Customer Reviews for

The Explosive Child: A New Approach for Understanding and Parenting Easily Frustrated, Chronically Inflexible Children

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

An exceptionally helpful book

The Explosive Child is the most helpful book on difficult children that I have ever read. My 14 year old son is described perfectly by Dr. Greene & his approach is very easy to implement. After discussing how to decide if something is really worth arguing about, he offe...
The Explosive Child is the most helpful book on difficult children that I have ever read. My 14 year old son is described perfectly by Dr. Greene & his approach is very easy to implement. After discussing how to decide if something is really worth arguing about, he offers great ideas for teaching extremely inflexible kids how to negotiate & compromise without having a tantrum. It was reassuring to know that my son's behavior is not unique and there are practical ways of dealing (i.e. preventing) outbursts. I wish I had read this book years ago. His methods apply to all ages, including teenagers.

posted by Anonymous on May 6, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

not helpful for very young children and not much new

this book had some explanation of the wiring issues that can be causing the outbursts. the solutions offered however were nothing that i haven't seen other places. i think that "How to Talk so Kids Will Listen; How to Listen so Kids Will Talk" does a much better job. ...
this book had some explanation of the wiring issues that can be causing the outbursts. the solutions offered however were nothing that i haven't seen other places. i think that "How to Talk so Kids Will Listen; How to Listen so Kids Will Talk" does a much better job. Greene's solutions are approaches that I think can benefit all kids, not just explosive ones. Having said that, I think "How to Talk..." is a better use of your money. The reason I chose to try this book is that I was hoping for some help with my daughter who is three and has been having tantrums where she throws, hits, and kicks that last twenty minutes on average for about 14 months. Because she is still so young, talking it over with her preemptively really doesn't help. I've tried many times. So Greene has nothing to offer if your child can't think about future events in a constructive way. There were a few helpful tidbits to remind me that she doesn't want to behave that way and that she does have a physiological delay. But beyond that, not much.

posted by RedSwan on August 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2001

    An exceptionally helpful book

    The Explosive Child is the most helpful book on difficult children that I have ever read. My 14 year old son is described perfectly by Dr. Greene & his approach is very easy to implement. After discussing how to decide if something is really worth arguing about, he offers great ideas for teaching extremely inflexible kids how to negotiate & compromise without having a tantrum. It was reassuring to know that my son's behavior is not unique and there are practical ways of dealing (i.e. preventing) outbursts. I wish I had read this book years ago. His methods apply to all ages, including teenagers.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Head line

    It was dineamite!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Let's Enjoy Our Children

    A big thanks to Dr. Greene for looking inside children with a thoughtful, hopeful approach that takes into consideration their unique wiring. This philosophy is the foundation of our own unique approach called Celebrate!ADHD...in which we restore a child's confidence, purpose and joy by focusing on the child's natural gifts, talents and passions. www.celebrateADHD.com Often times the child who is explosive and defiant also has some characteristics that we value in trailblazing entrepreneurs, scientists, inventors and entertainers. They have passion and incredible focus on their gifts, they have the persistence to continue working toward their dreams even when others say it can't be done. Let's not try to make these kids act like everyone else for our own convenience--or the convenience of teachers and schools. Let's take stock of their unique qualities, turn negatives into positives and focus their energy on their strengths. Above all, let's enjoy our children. Thanks again to Dr. Greene for his work. This book will help many parents.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Finally--Someone Understands!

    This book was the first of many we read that not only explained the characteristics of the problem but actually walked us through step-by-step how to help. At age four our oldest child was diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome and ADHD and was a terror--I was embarrassed to take him out in public, because people with 'normal' children always thought his tantrums were due to bad parenting. Initially, I was skeptical of Dr. Greene's approach, but he addressed all of my skepticisms! I would certainly recommend that parents who struggle with an inflexible, explosive child give this book a try. (Note: We used this approach in conjuction with starting medication, so it may have been the combination of the two that did the trick.)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Highly Recommended - this is a must read for parents

    My wife and I have been struggling with our daughter for 4 years. We had tried literally everything to get her behavior under control but nothing was working. I picked up this book and immediately I have changed my entire thought process and approach my daughters challenges from a completely different direction. It was like a golden light went off in my head. I cannot begin to explain how this book is changing my life. For any parent who is struggline with a child where behavior is the issue and you feel like you are at your witts end, you need this book. Dr. Green goes into depth exactly WHY the explosive behaviors happen and why the standard ways of dealing with them do not work. It is nothing short of amazing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Have been a psychotherapist working exclusively with children an

    Have been a psychotherapist working exclusively with children and adolescents for the past 14 years. When working with parents who are struggling with a child who struggles with maladaptive behaviors, I without hesitation refer them to this book. As opposed to most "parenting" books, this read illustrates the importance of addressing the "why" a behavior is happening and not simply teaching traditional behavioral appoaches such as a token economy or a reward/punishment model. Courtesy of this book and the Collaborative Problem Solving approach to therapy, I have numerous examples of families I've worked with that began therapy feeling hopeless and overwhelmed only to finish therapy feeling optimisitic and connected with their once labeled "explosive child".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2004

