Customer Reviews for

Exposed (Maggie O'Dell Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    very good book

    a must read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    I have to agree, with some of the other reviews.

    Not one of my favorates of hers this one fell a little short not her best work. The jumping around really hate that about this book and for me this was not my fav at all. Sorty Alex you didn,t do very well on this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Oh, Okay

    A fast but disappointing read, Exposed is at its best when it sticks to the main plot. The romances and relationships are not as intriguing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Engrossing

    Finished it is 2 days. 278 pages felt to short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Disappointing

    I've enjoyed Alex Kava in the past but this book is hard to read because she jumps around to three different stories taking place and I find it hard to stay with....could just be a Winter mood for me....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    Mindnumbing Frivolity

    Exposed is the story of FBI agent Maggie O'Dell and her cohorts. It starts innocently with a box of doughnuts and leads to a murderer with an admiration of past killers (Unabomber, Anthrax Killer, etc.) and the most deadly biological weapon of all..Ebola Zaire. This strain is so deadly that it is called the "slate wiper". Who will get the virus? Will they live? Who is the killer?

    I am not the biggest fan of mindnumbing entertainment and frivolity. I prefer to read something that's going to make me think..psychological thrillers especially. I was able to guess the killer halfway through, and so will you. MY RATING - 3 out of 5

    For other book reviews and to see my rating scale, please visit my website:

    http://www.1776books.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    AN UNBEATABLE ENEMY? lISTEN AND SEE.

    As readers of Alex Kava's chilling tales know he doesn't waste words. All are carefully chosen, creating the precise effect he wants - usually frightening, suspenseful. And, he's a master of psychological terror. We're reminded of this as he presents a studied dissection of evil in Exposed.<BR/><BR/> Listeners are immediately drawn in by a scene on Lake Victoria Uganda Africa. We hear, "Waheem was already bleeding when he boarded the crowded motorboat." He feels lucky to have gotten the last space with his "rusted cage stuffed full of monkeys." Why an American businessman would want only sick monkeys Waheem did not know but he had been promised an enormous sum of money to deliver them. Waheem's condition quickly worsens; he's barely able to walk when the boat reaches Jinja. He is soon felled by a seizure, his pain is agonizing, he bleeds profusely, and does not notice the gloved hand that grips the handle of the monkey cage and walks away.<BR/><BR/> The scene immediately shifts to Quantico, Virginia where Agent O'Dell and her boss are sharing a box of doughnuts, she opting for a chocolate covered one, and he choosing a glazed cruller. She has taken but one bite when Cunningham puts his hand on her wrist, saying "Wait!" There's an envelope at the bottom of the box, and a note inside reading, "CALL ME GOD.<BR/>THERE WILL BE A CRASH TODAY.<BR/>At 13949 ELK GROVE<BR/>10:00 A.M.I'D HATE FOR YOU TO MISS IT.<BR/>I AM GOD.<BR/>P.S.YOUR CHILDREN ARE NOT SAFE ANYWHERE AT<BR/>ANY TIME."<BR/><BR/> What for some authors would be enough to build an entire story on is for Kava only the beginning of this white knuckle thriller in which Maggie and Cunningham face what could be an unbeatable enemy - a lethal virus dispatched by an incredibly devilish killer.<BR/><BR/> Voice performer Tanya Eby Sirois delivers a taut, controlled reading of Kava's story that keeps listeners focused on the unfolding drama rather than distracting them with unnecessary vocal pyrotechnics. Hers is a well thought out narration.<BR/><BR/> - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Definite Shocker!

    Alex Kava has definitely pushed her character's limits in her latest novel. Although the pace seemed a bit slower than some of her other novels, that same pace is what increased the suspense in the story. The entire feel throughout the novel was like that of the film "Outbreak". I was devastated by the tragic demise of one of the characters though. Definitely a great read for anytime. Definitely look forward to the next Maggie O'Dell novel. Great work, Alex Kava!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    If you haven't discovered Maggie O'Dell, you have a lot of page turning fun ahead of you! Read and enjoy. Alex Kava rules!

