Customer Reviews for

Exposed: The Secret Life of Jodi Arias

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Great read

Even though I followed the trial of Jodi Arias, this book offered a deeper insight into the lives of Jodi and Travis. Thank you Jane for presenting Travis as a good man, but still a man with sexual desires like most young men. His problem was being deeply involved in a...
Even though I followed the trial of Jodi Arias, this book offered a deeper insight into the lives of Jodi and Travis. Thank you Jane for presenting Travis as a good man, but still a man with sexual desires like most young men. His problem was being deeply involved in a religion forbidding sex before marriage, ( hence, the encouragement of the church to marry young and produce MANY children), and having an attractive woman willing to do anything sexual in order to "win" his devotion. A lot of young men would have considered that a fantasy come true, religious or not.
I'm quite sure Jodi was the aggressor and more than willing to hook Travis with the sex he couldn't get from Mormon women. And then she couldnt seem to understand that he couldn't and wouldn't marry a "skank."
My feeling is that she showed up at his house that night, uninvited, and hooked him back in with an offer to let him live his fantasy of taking porn photos of her for one last time together. Even though he was so angry at her for what I believe was her blackmail with the recorded phone call, he could not resist another romp with the skank.
Travis was a man . He liked sex. He had a willing partner who would do anything. He had no willpower to say "no! Just get out of here!" For that, he was slaughtered. He was just a normal, redblooded man.
This book flows very smoothly through the beginning of Jodi and Travis, the sex, the trial, and the opinions of experts of Jodi's mental problems. Beware, some of the book is very real and raw, especially the communication between Jodi and Travis
If you followed the trial, you will find some new insights in this book. If you didn't, and just want a great read, I highly recommend reading this one.


posted by DonnaKR on August 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

REVIEWS?!

Am I the only one who finds it odd that all of the"editorial reviews" are written by her cohorts at HLN?? Not exactly unbiased insights. I also take isssue with the fact that HLN has basically just become one big commercial for this book (oh, and Robin Meade's CD...)....
Am I the only one who finds it odd that all of the"editorial reviews" are written by her cohorts at HLN?? Not exactly unbiased insights. I also take isssue with the fact that HLN has basically just become one big commercial for this book (oh, and Robin Meade's CD...). The cedibility of the entire network plummets every day.

posted by td723 on August 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Great read

    Even though I followed the trial of Jodi Arias, this book offered a deeper insight into the lives of Jodi and Travis. Thank you Jane for presenting Travis as a good man, but still a man with sexual desires like most young men. His problem was being deeply involved in a religion forbidding sex before marriage, ( hence, the encouragement of the church to marry young and produce MANY children), and having an attractive woman willing to do anything sexual in order to "win" his devotion. A lot of young men would have considered that a fantasy come true, religious or not.
    I'm quite sure Jodi was the aggressor and more than willing to hook Travis with the sex he couldn't get from Mormon women. And then she couldnt seem to understand that he couldn't and wouldn't marry a "skank."
    My feeling is that she showed up at his house that night, uninvited, and hooked him back in with an offer to let him live his fantasy of taking porn photos of her for one last time together. Even though he was so angry at her for what I believe was her blackmail with the recorded phone call, he could not resist another romp with the skank.
    Travis was a man . He liked sex. He had a willing partner who would do anything. He had no willpower to say "no! Just get out of here!" For that, he was slaughtered. He was just a normal, redblooded man.
    This book flows very smoothly through the beginning of Jodi and Travis, the sex, the trial, and the opinions of experts of Jodi's mental problems. Beware, some of the book is very real and raw, especially the communication between Jodi and Travis
    If you followed the trial, you will find some new insights in this book. If you didn't, and just want a great read, I highly recommend reading this one.


    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    REVIEWS?!

    Am I the only one who finds it odd that all of the"editorial reviews" are written by her cohorts at HLN?? Not exactly unbiased insights. I also take isssue with the fact that HLN has basically just become one big commercial for this book (oh, and Robin Meade's CD...). The cedibility of the entire network plummets every day.

    12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Was surprised

    I was one who watched the trail from beginning to end . This book is spot on ! Just read a sample and plan on buying the book. Have already highly recommended it to over 10 people!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Wonderfully Written!!

    This book was wonderfully written, I am a big fan of Jane's show on HLN so of course I had to buy this book. I was pleasently surprised when I read it and realized just how well written it was. I read the book in just over a day, I just couldn't put it down. I would definately reccommend this book, you will not be disappointed! A++

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    It was a good read but there wasn't enough that was new or insig

    It was a good read but there wasn't enough that was new or insightful to make it worth buying the book.  I think it would be more suitable for someone who has not watched much of the HLN coverage and wants to see what the fuss is all about!  It was fun though

    I am really fussy about grammar errors and this did have some proofing problems that say it was thrown together too fast!!!  

