Customer Reviews for

Expecting Adam: A True Story of Birth, Rebirth and Everyday Magic

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - Important and Honest

I, too, was instructed to terminate my pregnancy when my daughter was diagnosed with Trisomy 13. Like Martha Beck, I chose life for my child and it was the most important thing I have and will ever do while on this Earth. Ms. Beck gives a very honest and raw account o...
I, too, was instructed to terminate my pregnancy when my daughter was diagnosed with Trisomy 13. Like Martha Beck, I chose life for my child and it was the most important thing I have and will ever do while on this Earth. Ms. Beck gives a very honest and raw account of her experience, interwoven with wit and faith. It is a must read for any family going forward with a pregnancy after a diagnosis such as Down's Syndrome or other Trisomys. They will relate to her feelings and appreciate her candor.

posted by isabellas-garden on February 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I Really enjoyed Marthas Becks, story about her pregnancy with Adam and the unexpected miracles, a great read!

GReat Book!

posted by MJohnmay291958 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended - Important and Honest

    I, too, was instructed to terminate my pregnancy when my daughter was diagnosed with Trisomy 13. Like Martha Beck, I chose life for my child and it was the most important thing I have and will ever do while on this Earth. Ms. Beck gives a very honest and raw account of her experience, interwoven with wit and faith. It is a must read for any family going forward with a pregnancy after a diagnosis such as Down's Syndrome or other Trisomys. They will relate to her feelings and appreciate her candor.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    My favorite book of all time

    I think I have read this book 3, maybe 4 times now. This is how much I love this story and love the authors insight into her own life. It reads like fiction, only it is so much better because it is true. It is the type of book you wish Martha Beck would write another so we can continue to share the story of how Adam changed their lives for the better. Thank you Martha Beck for being brave enough to reveal this story. I, for one, was uplifted and inspired by your tale.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    I Really enjoyed Marthas Becks, story about her pregnancy with Adam and the unexpected miracles, a great read!

    GReat Book!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Beautiful

    Thought provoking and inspiring. A beautiful story of how perceived adversity can turn out to be a vehicle towards discovering the best in ourselves and everything and everyone around us.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    WOULD NOT RECOMMEND

    While I can relate (because I'm a mother) and sympathize (because of the Down Syndrome) with the author, I could not help but feel that she was totally self-centered. The entire book was 'poor me.' She was always exhausted and always plagued with some problem. Her poor daughter was completely neglected. I mean, how many times did the author tell the readers that she laid in bed for hours and days utterly overcome with exhaustion, complaining and crying and feeling sorry for herself before she remembered to get up and take care of her daughter?! Also, the author's views regarding angels, reincarnation, praying to Japanese statues, New Age religions, psychics, Christianity, etc. are completely warped and very scary. This book will lead anyone who doesn't have a strong belief in God down the wrong path by encouraging them to believe in whatever, wherever, whomever, and however. I would NOT recommend this book at all!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2000

    The best book I've read in years

    I love books and if you love books like I do, you know that a good book is a treasure. This book is a amazing. Not only is the story remarkable, Martha Beck's writing style is outstanding. She is one of the best female writers I've read. This book will change you. It will stay in your mind for months. It is the type of book you need to read twice, just to digest the wonderful truths found inside. I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I did!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Dont miss

    Martha beck is funny and insightful. It is a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Magical!!!!!!!!!

    This book is amazing! I love it so much that I now own the paperback edition and the Nook edition. I read it when I need reassurance that life is good, that "bad" things happen for good reasons, etc.
    I am a mom to a disabled child, so I empathize with this couple. Their stress, their fighting, their eventual unification together over their special needs son. The story is so unbelievable at points that it comes across as completely honest. Which is where the magic comes in. Open your mind, open this book, and allow yourself to believe.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Beautifully written. Funny yet touching.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Beautifully written, Poignant, and Heart-warming

    I've enjoyed Martha Beck's witty and meaningful page in every O Magazine. I was interested in the subject of this book, and excited to see Martha's name as the author. Her writing talent is superb, and the way she tells this story of her son, Adam, brings light to the subject of compassion and appreciation for children who aren't quite the "norm." Martha reveals her courage in continuing her pregnancy despite everyone's advice to abort, and her personal growth in faith. We see Adam taking on his own personality and becoming a well-loved person who makes a difference in the lives of those he touches. Martha shares wonderful bits of her wisdom throughout the book, each one worthy of being framed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Inspiring, and a little scary!

    This story showed me that there is more to this life than what we can see in front of us, and that worldly success is not the prize it may appear to be.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2001

    Meeting Adam will make you smile!!

    A beautiful, beautiful story. Not really about the birth of a Down Syndrome baby at all-more about the author's Rebirth as a human and woman. She brings the truth about 'the Harvard(University)culture' to the forefront and reminds us that what you see on the outside is really not what life is all about. Spiritual yet not religous--anyone will enjoy this...except for the faculty at Harvard!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great premise. Touching story. But way too much whoo-whoo for th

    Great premise. Touching story. But way too much whoo-whoo for this reader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    A must read!!!

    Can't put this one down! Absolutely one of my favs!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Great book for a book club. So much to consider. Loved the implication of a higher being and wished author would have been very clear in the end who the higher power is.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    A thought-provoking read.

    I found 'Expecting Adam' an interesting read, thought-provoking and fascinating to follow Martha's journey from a book-smart, by-the-book person to a human being with a heightened consciousness of the world beyond facts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Read it three times!

    This book is so much more than a story about a Down's baby/family. An inspiring look at things we might not talk about. Very much worth the time and focus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2007

    fascinatingly honest!!

    Rarely does a Harvard woman let you know what is really happening in her life. It is all about scholarly persuits and the higher intellectual plane. This book lets you inside the transformation of the author from emotional robot intent on persuing a doctorate above all else to warm, nuturing woman. Martha Beck reformed herself through her pregnancy with a son with Down syndrome. This is a remarkably honest story of a woman who found herself in the throes of a difficult pregnancy. I laughed out loud and cried silent tears at the pathos of the human condition.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Disappointing

    I was disappointed in this book. It dragged interminably and I had to force myself to finish it. I expected her to discuss what she learned by having a Downs Syndrome child, but she rarely addressed this. She focused on how hard it was to be pregnant. I grew tired of her neglecting her daughter and not being a responsible parent and adult.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    Calamity Jane Writes Again

    I have heard nothing but wonderful reviews of this book, so I'm willing to concede that it is me, but I was frustrated throughout my read. Shuttling her toddler daughter in a back-pack for repeated hand-offs to her husband; ignoring an OBs advice to get to the ER immediately to evaluate copious bleeding; laying in bed for hours on end while Katie sat unattended etc. all made me feel that many of Martha's calamaties were self imposed. Her attribution of the obvious divine intervention that graced her incredibly difficult second pregnancy to vague paranormal forces, and her placing more stock in a soothsayer than in a higher power made me sad for her three children. The book is beautifully drafted and displays an enviable wit, but the bottom line, sadly, is that despite all that graced her, poor Martha still doesn't get it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3