    A friend told me about the Maggie O'Dell series. I remain indebted to her. Maggie is an independent, research oriented sleuth of the 21st century. She is a profiler with intuition. She is often in danger and always has the reader silently cheering her on.<BR/>Maggie and Assistant Director Cunningham are first responders to an horrific scene. They find a pre-school-aged child trying to care for herself and her deathly ill mother. So, the story begins. We have bought in and we are enthralled. What kind of disease can be so devastating? How was it contracted? Are Maggie and the assistant director in danger of infection? Exposed says it all.<BR/>We are introduced to USAMRIIDE which is a government run facility much like the CDC but much more interesting. There are frozen infectious diseases that could kill a population in the freezers. There is a conflict within the ranks of the facility. There is a quarantine area where the most infectious patients are secluded to keep others from contracting dangerous diseases. <BR/>Maggie has to work the case under the confinds of quarantine. She, like Alex Kava, is a researcher. Give her a computer and she can work anywhere. <BR/>Through Maggie's research and the prospective killer's clues, we are reminded of some cases that effected us and our sense of security...the Unabomber, the Anthrax Killer, the Beltway Snipers, the Tylenol Killer. These crimes changed our basic way of life. Before the Tylenol Killer, pamper proof was not an issue. Now, a product that is NOT pamper proof will not find it's way to our grocery shelves. I can remember Halloweens when neighbors would bake goods and my grandmother would make popcorn balls for neighborhood kids. Now, unless you really know your neighbor well, everything the kids get when trick or treating has to be factory sealed. Life has changed and this story does not let us forget it.<BR/>The initial exposure to the disease is so simple and so cunning that it frightens us to our core. Someone sends you a package. The sender is someone you know. Inside you find cash in a sealed envelope. It was just that easy to infect people with a deadly virus. This one is such a page turner that I read it in 2 days. The stories that really scare us are the ones that are so easiliy possible with so little effort and the devastation comes to us is such a benign way. <BR/>So, read Maggie O'Dell, but make sure you have at least 2 days to read consistently for each book or some vacation time on the books at work. You won't be able to put the books down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Kava & the copycat

    Ms. Kava's Latest in her seris featuring agent o'dell of the fbi behaviour science branch has maggie stuck for the most part in USAMRIIDE. a real life containment center run by the army used for various aspects of bio warfare. it seems someone has infected a young women and her toddler daughter with some kind of viral infection ,one that is hard to pin down. and is in danger of also killing Maggie AND her boss And Mentor Cunningham. her partner Tully is chasing things down while also contendeding with his feelings about his ex-wife's re-marriage,as well as fending off one Of maggie's boyfrends and trying to keep his own relationship with his daughter and His girlfriend together. slowly we are given clues to the mastermind behind this outbreak and others around the country as the killer uses things connected with a handful of other similar crimes (misleading addresses,the viris is sent through the mail . etc. ) your not exactly sure of the mastermind /mentor behind it untill the last minute . this makes for a good novel in a field (mystery seris ) that has of late has had of late been filled with books that have been costing on their past successes . my Own reccomandation system gives this a ' buy new' rating . This is a good fast read . and youdon't have to of read any previous book inthe seris to enjoy it but it helps . -30- PRH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Alex Kava writes a winning thriller.

    In Quantico, Virginia FBI special agent Maggie O'Dell and her boss Assistant Director Cunningham receive a note from ¿God¿ telling them not to miss a crash at 13949 Elk Grove. They race to the site where they find a dying woman from what appears to be a deadly contagion also there is a frightened young girl Mary Louise who vomits all over them. They quickly take the pair to the secret U.S. Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases at Ft Detrick. Maggie and Cunningham are quarantined there to insure they were not exposed to hemorrhagic fever virus.------- Maggie¿s partner, Agent R.J. Tully investigates the case based on the little information the frustrated O¿Dell provides while she remains in a secure area. The culprit seems to be working randomly across the United States using the murderous signatures of infamous serial killers, but no pattern has emerged linking the victims even as the body count rises.---------------- This is a terrific entry in the O¿Dell FBI cases as the heroine, probably EXPOSED, is forced to help from the sidelines while her partner works the field. The story line is fast-paced but as always character driven from the moment Maggie fears she ate a poisoned donut and never slows down as ¿God¿ threatens the children. Although the scenario with taunting bragging serial killers has been done before merging it with possible biological terrorism refreshes the theme. Alex Kava writes a winning thriller.------------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4