Customer Reviews for

Exodus Lost

Average Rating 5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    A fascinating book -- highly recommended!!!

    I'd often wondered whether there was any connection between the pyramids in Egypt and those in Mexico. This book answers that question for me. Each chapter offers new discoveries -- links -- between the two civilizations, even though they were thousands of miles apart. The research presented is very thorough, but the pace is very fast and the writing style is engaging. Some of the findings are absolutely astonishing (the chapter on the Biblical Exodus, the parting of the Red Sea, and the "wall of water" is just jaw-dropping). I highly recommend this book -- you won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    Exodus Lost is a truly remarkable work that encompasses an impre

    Exodus Lost is a truly remarkable work that encompasses an impressive body of research into Mesoamerican history. S. C. Compton demonstrates the mastery of his subject with incredible attention to detail. What makes this book unprecedented is Compton’s ability to embed such rich history within the framework of an engaging narrative. Far from dry, it is an interdisciplinary magnum opus that transgresses genre boundaries and captivates the reader, luring them into a world of ancient civilizations that grows more interesting with each page.

    The book is lavishly illustrated, and this sets it apart as a definitive compendium of comprehensive knowledge. The abundance of visual data lends greater authority to the text, and enlivens the subject matter such that the reader is able to thoroughly grasp the content. Considering the vast range of topics covered, from volcanology to philology, religion, and virtually everything in between, this book is one to which I shall return countless times, as one reading is not enough to truly appreciate the body of research. As a linguistics enthusiast, I particularly loved the detailed analyses of ancient writing systems.

    S.C. Compton has clearly translated a passion for Mesoamerican history into a thoroughly researched and referenced book that combines the authority of an academic text with an accessible writing style. I highly recommend Exodus Lost and eagerly anticipate future books by this polished and sophisticated author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Unconventional and Entertaining, yet Solid and Well researched...A MUST READ!!

    Because of the sheer volume of information available today, the question isn't always "is this valid", but rather, "is this entertaining". This book is BOTH. The research is undoubtedly the result of painstaking attention to detail. At the same time, this book is a page-turner. I found myself reading a lot more than I anticipated---simply because it is written with an incredible amount of intrigue. If you consider yourself even mildly interested in history, you will be completely consumed. Compton draws attention to the Hyksos, an Egyptian era group that is often overlooked. You simply will not find this information in a survey course for History. It's the links between civilizations, and how they have most certainly shaped our present identity, that made this book intrinsically valuable to me. I highly recommend purchasing this book---it even has the added bonus of amazing illustrations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    An Excellent Work, Smooth Read

    Many scholarly books are as dry as chalk, but this was a page turner. I am not in a position to verify, or repudiate, Compton's findings/theories. I am forced to leave that to others. However, it was well stated, and if only some of his research is accurate, his conclusions are compelling. Along with everything else, he does not seek to diminish the accomplishments of the Native American people. He is very respectful of what they accomplished, irrespective of the possibility of outside contributions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Intriguing - A must read for people who enjoy trivia and history buffs alike!

    I am not a history buff by any means but I was pleasantly surprised when I purchased this book and read through it. Figuring out where we are is all about figuring out where we have been by uncovering and sorting through clues of the past. Mr. Compton is a master! He identifies theories and hypothesis not previously mentioned in any of my history classes. He does a brilliant job of challenging the reader to open their mind and consider alternate theories. The book is well illustrated, well written and easy to read. Whether you are a trivial pursuit champ, history buff or historian, this book is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Well-researched page turner! Excellent read

    The author provided compelling evidence for new historical ideas. It is well-researched and will be equally captivating for an academic and general audience. If you have an interest in history, early civilization or archaeology, this is a MUST READ! You won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Captivating Page-Turner

    This book was definitely a page-turner, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves history and adventure. It is well-written and extremely well-researched. The author has given meticulous consideration to a number of different areas, including archaeology, mythology, history, and science to make some fascinating new connections that have previously been over-looked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    I don't think that I can say anything in my review that hasn't a

    I don't think that I can say anything in my review that hasn't already been said, and much more eloquently by other reviewers, but I feel like I must make an attempt. I have to preface this by saying, I have an undergraduate degree in History, so I always approach history books with some trepidation, hoping that they will be accurate.

    I was absolutely thrilled with this book, and in no way shape or form disappointed. This work by Mr. Compton is in a word, Amazing. Not just the enormous amount of research and time that was obviously poured into this work, but it that aside, it is just so well written!

