BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Explosive Eighteen (Stephanie Plum Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 1264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(548)

4 Star

(322)

3 Star

(210)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(95)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

108 out of 122 people found this review helpful.

great

I love the Stephanie Plum series. it's awesome!!!! can't wait to read the next.

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

I don't think it's just me... but the prices are awful!

I don't understand the point of paying the same price for an ebook as I would pay for a hardcover book. Why bother? If I pay $15 ($14.99) for a hardcover, then wait a bit and pay $6 ($5.95) for a softcover, why the heck am I paying the same price for the ebook as the ha...
I don't understand the point of paying the same price for an ebook as I would pay for a hardcover book. Why bother? If I pay $15 ($14.99) for a hardcover, then wait a bit and pay $6 ($5.95) for a softcover, why the heck am I paying the same price for the ebook as the hardcover? Shouldn't the price be less than a softcover, since the printing and publishing prices are just about nil with an ebook? At this rate, I'll just stick with buying the hardcover, reading it, then reselling it. Otherwise, it's just silly.

posted by luvmybabek on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1265 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I love the Stephanie Plum series. it's awesome!!!! can't wait to read the next.

    108 out of 122 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait!!!!

    I am so excited to get my hands on this one !!!!!!!

    93 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    STALE AND OLD

    I started out not wanting to read this set of books but my daughter pushed until i decided to give it a try. I laughed until i cried. At least until i got to the last couple three books. I will no longer read them. They have gotten old and stale. They started out being great reads but Janet no longer puts much thought into what she is writing and frankly not worth my time now. There are much better authers out there that put in the effort to keep their readers entertained. I can only hope janet starts putting more effort into her books. She can be a great writer if she would slow down and give us what we are paying for. A GOOD BOOK!!!

    54 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Better than the last one.

    Explosive Eighteen was better than the last few books but it was still not up to the standards set by the first few. There were one or two laugh out loud moments, you find out what happened in Hawaii (one paragraph), & Stephanie deals with some not-so-scary bad guys. I understand that the series revolves around the love triangle, but I wish that something big would shake things up (not a pregnancy like some people suggest). There isn't much spark between Stephanie and Joe or Ranger. I think it would do Janet Evanovich some good to take some time away from the series and come back with some new fresh ideas. I will continue to read the series because it is an easy light read & I care about the characters, but it really has become the same thing over and over.

    35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Forget it...

    What a waste of money and time. Same old formula, nothing new....boring.
    Stephanie Plum is such a great character, but why no new stories, plots, characters? Same old, same old

    Janet Evanovich has really let her readers down with this new installment.

    26 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Fast Paced Fun

    I have read all the S Plum books. If you want something fun and easy to read try this series. Yes, it does almost read like a comedy comic book series but I fell in love with the characters and have not as of yet tired of reading Stephanie's adventures. "Babe"......

    21 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Slightly less disappointing than the last

    I eagerly awaited the 18th installment, hoping there would be a significant improvement over the last few novels. It was better than seventeen and certainly better than sixteen, but the story is repetitive and stale. I wish Stephanie would show some significant growth, and while Lula can be great comic relief the character is so ridiculous she's become an anvil, further pulling down the series. The series is tired, time to put it to bed.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    disappointment!

    I don't know why the author keeps on remaking her characters in a way that it gets too boring and all. The quality of the story depreciates in every sequel that comes out.

    16 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Dezi

    I love the series. I believe the characters are well developed. However, with all of the characters involved, it is hard to address each and every one of them in all of the books. I think Janet does a GREAT job. However, I myself, am getting a little tired of the love triangle. Stephanie's character needs to make a choice.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Very disappointing

    Not one laugh. Stories are getting old and Lula needs to be retired. I used to love these books.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Don't Bother

    I hate to say it but Explosive Eighteen is the last Janet Evanovich book I will ever read . . . I'm tired of her never having Stephanie make a choice and I'm just tired of reading almost the same stories over and over again . . . I'm sad because I really enjoyed the first half of these books but she's lost me and that stinks :( She should have ended after book 11 with a final choice between the two men . . . the stories just seem rehashed and sad and I won't waste my money on another of her books.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Best book since Fourteen...

