is not my first book from Anne Rice, but it is the first book I was disappointed in. Knowing some of the BDSM lifestyle I found the character of Lisa to be very disappointing and weak. She showed no back bone when dealing with Elliott. I understand that Anne Rice was trying to set up a dramatic love story but using a sex club as a back drop when one of the characters is supposed to be a dominant female and the other a submissive male, just didn't come across in the book. I actually didn't finish the book since everytime I started to read it I got so mad at the way the characters were portrayed that I would put it back down. Truly a let down in what could have been a great book. Don't bother reading it unless you are willing to be unfulfilled by the characters.

posted by Anonymous on September 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    First Anne Rice Disappointment

    This is not my first book from Anne Rice, but it is the first book I was disappointed in. Knowing some of the BDSM lifestyle I found the character of Lisa to be very disappointing and weak. She showed no back bone when dealing with Elliott. I understand that Anne Rice was trying to set up a dramatic love story but using a sex club as a back drop when one of the characters is supposed to be a dominant female and the other a submissive male, just didn't come across in the book. I actually didn't finish the book since everytime I started to read it I got so mad at the way the characters were portrayed that I would put it back down. Truly a let down in what could have been a great book. Don't bother reading it unless you are willing to be unfulfilled by the characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    EXCELLENT!!

    I was shocked by this book. I made the mistake of watching the movie before reading the book. The movie is no where near the book. The book handles domination perfectly. There is a high sense of the erotica..if you are into the S&M world as I am. You should check out this book. I have recommended this book to all of my submissives..and anyone interested in the lifestyle. This is what S&M should be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    You'll like this!

    If The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty was too racy for you, then you're going to definitely like this tamer version!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Intriguing love story

    The first book by this author I've read. Gonna read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    its so good we named our oldest son Lestat she is a great writer

    its so good we named our oldest son Lestat she is a great writer love her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Wonderful love affair novel

    This book reads very well, especially with the developing love affair between the two protagonists. The major detractor is Rice's penchant for insisting on describing men with men: At times, it seemed more forced in the novel vice being an integral part of the story. The female lead is an incredibly gifted character, expertly developed by one of the best writers of this generation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    A Wonderful Book

    This is one of the best novels I've ever read. Anne Rice is such a great author and you can't help but love the characters and the beautiful settings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    one of my favorite books

    this is really one of my favorite books! I love Anne Rice! I love the Lisa and elliot. Anne Rice just has away of making you fall in love with everyone of her characters. I would recommend this book to anyone who has an open mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    Wonderfully Written

    This was such a great book. Anne Rice is such an exquisite writer. As you read this book, the characters come alive in your mind You can feel every emotion that they feel. Just wonderful. I couldn't put it down. Exit to Eden is definately a book I will read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    An Excellent Tale

    Exit to Eden is a piece of complex romantic fiction that is staged in a lush, tropical paradise. Her description of the setting allows you to fall in love with the island of Eden, and with its inhabitants. The characters are multi-faceted individuals with a strong sense of feeling. I, too, made the mistake of watching the movie before the book. Knowing the frequent inability to give justice to their roots that motion pictures have, I bought the book and was mesmerized by the story. I've read it and re-read it, and I would strongly recommend this book to any fan of Anne Rice, erotic fiction, or just a plain, good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    Erotic yet boring

    Although the book does have exciting erotic moments Anne Rice takes you up then drops you harshly. In the beginning of the book you are introduced to everything but as the book progresses Lisa and Elliots love begins to fall, not in the book but to the reader. By the time chapter 20 comes you are so bored. I found that once they arrived in New Orleans the book was just overall dropping and by the end of the book you will think that instead of reading this book you could have done some errands. The book is okay but it really isnt one of Anne Rice's best or even good. If you think that this book was one of her best check to see if you have a pulse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2000

    Erotic, Kinky and Human

    While this book is fiction it still gives you a view of what people who are into SM sometimes think and feel. In particular, I like how Lisa alternates between feeling entirely sure of herself and very vulnerable. The one thing that I note with amusement is that it is written as though SM were very much underground and hidden when nowadays there are SM clubs and gatherings just about everywhere. Still, I would love to spend my vacation at Lisa's club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2000

    Anne Rice has done it again!

    I enjoyed this book immensely, reading it in one evening. As a practicing submissive, I can really appreciate the dynamics of Elliot and Lisa's relationship, wherein she is not always outwardly dominant. (in Louisiana, etc.) The relationship Rice has portrayed is very similar to mine, unlike in Story of O, which I think for many people is a little much. Plus, she is a fantastic writer to begin with, so no matter what the subject is, you know you're getting a good read. I remember being enthralled with Interview with a Vampire when I was younger and finding it highly erotic. Exit to Eden did not disappoint in that respect. I would recommend this book to ANYONE, whether they are into the scene or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2