    Really, how often does a book written on history, read like a fiction novel written by an accomplished storyteller? As someone who has read literally hundreds, if not more, books written on history, I can say unequivocally, it does not happen very often. I only wish my own thesis would have read this well!

    This book absolutely turns everything you believe you know about history books upside down. It reads like fiction, but you're actually learning! As I said, I have a degree in history, and I learned so much from this book. I'm considering ways of incorporating parts of it into my classroom teaching, it's THAT good.

    The depth and breadth of the information presented within this book is absolutely mind boggling. The writing is stellar, and Mr. Compton succeeds in making something that might not be very exciting to most people read like a best seller! I just can not recommend this book highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    Well-researched enlightenment! Finally, it all makes sense! Dec

    Well-researched enlightenment! Finally, it all makes sense!

    Decades ago, when I was a youngster in school, the teachers would themselves scoff at me when I would suggest the old world as the source of the civilizations that abruptly erupted in the Americas. I am glad to see that I'm not the only one with that train of thought.....

    I found 'Exodus Lost' by S. C. Compton to be well-researched, his theories and correlations concise and straight-forward. He deftly fills-in the blanks of what we were taught with what really happened way back then...

    The best part of reading this book was that it pulled me in on the first page! No matter the reason why I put it down, it kept drawing me back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    I love Ancient History EVEN MORE now!! I¿ve always loved histor

    I love Ancient History EVEN MORE now!!

    I’ve always loved history in school. Not learning about wars and the Industrial Revolution but how the world was before those gizmos were made. How people moved across, what were their beliefs and values. How the towns and cities looked and their planning. Life in ancient times was so mysterious. When we look at life today, it has become so political.
    There is a constant race to achieve and over achieve. In contrast, life probably a 1000 years back, held so much discovery.
    I do believe that our ancients were endowed with a higher level of knowledge than we currently are.
    They knew how the Universe functioned and their skills in Geography, Marine Sciences, Navigation far exceed what even a PHD can have today.Oh Where can I start? The book has illustrations from the author’s journeys and I am so THANKFUL for that.
    The illustrations and photos actually made me believe in the truth of the words written in the book.
    I realised there was so much about our world that we did not understand.
    There was so much about our origins and our cultures which we had lost, forgotten or chosen to ignore.
    This made me a little sad because I believe with the brilliance demonstrated by the planners in these cultures, quite a few of our current day problems can be solved.Oh and there is so so much more!! This was only just a short glance. I am so grateful for having got a chance to read this. This book is for you to OWN in Paperback. An Ebook does not do as much justice to reading the book. There is a FULL CHAPTER on the PYRAMIDS. 
    I worry if I write more I’d spoil the entire book for you!! This book has taken the writer FOURTEEN YEARS TO WRITE AND RESEARCH!!!
    This matters a lot and it shows from the excellence and high quality of this book!!

    This book has EVERYTHING AND MORE that you read.
    Please do PICK IT UP and take a BEAUTIFUL journey to Ancient History

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    I've always been interested in history so this was particularly

    I've always been interested in history so this was particularly intriguing for me to read.  I was already reasonably familiar with the history of the groups involved (Aztecs, Mayan, Egyptian, etc.) so that did help a bit but the author explained everything so clearly, and provided lots of excellent charts, graphs, and pictures to fully illustrate his points, that you really don't need to have any previous knowledge to thoroughly enjoy this volume.

    The author's research and conclusions may seem controversial to some but the evidence presented has been thoroughly vetted which certainly adds to the veracity of his genuinely fascinating arguments.

    I will admit that this is on the longer side and does require a time investment, but it is certainly well worth it.

    I highly recommend this well written, intelligent, and cohesive volume.  Both those already familiar with the subject matter and those new to it will benefit from this excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    If archaeology or ancient history is to your liking then you wil

    If archaeology or ancient history is to your liking then you will really enjoy this book
    There is no doubt the author has done his work here with plenty of research and notes all written in way that you find yourself becoming engrossed forcing you to read just one last chapter as he unravels the possible connections between the ancient Egyptian and the Americas

    All in all this is a fascinating read and one historian alike will truly enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    ¿Exodus Lost¿ is a carefully researched, comprehensive study tha

    “Exodus Lost” is a carefully researched, comprehensive study that expertly builds its thesis—that an analysis of the ancient Mayan and Aztec histories reveals a solid connection between those cultures and that of ancient Egypt. While that might sound a little dry, it most assuredly is not—the author’s love for his subject matter shines through, and since I knew very little about the cultures in “Exodus Lost” his enthusiasm swept me up in exploring the connections. 