    EXCELLENT RESOURCE

    THIS BOOK HAS BEEN VERY HELPFUL. IT VALIDATES MANY OF MY OWN BELIEFS. I FIND MYSELF MENTALLY REFERRING TO THE BOOK WHENEVER I'M IN TOUGH SITUATIONS AND THINKING BEFORE I RESPOND. I FEEL A LOAD TAKEN OFF MY SHOULDERS. IT'S COMFORTING TO HAVE THIS SUPPORT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    A dream come true

    This was the most helpful book in dealing with my son. Finally an approach that works!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    Finally!

    Finally, a book that not only recognizes my sons' disorder but also walks you step by step to help him and our family. I started reading Dr. Greene's book 3 days ago and already I have recommended it to other parents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    Wonderful Book

    Finally a book that not only explains the reasons why my child acts the way he does - but gave me workable solutions! If your family is suffering from having a child with this disorder - order this book immediately!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    All parents should read this

    Although this book is written for children with extreme problems, I have found it helpful even for children who are a little more difficult than average. It is an understanding, empathetic, and loving approach to helping (rather than punishing) children who have problems with behavior. It is very effective not only in improving behavior, but in improving trust and the parent-child relationship. As Dr. Greene says, 'Children do well if they can. If they can't, we need to figure out why, so we can help.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2000

    A Bright Ray of Hope

    Parents of children like those Dr Greene describes will recognize this book as the first ray of hope in a long dark tunnel. His approach is extremely unique yet natural. His method yields immediate results in reducing family friction while setting the stage for long term heeling. An unequivocal must read for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    This is really important

    Hi im a 14 year old girl. I never actually read this book but i need help. I have been having a really tough time with my family. Let me be honest i lie alot. Well i guess i keep pushing them to much. Then i took my grandmas money but she gave it to me to get tissues in a store and i biught base with it. I never asked if i could use it for that purpose. Im not even alowwed to wear base. But then yesterday i lied to my dad about it and said that i didnt have it on when i really did which was so stupid of me to do. I shouldve been honest. So niw there calling me a thief. Noone can trust me. Then my mom is calling me selfish but yet i help everybody and care about everyone. She said that the only person i care for is myself. Not true. I used to be in foster care and then they adopted me but now that i pushed and pushed theyre so close to putting me in foster care again. I dont want to go. I love them but i guess im scared to shiw it i dont know. I want to tell them im sorry and just talk to them about everything and im probably going to do that today but i dint know how its goikg to go. Im scardf of what will come next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    If you have a child with ADHD, or a child who seems inflexible,

    If you have a child with ADHD, or a child who seems inflexible, this is a must-read. This book changed our family -- it helped us understand our son's behaviors, and helped us attack them in an appropriate manner. Read this now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    very worthwhile read

    very informative and useful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    Great for school counselors!

    This book gave me great insight for helping explosive students that I have at my high school! I learned more from reading this book than from a whole semester of classes.I will recommend this book to many parents for years to come. Thank you Dr. Greene!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    It has helped me feel more in control!

    I have not yet finished this book, but already, it has given me insight into my childs behavior. It suggests the behavior is not intentional and therefore gives different ways of handling the explosive and defiant situations! This is better than any therapist. My child and I will both benefit from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    The first step in diagnosing bi-polar

    My son has suffered with bi-polar disorder child since the age of 2 and was not diagnosed until age 10 and only after seeking psychiatric assistance from at least 4 professionals. This book helped us determine that my 'out of control' son was indeed not out of control but had a medical condition not yet looked into. This book enlightened not only our family but also finally lead to the diagnosis of 'bi-polar'. I read this book and spoke more openly to our physicians who finally determined that we did not have a 'bad' child or an 'out of control spoiled child' but one who possibly had a disorder called 'bi-polar'. We now have gone through many many medication changes with numerous side effects, but we now have a child who we can work with and who now feels that he is part of the family vs. the one nobody understands or loves. One note of advice, please speak and ask questions openly to physicians to find out what they are actually doing to help your child during psychology visits and stay active in the treatment to ensure your child is receiving the best of care. It was not until my last psychologist that I found that the previous three were talking to my child but was not including us as parents or the school for help. How ironic that my child who's test scores in the 5th and 6th grade are superior above average is enrolled in a special education class for help with disorganization, homework, projects and planning which helps us as parents to be 'Mom and Dad' and not teachers. Please look into every possible source of help thru your school district. It's out there, you just need to know where to look and seek help from your health professionals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    Great Help for Dealing with Frustrated Children

    This book has changed my way of thinking about a child who is frustrated and cannot transition easily ; it helps one see what is important and encourages giving up on methods that work with all one's other children but are of no help with this one; very encouraging and practical

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2