Customer Reviews for

The Exorcist

Average Rating 4.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Incredible

This book was exactly what I was looking for. It fed me. Page after page it delivered line after line of great storytelling, great characters and great setting. It was eerie without being over the top. It was informative without being boring. It was powerful withou...
This book was exactly what I was looking for. It fed me. Page after page it delivered line after line of great storytelling, great characters and great setting. It was eerie without being over the top. It was informative without being boring. It was powerful without being pretentious. This is the ultimate horror novel. It is the standard.

posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than the movie

It was much better than the movie. The ending, to me, is sad. It's something really stays with you.

posted by 14391494 on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    Incredible

    This book was exactly what I was looking for. It fed me. Page after page it delivered line after line of great storytelling, great characters and great setting. It was eerie without being over the top. It was informative without being boring. It was powerful without being pretentious. This is the ultimate horror novel. It is the standard.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    The Grandmother of all horror stories.....

    Although Blatty has always described the Exorcist as more of a detective story, The Exorcist comes across as one of the scariest books, and films of all time. It will tap into your deepest fears, and remains one of the few novels that has and will stand the test of time. An instant classic !!!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Scariest...EVER!!!!!

    I read this book when I was 11 years old and I have never read anything that has surpassed the sheer terror this book instilled in me. And TRUST me!!! I've read a TON of horror novels.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    Truly The Scariest Book

    This is a very well-written, suspenseful, disturbing, one-of-a-kind, horror novel. This is not for sissies! It is better than the well-known film. I recommend this for all fans of sheer ultimate horror it is cleverly and expertly written. I dare you to read this and not get chills crawling up your spine...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    A HORRIFYING. CHILLING. RIVETING. AND MAGNIFICENT CLASSICAL HORROR STORY

    THE SCARIEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. A MARVELOUS TALE OF DEVIL POSSESSION, ESPCIALLY DURING A TIME OF ANGUISH AND DISORDER THE WATERGATE SCANDLE, THE ENDING OF VIETMAN WAR. CHILLING, INNOVATIVE, AND ABSOLUTELY TERRIFYING.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2000

    Pants-soiling horror!

    I think it's pretty much in consensus that this is absolutely the greatest horror novel ever written. If you read it and it didn't scare you then you are dead and It's now starting to scare me to think that you, a dead person, is reading this.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Beautifully Written

    This book is absolutely terrifying. My parents allowed me to watch the movie when I was 5 years old, so I was always so scared of Regan. Somethimg about her makeup in the movie just stuck with me and terrifyed me. Now that I'm 17 and reading the book, I realise what fantastic casting they did to portray a fantastic plot.

    The author writes this book in such a way that makes you want to continue reading; I can't put the book down. The frequent use of italics makes it easier to read and seem more organized, but maybe thats the OCD in me talking.

    What I really like about this book is that it jumps right into the tense and somewhat frightening parts (granted, it does get progressively scarrier as the novel carries on, starting off mild). Having seen the movie first I knew there was a big, long, boring intro about a coin in some hot land (I always skip that part) but the book starts off in Regan and Chris' house immediately. One thing I love is a book that hooks you from the first page. I got the free sample on my Nook Color first, then instantly bought the book when I was done with the sample. I just had to keep reading.

    I believe this really is one of the scariest books of all time, and I am a HUGE horror genre fan.
    I reccommend it to anyone looking for an intense, scary read (and who doesn't mind the very graphic language used).

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Exorcist holds up nicely against the test of time

    In 1940s Georgetown, actress and single mother Chris MacNeil begins a new film. Her happy young daughter Regan is with her. The child begins to complain to her mom about noises at night and her bed shaking. Chris assumes it is just a child's imagination perhaps caused by her parents' recent divorce. However, she becomes concerned when Regan's mental state deteriorates. Doctors find nothing wrong while Regan's health changes for the worse as her language is filled with profanity, her strength greater than several circus strong men and she claims to be the devil as she molests herself with a religious icon.

    Chris asks the Jesuits to conduct an exorcism. Psychologist Father Karras, who suffers from a crisis of faith when he failed to be there for his dying widow mom, arrives seeking a medical solution even when he witnesses first hand the inexplicable. Finally Father Merrin comes to Georgetown to attempt the exorcism while DC Police Lieutenant William Kinderman seeks a ritual serial killer who also desecrates churches.

    Forty years since the classic horror was published (two years before the movie) and The Exorcist holds up nicely against the test of time as an exciting good vs. evil thriller in spite of most readers knowing the story line and the release of a sequel (see Legion). The novel is character driven by a strong cast with readers wondering for much of the plot whether Regan is possessed or insane; for how can the devil take residence in an innocent child. This barrier breaker tale remains a strong psychological horror thriller as William Peter Blatty enables his audience to see deep into the souls of the priests, the actress, the cop and mostly the besieged victim.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    this book seriously is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    thank you william peter blatty for this one amazing work of art true art in a form of a amazing tale good against evil!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is a really great read. It held my attention all the way through and I found myself not wanting to put it down. It may be a long book, but I read through it like a flip book. It is wonderfully written and is a great book to read even if you aren't scared by it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Awesomely creepy

    if you scare easily dont read this book. it was very chilling but i could just not put this book down for the life of me!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    Scariest film and book of all time

    I read this in high school and it scared me to death. I was actually looking forward to the movie, thinking, 'It couldn't possibly be worse (scarier) than the book.' WRONG! Truly, this is one of the most disturbing things ever to hit the page or screne

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    MUST READ

    I just have three words for you, SCARY AS HELL!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    Disturbing

    The book, for me, was more disturbing than scary. I don't belive in demonic possession but this book was so well written and I got so wrapped up in the characters, my disbelief was put on hold. The Exorcist is not just about evil, it's also a book about great faith. It's MUCH better than the movie and definatly not for the very impressionable.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    Post Tenebras Lux

    I saw the movie when I was a kid. I was frightened for MONTHS. Now 31, I decided to read the book. Here I am, absolutely scared again. Forget all you know, don't intellectualize the book and you will feel all its impact. Just let it take over you. Absolutely recomended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    WOW!!!

    If you liked the movie, you will absolutely LOVE the book. William Peter Blatty couldn't have done a better job on this masterpiece.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    I loved it

    I have to say I loved this book. If u seen the movie you have to read this book. Truthful and honesty it was not scary to me for the fact is I do not get scared easy. But I do enjoy horror and love this. I would recommend this to anyone interested in a good exorcist book. The charator and there thoughts was perfect and the demon so evil. I give this 5 stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Very good

    Although I had seen the movie, I never had read the book until now and I am glad I did. It one of those books that you can't set it down; I really like it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. It didn't scare me as much as it fas

    I really enjoyed this book. It didn't scare me as much as it fascinated me. I always wanted to keep reading, and see what happened. It was
    a very good book. People told me the original movie was one of the best horror movies made, and the book reflected that. If the things 
    that happened in this book, happened in real life, I would be very horrified!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Fantastic book!

    I read this book over 3 days. I could not put it down! The suspense builds nicely, and then it is a full-on assault of terror. I've always loved the movie, and now I can say without hesitation that the book is a masterpiece as well. A must read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7