Customer Reviews for

Exposed: The Secret Life of Jodi Arias

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Great read

Even though I followed the trial of Jodi Arias, this book offered a deeper insight into the lives of Jodi and Travis. Thank you Jane for presenting Travis as a good man, but still a man with sexual desires like most young men. His problem was being deeply involved in a...
Even though I followed the trial of Jodi Arias, this book offered a deeper insight into the lives of Jodi and Travis. Thank you Jane for presenting Travis as a good man, but still a man with sexual desires like most young men. His problem was being deeply involved in a religion forbidding sex before marriage, ( hence, the encouragement of the church to marry young and produce MANY children), and having an attractive woman willing to do anything sexual in order to "win" his devotion. A lot of young men would have considered that a fantasy come true, religious or not.
I'm quite sure Jodi was the aggressor and more than willing to hook Travis with the sex he couldn't get from Mormon women. And then she couldnt seem to understand that he couldn't and wouldn't marry a "skank."
My feeling is that she showed up at his house that night, uninvited, and hooked him back in with an offer to let him live his fantasy of taking porn photos of her for one last time together. Even though he was so angry at her for what I believe was her blackmail with the recorded phone call, he could not resist another romp with the skank.
Travis was a man . He liked sex. He had a willing partner who would do anything. He had no willpower to say "no! Just get out of here!" For that, he was slaughtered. He was just a normal, redblooded man.
This book flows very smoothly through the beginning of Jodi and Travis, the sex, the trial, and the opinions of experts of Jodi's mental problems. Beware, some of the book is very real and raw, especially the communication between Jodi and Travis
If you followed the trial, you will find some new insights in this book. If you didn't, and just want a great read, I highly recommend reading this one.


posted by DonnaKR on August 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

REVIEWS?!

Am I the only one who finds it odd that all of the"editorial reviews" are written by her cohorts at HLN?? Not exactly unbiased insights. I also take isssue with the fact that HLN has basically just become one big commercial for this book (oh, and Robin Meade's CD...)....
Am I the only one who finds it odd that all of the"editorial reviews" are written by her cohorts at HLN?? Not exactly unbiased insights. I also take isssue with the fact that HLN has basically just become one big commercial for this book (oh, and Robin Meade's CD...). The cedibility of the entire network plummets every day.

posted by td723 on August 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Great read

    Even though I followed the trial of Jodi Arias, this book offered a deeper insight into the lives of Jodi and Travis. Thank you Jane for presenting Travis as a good man, but still a man with sexual desires like most young men. His problem was being deeply involved in a religion forbidding sex before marriage, ( hence, the encouragement of the church to marry young and produce MANY children), and having an attractive woman willing to do anything sexual in order to "win" his devotion. A lot of young men would have considered that a fantasy come true, religious or not.
    I'm quite sure Jodi was the aggressor and more than willing to hook Travis with the sex he couldn't get from Mormon women. And then she couldnt seem to understand that he couldn't and wouldn't marry a "skank."
    My feeling is that she showed up at his house that night, uninvited, and hooked him back in with an offer to let him live his fantasy of taking porn photos of her for one last time together. Even though he was so angry at her for what I believe was her blackmail with the recorded phone call, he could not resist another romp with the skank.
    Travis was a man . He liked sex. He had a willing partner who would do anything. He had no willpower to say "no! Just get out of here!" For that, he was slaughtered. He was just a normal, redblooded man.
    This book flows very smoothly through the beginning of Jodi and Travis, the sex, the trial, and the opinions of experts of Jodi's mental problems. Beware, some of the book is very real and raw, especially the communication between Jodi and Travis
    If you followed the trial, you will find some new insights in this book. If you didn't, and just want a great read, I highly recommend reading this one.


    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Was surprised

    I was one who watched the trail from beginning to end . This book is spot on ! Just read a sample and plan on buying the book. Have already highly recommended it to over 10 people!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Wonderfully Written!!

    This book was wonderfully written, I am a big fan of Jane's show on HLN so of course I had to buy this book. I was pleasently surprised when I read it and realized just how well written it was. I read the book in just over a day, I just couldn't put it down. I would definately reccommend this book, you will not be disappointed! A++

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Exposed is a stunning look inside the mind of a murderer. The de

    Exposed is a stunning look inside the mind of a murderer. The details of the crime are vivid. The book is very well researched. It is a true page turner.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    Redd

    God. I know how that feels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    "Exposed" - Chapter One -

    "Ash, honey, it's time for supper!" The call I dread to hear every evening. I dragged myself out of bed and downstairs to the kitchen table. "Hey Ashie," Hmm, Mom's in a good mood today, "how was practice?" She placed a plate full of gruel in front of me. "I didn't go," I mumbled. My mother gave me a stern look, I ignored it and picked at my food. "Young lady, you cannot continue skipping practice," she cried, "or you may get kicked off the team." My fork made a loud noise as it hit my plate, "Mom, the team would be better off without me anyways." She rolled her eyes and kept speaking, "Soccer is good for you." Oh, great, this speech again. "I'm sick of seeing you do nothing but text and 'go to the mall'." "Going to the mall is what I like to do, okay," I threw hands in the air as if I were preaching, "I'm graduating next month! Just be happy you don't have to deal with me much longer." As I stormed up to my room I completely ignored the furious cursing coming from the kitchen. My door slammed behind me, I threw myself onto the bed and screamed into a pillow. A half-hour later there was a faint knocking on the door to my bedroom, "Open this goddamn door, now!" Oh no... My eyes widend. Daddy's home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Good read!

    This book is very well written, much better than I had expected. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Very good book!

    I watched this trial from beginning to end and will continue to watch every moment until she gets the death penalty! This book everything including a few new things I learned. Highly recommend it as a very factual account written very well. Now I'm starting Shanna Hogans book. We'll see how that one is....I'll write a review for that one when I'm done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Could not put it down!

    I did not follow the trial, but heard bits and pieces about the case. I thought it sounded interesting and decided to buy the book. I am very glad I did, and literally could not put it down. My heart is broken for Travis and his family. He had a tough childhood, but was determined to make something of himself. Yes he had issues, but all in all he was a good person and lead a productive life. I'm sad that he ever laid eyes on Jody;-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This book was so interesting, I couldn't put it down and was so sorry to get to the end of it. Jane covered the trial as it happened and even added a ittle more information that Juan Martinez wasn't allowed to bring up during his cross examination of Jodi. He is just wonderful and I love watching him in action, such passion and he brought Jodi to her knees (where she belongs). It isn't over yet, we still have the second penalty phase to go thru thanks to the stupid men on the first jury who couldn't send an attractive, sexual woman to death row. What jerks. Let's hope the next jury uses their brains and not their balls.

    I hope Jane writes a second book recounting the follow-up penalty phase for this murderer. Can't wait to read it and can't wait to watch Juan Martinez go after her a** again.

    Love you Jane and love your show except when you put that a**hole Taffy on your show. During the times he opens his mouth, I turn the channel and wait a few minutes hoping he will be thru. I can't stand him or listening to his lies. I don't know why you even allow him on your show. No one on your panel likes him or want anything to do with him. It is a waste of air time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Check It Out!

    Written very well. This is one of the many books written regarding this horrific murder where the writer gets to understand Travis and how he lived his life for others. The world has truly lost a great individual whose life was cut short due to another's obsession. I would definitely recommend this to other readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    Great book and I followed the trial for the whole 5 months... Th

    Great book and I followed the trial for the whole 5 months... Thanks Jane...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Riveting!

    Excellent book! Couldn't put it down. This is a must read for anyone following the murder of Travis Alexander by Jody Arias.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2