    The author isn’t content to make just a few connections, either—he explores everything from ancient alphabets to the color purple to the eruption of Thera and its effects on crop failure in Egypt. The text also weaves in connections to stories from the Bible, including the Great Flood and the story of Joseph. 
     
    While I enjoyed the premise of the book and was convinced by the author’s arguments, what I really took away from “Exodus Lost” is just how amazing humanity is—how much we’ve learned, how far we’ve come, and ultimately how all of our histories are linked, no matter how disparate they may seem on the surface. Recommended to history buffs (especially those who enjoy the study of ancient cultures), readers who love related trivia and knowledge, and even readers who love mysteries—though this isn’t a typical mystery, of course, it still should appeal to the minds of those who love to piece things together. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    The Olmecs were an ancient people that just suddenly appeared in

    The Olmecs were an ancient people that just suddenly appeared in Mexico. There has been no archeological findings of them developing their technology. They arrived with this knowledge and subsequently influenced both the Mayan and Aztec cultures. But where did they come from?

    Due to high acidity levels in the soil and the rain forest environment, archeologists don't have much to work with. Human remains and even most ceramics haven't survived these harsh conditions. Compton hypothesizes that this society migrated from Egypt. He goes to great lengths comparing many aspects of Egyptian culture to what is known of the Olmecs. Religion, funerary beliefs, sacrificial traditions, architecture, even clothing is similar and lends credence to his theory. How could two cultures, separated by an ocean be so similar without being related somehow?

    Compton points out that the Olmecs sacrificed to a rain god. He ponders as to why a society in a rain forest would offer sacrifices to appease a god that is most traditionally worshiped by desert people who pray for rain. While it is most likely that he is correct with his conclusion that this rain god was "grandfathered" into the Olmec society from their desert dwelling ancestors, another aspect occurred to me. Now I don't profess to be an expert on ancient gods, but it seems to me that an angry rain god has two extreme options to punish his subjects, drought or flood. I ponder if it is likely that while the Olmecs adopted this god from their ancestors they may have wanted to appease him in times of great storms to stop the rain and not that they were praying for rain to come. It has been raining here for three days now, I might be willing to sacrifice a goat in the hopes that the rain would stop.

    While the author is describing Egyptian times, he also touches on biblical stories. Truth be told, I'm not a very religious person. I was raised in parochial school and am familiar with various biblical stories but again, I am no expert. However, I find it fascinating when archaeology and historians find proof that the Bible is not just a story but actual history. Compton cites cases of tree circles and polar cap borings that support the story of Joseph's seven years of plenty followed by seven years of famine, as well as credible explanations and hypotheses of additional biblical stories.

    I found this book interesting on so many levels. Those with a Kindle Fire can enjoy the multitude of pictures and drawings in full color. Readers that own an e-reader with a touch screen can easily access the end notes as they are referenced, which I highly suggest. The footnotes contain more than just information that cites the books being referenced but also sometimes contains the exact quote from said book as well as further clarification of the point being made.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone with even the remotest interest in ancient history, Egyptian history, or even biblical history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    Really, how often does a history book read like accomplished sto

    Really, how often does a history book read like accomplished storytelling? As someone who eagerly devours history tomes and biographies with fervor, I can honestly say that doesn't happen nearly as often as I'd prefer. Often, the information received is the reward, not necessarily the journey of its deliverance. With Exodus Lost, however, readers will find themselves engrossed in a highly-readable book that breaks the rules of the history book rut and launches readers on a path that takes them far beyond the status quo of accepted history. Author S.C. Compton refers to the book as _an inquiry into the genesis of civilization_, a description that accurately illustrates the depth and true comprehensiveness of the information given.

    No matter their passions, history buffs are sure to discover new insights on studied topics. From an exploration of Quetzacoatl and the Olmecs to the Aztec/Mayan calendars and clues hidden in the glacial ice caps of the Peruvian Andes, the thread of civilization weaves through a wide scope of subjects with surprising backstory connections. In the style of an accomplished storyteller, Compton offers readers a page-turning account of the events surrounding the origins, key events, and fascinating entanglement of Egyptian, Mexican, and Western civilization. The information is delivered as mysteries in real-time discovery: readers will discover the twisting evolution (and juxtaposition) of the written alphabet and the class-conscious use of heiroglyphs over the alphabet in such a way that they will feel proud somehow... as if they had trekked with Compton through the journey; as if they had uncovered those patterns themselves. It's a strange, exhilirating feeling.