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Not much new info in this book.

    I was really disappointed with this book. I love Jane Velez-Mitchell and had high hopes for more information in her book. I, however, watched most of the trial coverage and did not find much new information in the book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Exposed is a stunning look inside the mind of a murderer. The de

    Exposed is a stunning look inside the mind of a murderer. The details of the crime are vivid. The book is very well researched. It is a true page turner.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Written well. But.....

    If you watched the trial this book doesn't add much new info. It is written well but some facts are wrong. Where Arias rented the car is incorrect and it was an important part of the premeditation arguement. Books regarding true events should be " spot on" with writing the facts.


    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    I'm commenting on the comments  .... sounds like it would be mos

    I'm commenting on the comments  .... sounds like it would be most interesting to those who did not follow along with the trial .. for those who did, there may be some  intersting bits.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    Interesting but repetitive at times

    It was an interesting look at the trial and lives of Travis and Jodi. That being said, the author tends to repeat information throughout the book. The narrative seems rushed and lacking at times and bogged down by unecessary details at others. For example, what Jodi wore to court each day is not relevant to the case; Simply stating she dressed more conservative than usual would have sufficied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    Loved it

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    Great coverage

    I feel like I really understand the background and trial now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    Redd

    God. I know how that feels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    "Exposed" - Chapter One -

    "Ash, honey, it's time for supper!" The call I dread to hear every evening. I dragged myself out of bed and downstairs to the kitchen table. "Hey Ashie," Hmm, Mom's in a good mood today, "how was practice?" She placed a plate full of gruel in front of me. "I didn't go," I mumbled. My mother gave me a stern look, I ignored it and picked at my food. "Young lady, you cannot continue skipping practice," she cried, "or you may get kicked off the team." My fork made a loud noise as it hit my plate, "Mom, the team would be better off without me anyways." She rolled her eyes and kept speaking, "Soccer is good for you." Oh, great, this speech again. "I'm sick of seeing you do nothing but text and 'go to the mall'." "Going to the mall is what I like to do, okay," I threw hands in the air as if I were preaching, "I'm graduating next month! Just be happy you don't have to deal with me much longer." As I stormed up to my room I completely ignored the furious cursing coming from the kitchen. My door slammed behind me, I threw myself onto the bed and screamed into a pillow. A half-hour later there was a faint knocking on the door to my bedroom, "Open this goddamn door, now!" Oh no... My eyes widend. Daddy's home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2014

    I've read this book and watched the trial from start to finish.

    I've read this book and watched the trial from start to finish. I didn't learn anything new after reading this book.  I was very disappointed.
     I did learn that Jane  did everything she could to steal  Shanna Hogan's thunder.  Shanna Hogan'a book is so much more informative
    and  really does give you an up close  and personal insight into the background  of Travis and  Jodi and their troubled and tragic
    relationship.  Shame on you Jane Velez-Mitchell.  Read Shanna Hogan's book, it's so much better.
      

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Good read!

    This book is very well written, much better than I had expected. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Fascinating

    I, like many, am fascinated by the Jodi Arias case and this book is a detailed, engrossing account of the facts of the case. I hope Arias gets the death penalty for the physical and psychological pain she inflicted on Travis Alexander and his family and friends. May he rest in peace...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Very good book!

    I watched this trial from beginning to end and will continue to watch every moment until she gets the death penalty! This book everything including a few new things I learned. Highly recommend it as a very factual account written very well. Now I'm starting Shanna Hogans book. We'll see how that one is....I'll write a review for that one when I'm done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is very thorough and well-written. As someone who did

    This book is very thorough and well-written. As someone who did not see much of HLN's coverage of the trial, I found it very informative. I also liked the photo section, which includes a few photos of Jodi as a young girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2013

    I am in the minority, considering that I take issue with Jodi Ar

    I am in the minority, considering that I take issue with Jodi Arias being this cold-blooded, evil and heartless creature, as she is portrayed in this book and others. I really feel that Travis Alexander thought he could string her along, use her for sex, and, get this, knowing fully well that she wanted marriage or a serious, committed relationship. What was the honest thing to have done? Travis should have had nothing further to do with Jodi, but instead he encouraged her by making himself accessible whenever she showed up. Come on. We are talking about a grown up man here, not a preteen or adolescent boy. Jodi was manifesting all kinds of aberrant behavior like slashing Travis' tires, showing up at his place unannounced and uninvited, and hacking into his facebook account, but he continued to see and have sex with her. Does this make any sense? Let's face it, he wanted his cake and eat it too. Life don't work this way, Travis.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3