Customer Reviews for

Explosive Eighteen (Stephanie Plum Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 1266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(550)

4 Star

(322)

3 Star

(210)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(95)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

108 out of 122 people found this review helpful.

great

I love the Stephanie Plum series. it's awesome!!!! can't wait to read the next.

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

I don't think it's just me... but the prices are awful!

I don't understand the point of paying the same price for an ebook as I would pay for a hardcover book. Why bother? If I pay $15 ($14.99) for a hardcover, then wait a bit and pay $6 ($5.95) for a softcover, why the heck am I paying the same price for the ebook as the ha...
I don't understand the point of paying the same price for an ebook as I would pay for a hardcover book. Why bother? If I pay $15 ($14.99) for a hardcover, then wait a bit and pay $6 ($5.95) for a softcover, why the heck am I paying the same price for the ebook as the hardcover? Shouldn't the price be less than a softcover, since the printing and publishing prices are just about nil with an ebook? At this rate, I'll just stick with buying the hardcover, reading it, then reselling it. Otherwise, it's just silly.

posted by luvmybabek on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Better than the last one.

    Explosive Eighteen was better than the last few books but it was still not up to the standards set by the first few. There were one or two laugh out loud moments, you find out what happened in Hawaii (one paragraph), & Stephanie deals with some not-so-scary bad guys. I understand that the series revolves around the love triangle, but I wish that something big would shake things up (not a pregnancy like some people suggest). There isn't much spark between Stephanie and Joe or Ranger. I think it would do Janet Evanovich some good to take some time away from the series and come back with some new fresh ideas. I will continue to read the series because it is an easy light read & I care about the characters, but it really has become the same thing over and over.

    35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Slightly less disappointing than the last

    I eagerly awaited the 18th installment, hoping there would be a significant improvement over the last few novels. It was better than seventeen and certainly better than sixteen, but the story is repetitive and stale. I wish Stephanie would show some significant growth, and while Lula can be great comic relief the character is so ridiculous she's become an anvil, further pulling down the series. The series is tired, time to put it to bed.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Needing More!

    I have been a big Janet Enavovich fan and a bigger Stephanie Plum fan for years. I have read all the book and I will not complain about the money. Its has been well worth it for all the laughs they have both given me through out the years. With that being said, the last two books I feel have been very disappointing. There has been less of the Ranger/ Joe/ Stephanie triangle ( it seems like Janet has put Stephanie with Joe but still has Ranger in the backround ,to me this has always me very entertaining) We haven't seen any of Stephanie's usually pants not fitting so she doesnt button the top button, running to the bakery to pick a a whole cake because she had a bad day. Eating tastykakes. These are the things that I think of when Stephanie Plum comes into my mind . (Which also makes her almost normal in a sense). Janet hasn't Stephanieism in her books for some time. The books seem to be becoming more about those in Stephanie life then Stephanie herself. As a big Ranger fan I will admit I do want to see more of him in the books. I feel the earlier book were more entertaining and had many more laughs. I wish Janet would get back to that in BOOK # 19.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Okay read, not as good as her earlier books.

    I really like this series, it is a funny feel good series. The characters always make me laugh and the situations that Lula and Stephanie get themselves into are hilarious. I don’t think this book was as good as some of her first ones; I’ m hoping it was a filler book that is preparing you for an awesome storyline for next time. The plot in this book was too forced for me, it just didn’t flow like her earlier novels did. Of course, I am still a big Janet Evanovich fan and will continually read her books as they come out. I just hope that Mrs. Evanovich gets back to the depth and heart that was present in the early books and has lost along the way.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    hmmmmmmmm

    I love this series... but this one is not my favorite book of the series.... hoping the next is better...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Bummer of a finish.

    Did not like the change of direction from last book. It looked like Steph was finally taking some control of her life and then she takes two steps back. Morelli only thinks of sex. Ranger has loved her al this time waiting for her to figure things out. He loves and accepts her for who she is, not for what he expects a wife to be. Please please let her and Ranger explore the possibilty of a long term relationship. I think the series would bring some excitement back.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Love stephanie

    I am a big fan of this series but this wasnt my favorite book of the series. It was entertaining but not as funny as some of the other books. looking forward to the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable, just no wow factor

    This is only the 4th Stephanie Plum book that I have read as I started with 15. This one was enjoyable but frankly I just wanted it to be over with. All the usuals are here, Stephanie, Lulu, Morelli, Ranger, Grandma but I didn't laugh as much with this one. The stories are beginning to feel formulaic to me. I'd also like to see Stephanie chose one or the other and get on to the next stage of her life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Not my favorite

    After tearing through #17 I was waiting for #18 with the same enthusiasm. I just didn't find Explosive Eighteen to be up to the Stephanie Plum standard I have come to expect. Overall a good read, just not one of the best in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Ok

    But even more far-fetched than we've come to expect

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Liked it

    Ms Plum doing her thing; grandma is nuts; mom still cooking-Ranger to the rescue

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Meh.

    I'm a huge fan of the series, but lately the books are kind of falling flat. This one was no exception. While they are still really funny and all the love triangle between Ranger, Stephanie, and Joe is getting very tiresome. MAKE A DECISION ALREADY!!!! This triangle has been going on way too long and is starting to venture into soap opera territory. Also the other stuff that is going on isn't all that believable or great. I like things that are a little out of the norm or the possible, but at least try to be a little more believable.

    I really hope that this series will get better. The first few books were so good, but now they are just getting a little stale.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Amusing but plotless

    The secret of hawaii turned out pretty lame and there was no advancement in steph's lovelife. Hijinks ensue, but is anyone seriously this unlucky? To sit with the wrong stranger. Glad i gt it from the library

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Good read better than the last couple

    I liked this one better. The last few were not as good. Maybe they are getting back to good. Would like to see them get back to as funny as they used to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Not as good as the others...

    My mom got me reading this series and i enjoyed all of them until the last couple. I was disappointed in this one :( Hopefully her new series will lead in a great direction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Well,

    Its a nice series but its always the same thing it would be nice to be surprisesfor once,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable but predictable

    Once again Evanovich has produced a quick and easy read that was enjoyably mindless. I agree with the review below that the characters are getting stale as they all seem to be stuck...no progress, no development, no hard choices that take them forward. Although that can be a fun and rompous read, it doesn't make me wait expectantly to see what #19 brings. My guess is it will be more of the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    less satisfying than previous Plum novels

    I absolutely ? the WHOLE Stephanie Plum series, but this book seemed shorter, more rushed through. Just didn't really feel like I got my money's worth for a book that is less than 200 pages. I do like the suspense between, Morelli, Stephanie, & Ranger, but you have to ask at nearly 20 books, "Is this going anywhere?" .... Worth reading, but wait until it's on sale or borrow it. ?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No surprise....

    I think it is time for this series to end. While i have always been a fan of the Stephanie Plum series it has become too predictable and is losing my interest. There are no surprises and the same formula is becoming boring. I think she needs to make a choice between Ranger and Morelli and the series should end before her fans get burnt out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    I would recommend, but grudgingly.

    There are parts of the book that are just fun to read. Evanovich can still make me bust out laughing. However, her characters are not developing anymore. At the end of the book I feel like there is hope the main character will make some changes (not just in her relationships either), but we will have to wait and see. Overall, I would call the book entertaining, but lacking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11