    With an engaging style and an authoritative voice, the amount of information presented in Exodus Lost is nearly encyclopedic despite its readability - an offbeat handbook that fully belongs on the ready reference shelf. Highly readable, and highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!!

    First I have to start by saying that this book has so many gorgeous illustrations, pictures and maps, that you just may want to actually have a paperback copy if you plan on buying it!!
    History has always been one of my favorite topics in school, and we even enjoy the History channel, as a family, so this was definitely a very interesting book!
    I am just fascinated with this author and how he took so much time and effort to make this book happen! 14 years of researching and studying, and the final project, truly shows all of his hard work!
    This is a stunning book, with so many footnotes, maps and gorgeous color pictures, several illustrations, and tons of research, evidence, and ideas and suggestions that are not the norm. It does bring this whole part of history, into a new light and definitely makes you think!
    Growing up I always was thrilled to learn about this time when we would start this chapter or section in our school history books, but I never read a book that was so intriguing and that taught me so much about this time! I believe the biggest difference is that this book is nowhere near a bore, and you are reading it, and learning at the same time, without even knowing. Even our 8 year old sat in front of the computer learning about the alphabet, and checking out the illustrations and asking all sorts of questions!
    I feel privileged being able to read a book that somebody worked so hard on, to gather the facts and new discoveries. I don't think we ever were told in school anything about 2 different civilizations having so much in common, I don't think anybody asked nor was it ever even discussed.
    You will be shocked over and over again with this book, very fast paced and the author just jumps right in, I love it! You probably will not be putting this book down for a while, not that you would want too!
    Every page you turn, you think, "He can't possibly beat that!", but he does, and the more interesting and weirder it gets with each page.
    If you enjoy history, ancient civilizations, Biblical times, and an intense read, this is certainly the perfect choice!
    SC Compton, is an excellent writer, he will keep you on your toes, very engaging and never boring!

    ** I received a copy of this book in return for my honest review **

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    This book looks at history and archaeology in a very different w

    This book looks at history and archaeology in a very different way. It also attempts to put dates to several Biblical events.

    In the early 1500s, the Aztec leader Montezuma told hernan Cortes and his men that the Aztec civilization was not native to Mexico, but had arrived there from somewhere else across the ocean. According to the author of this book, that "somewhere else" was ancient Egypt.

    In Mesoamerica (ancient Mexico), the Olmec civilization showed evidence of, for instance, aqueducts, burial pyramids, paper production and the world's oldest magnetic compass. There were not the usual incremental improvements over centuries; these appeared abruptly and fully formed. Meantime, their neighbors still lived in huts.

    The Phoenicians were known to be master sailors, circumnavigating Africa more than two thousand years before the Europeans. There are accounts of Phoenicians reaching a large land mass many days sailing across the Atlantic Ocean (America).

    Recent drug tests on Egyptian mummies showed that they tested positive for tobacco and cocaine. Both are indigenous to America and were supposed to be unknown in the Old World before Columbus. There are many other connections between Olmec and Egyptian cultures.

    The Biblical Flood has been dated at approximately 3180 BC. On the floor of the Indian Ocean, a giant crater, consistent with a meteor strike, has been found. Independent scientific evidence has been found of a huge, and very quick, drop in global temperatures at that time. Also, the amount of water vapor kicked into the atmosphere by such a meteor strike could easily have caused forty days and nights of rain.

    Here is a fascinating book, very well-researched, that will get the reader thinking in a whole new way. It may not be for everyone, but, for any sort of ancient history reader, it is highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this exciting and brilliant book a

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this exciting and brilliant book and learned a great deal while at it. Mr. Compton is making such a persuasive case: there is no doubt in my mind that he holds the key to the mystery of the origin of the Olmec civilization. Reading about the flood traditions and the climate data was particularly illuminating and inspiring! Get this book! You won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Looking for a new read? I recommend Exodus Lost! Written by Shimer alum Stephen Compton, this book is a must read for anyone interested in ancient history (and mystery). Stephen pulls together fresh research made available by new technology, reexamines established ideas and assumptions, and travels to sites around the globe to get a closer look for himself and the world. The result will blow your mind, I promise! {btw, I am now diving in for the second time! I will be shifting between Exodus Lost and the Bible, which I am reading for the first time this year.}

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Captivating Book

    I thought that the blend of history, mixed in with the authors creative way of displaying information was incredible. The images included were great to have a visual and brought the book to life. I haven't read such a fine piece of literature in awhile and think that this book is a staple for libraries, schools, and your home shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2