    After books 15-17, I was ready to say stick a fork in Stephanie because she is done. I'm not even convinced JE wrote those books. However, I am inclined to believe that JE actually wrote this book. It really reminds me of the earlier Plum books that were so fun to read. It also seemed like a full length novel compared to 17 that had 300 pages, but gigantic font and a lot of spacing. I think this book heads the series back in the right direction and was happy to see even Stephanie start to recognize that maybe something needs to change. I wish we'd been given more of the Hawaii incident, but overall it was a fun read. It seems that maybe this series still has hope.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Disappointing

    I loved this series for the first 12 or 13 books. However, it has gotten terribly boring and predictable. Way past time for Stephanie to grow up and move on. Really bothers me that she sleeps with Ranger one day and Morelli the next. There is no way they would put up with that. This book seemed very short and undeveloped. I get frustrated waiting 2-3 years for Diana Gabaldon to release a book but at least she has plenty of plot and character developement. Dont waste the money. Wait for it to show up at your library.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    really??

    If you dont like a book thats been discounted almpsr 50% off, dont buy it and go find it cheaper. This is a great series and i have already preordered th newest book. Cant wait.

    12 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended

    obviously havent read it yet, but I'm so excited!! My birthday is november 22nd, and I was dreading that day, but now it can't get here fast enough!!! you people are all so weird posting stuff about prices, and about how the series is slipping; I laughed out loud at so many parts in 17, and couldn't put it down. Grandma Bella reminds me of my Italian grandmother. And her "relationship" with Ranger and joe is so sexy and so complicated, I love it!! I am not flushed with money, by far, but when I know a book that I've been dying to read is coming out soon, I just start saving for it, really people, it's not that expensive!!

    9 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    So done with this series~~

    Nothing fresh in book #18. Won't be buying anymore. Janet began to go downhill on book #16. It's the same old stuff. I think we've all been waiting to see Steph's choice in men. It's gotten to be ridiculous. Good characters wasted with bad writing.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Same stuff, different day

    The continuing disappointment with the Stephanie Plum series is Janet E. not allowing her charcters to grow. It has become ridiculous, to say the least, that the main character is just as inept in book 18 as she is in book 1. It's been made quite clear that Stephanie Plum is just a loser with no idea how to do more in life than to get laid and eat a donut. I will never spend another dime on this series again.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    Not so good

    This book was slow boring and lacked any funny parts that used to be there. I do believe the series is dead in the water

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Needing More!

    I have been a big Janet Enavovich fan and a bigger Stephanie Plum fan for years. I have read all the book and I will not complain about the money. Its has been well worth it for all the laughs they have both given me through out the years. With that being said, the last two books I feel have been very disappointing. There has been less of the Ranger/ Joe/ Stephanie triangle ( it seems like Janet has put Stephanie with Joe but still has Ranger in the backround ,to me this has always me very entertaining) We haven't seen any of Stephanie's usually pants not fitting so she doesnt button the top button, running to the bakery to pick a a whole cake because she had a bad day. Eating tastykakes. These are the things that I think of when Stephanie Plum comes into my mind . (Which also makes her almost normal in a sense). Janet hasn't Stephanieism in her books for some time. The books seem to be becoming more about those in Stephanie life then Stephanie herself. As a big Ranger fan I will admit I do want to see more of him in the books. I feel the earlier book were more entertaining and had many more laughs. I wish Janet would get back to that in BOOK # 19.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    I have enjoyed each one in it's own way

    This book was enjoyable. I liked the variety of characters, and enjoyed that the matchmaker was back. Now it's finger tapping time waiting for the next one!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1265 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64