Customer Reviews for

The Exorcist

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Incredible

This book was exactly what I was looking for. It fed me. Page after page it delivered line after line of great storytelling, great characters and great setting. It was eerie without being over the top. It was informative without being boring. It was powerful withou...
This book was exactly what I was looking for. It fed me. Page after page it delivered line after line of great storytelling, great characters and great setting. It was eerie without being over the top. It was informative without being boring. It was powerful without being pretentious. This is the ultimate horror novel. It is the standard.

posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than the movie

It was much better than the movie. The ending, to me, is sad. It's something really stays with you.

posted by 14391494 on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Good book

    This was a great book. Although a few odd times I skipped a couple of pages of nothing important. All in all I enjoyed reading it. I've seen the movie a bunch of times and was wondering how the book was. I was more interested in the Regan storyline then the detective stuff. Those were the parts I skipped through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Perhaps my expectations were too high.

    I feel like I should give this a higher rating given how much of a well-known classic it is. However, perhaps I was expecting a lot because it was so hyped and to be disappointed leaves a bad taste in my mouth. There was so much of this book that, in my opinion, should have been fleshed out. Either the actual possession scenes, the story of the two priests, or the exorcism itself, but something needed more fleshed out and focused on. However, I have to give this one at least 3 stars simply because there are some very well done scenes that both struck me as I was reading and linger in my imagination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Great Read

    Excellent book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    LOVES IT!

    This book was sooooo good! It's so gripping! It's like your being possessed to read this book! MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    a chilling novel

    this book was great, just like the movie. i had a hard time trying to figure out wether I should give this 4 stars or 5.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    Review for the Exorcist by William Peter Blatty

    I recently chose to read The Exorcist for a school project. Having heard so much about its film adaptation, I was curious to see what the book was like. As I was reading, it was a bit confusing at times but in retrospect I really enjoyed the book.
    The prologue starts somewhere in the middle east. I suppose it's meant to be one of those mysterious introductions, where you're not supposed to know exactly what's happening. Suddenly, it jumps over to the house of Chris Macneil, an actress living in the US. The first chapter is slow, consisting largely of dialogue between Chris and a friend of hers. I felt that the first chapter was somewhat wasted because the author spends a lot of time developing the friend's character, but doesn't use him much at all for the rest of the book.
    After that it starts to pick up. Blatty describes minor disturbances happening throughout the house, and you get that gut feeling that some BAD stuff is coming. He gives you that outside view where you look in on the completely oblivious characters. As disturbances start getting worse the tension starts building as well. In the process, the book begins to feel like faster reading, lots of dialogue, more action, less long description.
    Then we start to see Regan's (Chris's daughter, the one we guess is possessed) condition worsen. When I read through and got to this area, I thought I was almost near the peak of the plot, but no, I wasn't. It turns out that between the first signs of something evil and the actual climax exists a gap of doctors assuming her condition is purely biological. This was a bit of a bother for me. I felt that I was hearing mostly the same thing over and over. However, these cycles are endurable as the book remains gripping and suspenseful during this period. You know another attack is coming, but you can't even begin to guess what it will be. Now I won't reveal the end, but I will say that it is powerful, and thought provoking.
    Overall, I felt that the book's intention was not to scare you and disturb you, but to make you think. Think about yourself, religion, demons, anything. You can't help but wonder if it could actually happen. Supposedly the book is inspired by a TRUE story. Through most of the book, there exists overwhelming evil and despair. However, the ending may just restore your faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2003

    It really makes you think...

    I don`t need say the book is fantastic,but the real thing is that most people watch the movie before read the book, and I think it is a big mistake. The book speaks about an actress, Chris Macneil, that lives happy with her little daughter, Regan, a well comportaded girl. Regan starts to strange something hapenning inside her home, she stranges the behave of the daughter and decides take her to all kind of doctors. Sometimes the hardest thing in our lives is identify the problem, before try use solutions, and it is still harder if the problem s not from this world. Chris talks with Regan and discoveries that Regan has kidded with Ouija table, a kind of table that Chris bought to discover what was inside her subconscient. Regan says that she could talk with Howdy Captain, a kind of friend that talks with the little girl. Based on the behave of her little daughter, Regan stops to try the help of doctors and tries the help of an exorcist... She speaks with Damien Karras, a man with serious faith problems. He was also a psicanalist and because of his faith problems he always says the girl has mental problems. But another help was coming... Lankester Merrin, an known exorcist has received a signal. He was in Iraq, when he found a little stone statue. Was Pazuzu, a demon that he fighted against one time, and it was not the only. The Exorcist goes to the place where it is hapenning. Up to this time people already died and until a dectetive is on the case. With the situation Karras started to believe that there is something bigger than our human understanding. Merrin dies because of his ill and Damien Karras really fell it. With the pain, Karras saves the little girl with his own life, bringing the devil inside himself. It is a beautiful history, and touches the human in his most delicated point, the unknown. As I have said, the book won`t be so exciting if you have watched the movie, that is so good as the literary work, mainly if we observe the date that it was made, it is really a thing of another world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2000

    Makes you think!!!

    I thought that The Book was exactly as it should have been. It was very detailed however,I saw That it was not for the ordinary reader!! I viewed the first movie, then I went to my school library To retreive the book, I could not put it down!! It might not have been so scary, but it was very interesting. I then saw the second AND third movies which explain the deaths of the two preists, exorcist two explains father merrin, and the third, father Karras, It was such a trivial thing to sit and to watch, All the secrets come out, and if you any have questions, these are your answers!!!!! Enjoy!!! A mighty Survivor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    Tragedy Behind the Movie The Exorcist

    If you enjoyed the book and the movie and want to find out about the true story behind the book and the trouble surrounding the making of the movie, check out 'Curse of the Silver Screen - Tragedy & Disaster Behind the Movies by John W. Law

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2