Customer Reviews for

The Expectant Father: Facts, Tips, and Advice for Dads-to-Be

Average Rating 3.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

On behalf of my husband...

My husband would never write a review, so i'll just do it for him because we've discussed this book in detail many times. This book was EXACTLY what he was looking for in a 'for dad's-to-be' book! I read it, too, and it really does present practical, realistic advice ...
My husband would never write a review, so i'll just do it for him because we've discussed this book in detail many times. This book was EXACTLY what he was looking for in a 'for dad's-to-be' book! I read it, too, and it really does present practical, realistic advice and information from a man's point of view and talks about some issues that women typically don't focus on while they're pregnant. I found it useful as a discussion-opener because my husband didn't really get into all my 'for mom's-to-be' books and it really opened my eyes to some things that were going on in his head. And i appreciated that it didn't go into pregnant-woman-bashing for the sake of a laugh, like many of the for-mom's books unfortunately seem to do about men.

posted by Anonymous on January 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nothing Additional Added

I really just felt that all the other general purpose pregnancy books that are geared to couples and women have the same information for men. I didn't feel that this additional book was needed. Most of it was what was already in the other pregnancy books the my wife a...
I really just felt that all the other general purpose pregnancy books that are geared to couples and women have the same information for men. I didn't feel that this additional book was needed. Most of it was what was already in the other pregnancy books the my wife and I have. If you are interested in reading those books, as they are much more detailed about the pregnancy and what the baby and mother are going through, there is nothing new or additional in this book.

posted by 3045499 on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    On behalf of my husband...

    My husband would never write a review, so i'll just do it for him because we've discussed this book in detail many times. This book was EXACTLY what he was looking for in a 'for dad's-to-be' book! I read it, too, and it really does present practical, realistic advice and information from a man's point of view and talks about some issues that women typically don't focus on while they're pregnant. I found it useful as a discussion-opener because my husband didn't really get into all my 'for mom's-to-be' books and it really opened my eyes to some things that were going on in his head. And i appreciated that it didn't go into pregnant-woman-bashing for the sake of a laugh, like many of the for-mom's books unfortunately seem to do about men.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth the read!

    As a first time father, I found this book to be helpful and an easy read. I am following along month by month, and it helps to have a guide to help your wife during her more difficult moments. Recommend this highly!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend for all Expecting Fathers

    I am only 20 years old and going through my first pregnancy. We originally had another "expecting father book" but it was trash, I mean it was so sarcastic- you couldn't part the facts from the jokes, none of it made sense and it was so degrading, it made me sick. When we bought this book, my husband was zoned in immediately. I was sick that same night we bought it and he was running all over the place telling me not to do this but to do that... It was very helpful and I recommend this book. Other books we've looked at have almost portrayed men to be stupid and this book does not. This book was easier to read then my book even, and there were some facts in there that I still haven't found in my expecting mother book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    The BEST father-to-be book out there

    This book was wonderful. My husband and I both read this book. It has great humor to it and covers a lot of issues that a female's pregnancy book doesn't. Money, sex, the raging hormones and changes to MY body from a mans point of view. My husband claims that this book put him to (well some point of) ease about pregnancy and a child. I ABSOLUTELY recommend this book, to both mothers and fathers to be.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    Must have for 1st time dads

    The book was recommended by a friend. I am not the type to read about how to be a dad. The book was GREAT. I kept telling my wife 'My book told me that would happen'. It was not just about physical things. It helped me deal with the mood swings and everything else before and after our son was born. I have purchased the book for every one of my friends that is a soon to be dad for the first time. MUST HAVE IT

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Nothing Additional Added

    I really just felt that all the other general purpose pregnancy books that are geared to couples and women have the same information for men. I didn't feel that this additional book was needed. Most of it was what was already in the other pregnancy books the my wife and I have. If you are interested in reading those books, as they are much more detailed about the pregnancy and what the baby and mother are going through, there is nothing new or additional in this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    Helping Men Understand Pregnancy

    I got this book when my wife was pregnant with our first child. It really helped me to understand what she was going through and what to expect before my wife did. It did all this in a fun and informative way, and in layman terms that men can understand.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2000

    Another good book!

    As a Dad-to-Be, I found The Expectant Father to be informative and interesting. My wife and I had already encountered many of the issues discussed in the book and I was happy to see that for the most part, I seemed to be doing the right things. The suggestions for staying involved and maintaining open communication provided ways for my wife and I to participate together in 'our' pregnancy. I especially liked the monthly descriptions of the baby's development. It gave me a clear picture of what he was looking and doing as each month of the pregnancy progressed. If you are looking for a good 'couple' book, I also recommend We're Pregnant! by Cindy and Eugene Kappler. It provides a very realistic look at life as an expectant couple.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    If you husband has all the say

    I bought this book for my husband. He is lost with this being my second pregnancy, but the first for him. I've been there done that so I know what to expect. As we were going through this book, I was noticing that it doesn't give women a say in their own pregnancy. He started to tell me what was going to happen when I go in labor and how I was going to do things. The book is based off of this one person's experiance, not what different people could experiance. So if you have a husband that you let run every aspect of your life get it, if you would like a say, stay far far away from this book.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    Excellent books for expectant fathers - and mothers!

    My husband and I are newly pregnant, and he has already read this book cover-to-cover. I have read it, too, and learned a lot - it covers areas that most pregnancy books don't, such as finances and being a working parent. I am so happy that this book exists, because it has given my husband the tools he need to really be my partner throughout this exciting time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2001

    Wonderful!

    A terrific book for 'expectant dads' during the first nine months. Too often, fathers feel like second bananas during their wives' pregnancy, and they don't get as involved with the kids as they'd like to. We need a lot more books that will help new dads become happily involved with their babies from the very beginning!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Great book & very helpful!

    Great book & very helpful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    A daddy-to-be must have

    My husband has bought this for every one of his daddy-to-be friends. He's heard nothing be great reviews from the friends he's given it to. Not only that, but it was the only birth and beyond book that he read from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    NOt supported on Iphone

    I have tried to purchase this "ebook" a few times on my Iphone and have been unbelievably unsuccessful. If you are looking for this book, i would suggest the paperback version as trying the ebook will result in a customer service phone call of at least 30 minutes. I have not had any problems with barnes and noble in the past but may be trying the amazon app from now on.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read for Every New Dad

    We give this book as a gift to every new dad we know, whether he is family or friend. It enables the expectant fathers to read from a man's point of view what is going on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2004

    The Best Book Ever!

    Funny, easy to read, and informative. I would reccommend it to any father-to-be!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3