BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Explosive Eighteen (Stephanie Plum Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 1264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(548)

4 Star

(322)

3 Star

(210)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(95)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

108 out of 122 people found this review helpful.

great

I love the Stephanie Plum series. it's awesome!!!! can't wait to read the next.

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

I don't think it's just me... but the prices are awful!

I don't understand the point of paying the same price for an ebook as I would pay for a hardcover book. Why bother? If I pay $15 ($14.99) for a hardcover, then wait a bit and pay $6 ($5.95) for a softcover, why the heck am I paying the same price for the ebook as the ha...
I don't understand the point of paying the same price for an ebook as I would pay for a hardcover book. Why bother? If I pay $15 ($14.99) for a hardcover, then wait a bit and pay $6 ($5.95) for a softcover, why the heck am I paying the same price for the ebook as the hardcover? Shouldn't the price be less than a softcover, since the printing and publishing prices are just about nil with an ebook? At this rate, I'll just stick with buying the hardcover, reading it, then reselling it. Otherwise, it's just silly.

posted by luvmybabek on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Disappointing

    Contrived and recycled plot. Steph is unlikeable in this novel; decision needs to be made regarding Ranger/Joe. Lula is Lula, and that helps the book--overall, 18 was a dud. Boo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Disappointed... getting boring

    I anxiously awaited this, purchased as a pre-release. I just started the series 12 months ago and read them all in the past year... have been a fan... couldn't put some of the others down.

    This one seemed.. The same ole, same ole as the past couple of the books in the series.
    Dinner at the folks, love triangle with Ranger and Joe, constant food buying at drive thru, a lot of interaction with the office folks. The Ranger encounters are becoming much more casual and a bit frequent, loosing that appeal of the mystery.

    I hope the next book she writes, has a little more spice and mystery.

    Still a decent read, just predictable.


    Still has some humor...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Bla....

    Ah, it was ok, but definitely not worth the 13.99 for NOOK book. Come on. And it is only 193 pages, really?? There were some funny parts, but most of it was just more of the same, Ranger or Morelli. She needs to just pick one already. Geez. I would recommend just waiting and getting from the library. Save your money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    just ok

    The stephanie plum books are not as good as they once were. I think J.E. needs to shake things up. I miss the laugh out loud humor that was orignal, not just a recycling of the same old lines. The story wasnt terrible, it just wasnt great. **ALSO** IF YOU ARE GOING TO CHARGE 13.99 + TAX, THE BOOK STORY SHOULD BE BE THAN 190PAGES!!! I dont mind paying 13.99, if the story is good & more than 200pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Make a choice!

    Loved the series for the first 10 or 12 books, but I think it's gotten really old. Same ol' conflicts, same ol' plot devices. How many cars can she destroy, how many fires can she cause, how many bombs can go off around her, how many dead bodies can she find, how many times can she break up with Joe and still go back to him? The characters were fresh and funny at the beginning, but everyone--including Stephanie--keep repeating the same behavior patterns. Nobody's character has evolved or grown an inch. Frankly, I'm a huge Morelli fan, but have her make a choice between the two hunks already. Those two alpha dogs would not be satisfied with the status quo. I liked Ranger better when he was the man of mystery and found Stephanie a cute curiosity. I have no understanding of how he can be seriously interested in her. Evanovich has painted herself into a corner. She'll lose half her female audience if Stephanie finally chooses one or the other, but I don't think I'll bother to come back to the series unless she does. There have been promises of a resolution in Explosive Eighteen, so here's hoping...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    ok

    17 was great! I was really looking forward to 18. I should have saved my money and waited for the paperback.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Not much of a change..............

    Utterly disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Yes, getting bored of the series

    Needs lots more spice. They are pretty much the same ol' same ol. I think she is co-authoring with someone else, maybe that's why the series are kind of running dry. Most likely will purchase the book anyway.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    18 books of the SAME ole thing

    Well, after reading 18 of Janet Evanovich, I am DONE!! The first three were good, from that point on it was the same ole store, only with a different character being the center. I just got to the point, that I needed to read something a little more mature. The whole series was just a repeat of the book before. Grandma was great in the books along with LuLu, but Stephanie needs to grow up and make some grown up decisions.

    Won't buy anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    18 is 6 too many...

    Book 12 was the last one before all the characters became pale copies of what they used to be. They are no longer fun and entertaining. And I really don't like Stephanie anymore. In the first books she spent time thinking. Now she seems to just trot from disaster, to a quicky, then on to another disaster. Lula and Grandma Mazur are both worn out as well. I will probably read these books from the library, but I am done buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Good, but there have been better

    This was a good book, I had fun reading it, laughter as always. I did not care for the ending, it didn't feel finished. I am hoping that this isn't going to become the norm for the Stephanie Plum series. If so I will be checking my books out and not buying them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    It is so cool

    Just by reading the sample i love it so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Not for me

    Picked these books up (1-13) at a friends suggestion. I stumbled through 3 and have moved on to other books. These books are entertaining. Laugh out loud funny. The books don't appeal to my interests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Have read them all

    I have read all the books in the number series. I got hooked on them when number one first came out. Unfotunately, now they are the same. They are no longer bright or witty or entertaining. Nothing new ever happens. Poor Stephanie, she can never decide who or what she wants, after 18 books, Evanovich needs to have Lulu marry Tank and get pregnant, introduce a hot new character for Stephanie to fall in love with, get her P.I. license and start her own detective agency, hiring her Uncle Vinne, Connie and Lulu. (I loved Sal and the dwarf, the sister and her kids, and the lawyer, brother in law, they were not even mentioned in 18. ) Throw in a lot humor, some wacky cases and characters and see what happens. As things stand now, I won't be buying or reading anymore of these books. They have become boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Extremely Disappointed

    It doesn't usually take me long to read Stephanie Plum books. This dragged for me. Hardly any action, humor and I don't know exactly where Joe and Ranger went, but they were barely there. Janet Evanovich should never write two of these in one year, especially when there is a movie coming out soon based on this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    did not read yet.

    I had read most of JE books and enjoy all of them. Growing up in Trenton, especially Chambersburg ,The Burg as called, the streets and locations are so familiar as well its people. Love the Tomato Pies and casio hot dogs. Ciao ! look forward to Explosive Eighteen..............

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5