Customer Reviews for

Exposed

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    An emotional story.

    My thoughts...This is one of those stories that will leave you thinking about right and wrong.

    Liz finds herself in an agonizing situation when her best friend accuses her brother of a horrible crime. As she tells the story, she experiences feelings like guilt, shame, fear, anger, and frustration. As the reader, you really experience each of these feeling with her.

    The story is told in verse, which makes the book interesting in several ways. First, it is a very quick read. Once you start, it's hard to stop reading. Secondly, the pages are short and to the point. You don't get a lot of filler or side stories. This really drove the emotions home.

    I noticed quite a bit of character development, but not in the traditional sense. Liz's passion is photography. It is through her pictures, or at times the lack of content in her pictures, that I really noticed the changes in her character.

    Exposed is an emotional story. It deals with tough issues and leaves the reader feeling raw and emotional. Exposed is also a powerful story, one that I would recommend.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written

    This book is absolutely captivating. I was a little hesitant when I picked this one up. The premise intrigued me, but I wasn't sure an entire book with this subject matter, written in verse would hold my attention, but it did. The book flows effortlessly, is wrought with emotion and every character is well-drawn. This book is very unique and perfect in every way. I cannot recommend it enough.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful

    A powerful, emotional, heartfelt book. Marcus cuts to the core of the heart with realism. Teens will eat this one up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    GOOD

    This was a good book TOO SHORT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    GREAT!

    I think expsed is the perfect book for anyone who is going through what Liz has gone through...definitely recommend reading!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    I loved this book. It was an easy read, very quick. The plot m

    I loved this book. It was an easy read, very quick. The plot makes you think, "What would I do in this situation? How would I react? Whose side would I take?" Liz finds out her brother has raped her bestfriend. Brother says he did not rape her, but it was consensual sex and he would never hurt the best friend. Of course, the bestfriend's side of the story is completely different. I would definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    thought provoking and excellent read

    Beautifully written without a single unnecessary word, this free verse book will captivate readers of all ages. With her background as a school crisis counselor, Marcus knows her characters and the topics from many angles. My only criticism is the new generic cover on the paperback version; the original hardcover picture helped create the mood before one even opened the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Emotional Verse Novel

    4.5 stars

    Exposed is a quick reading, taking me just over an hour to finish, but it's also hard-hitting and emotional. Kimberly Marcus' use of verse wondrously illustrates how quickly 16 year old Liz's life falls apart. How her best friend, her brother, and her photography come crashing down around her.

    The thing I love about verse novels is that they're a fast read, but on top of that, they tend to be so well-written that the characters come to life vividly and with startling clarity. Exposed has that. Liz is a complete person in the novel, with a best friend, a family, and a future. She seems to have everything going for her, until she doesn't. I don't want to say exactly what happens, but it's something that tears her in two. The reader will feel how split Liz is about the situation, not knowing who to support and defend and who she should be angry with.

    The writing not only tells a good story, but it evokes a great deal of emotion. Liz's disintegrating world will pull the reader along, not sure who to believe or what to feel. Liz's photography within the story strengthens her character even as she's losing it. I love how Liz sees the world through a lens at the beginning, but as the story moves on, her lens becomes clouded, until she can't see anything anymore. The photography aspects allow for some great lines, as well as some great metaphorical musings.

    The other characters involved may not be completely fleshed out, but they each add to the story. I couldn't help but find myself angry at Kate, at Liz's brother Mike, at her parents, and her boyfriend, but then I was angry for them to; angry that they had to go through this, that they each have to suffer. Much like Liz, I was constantly torn between two states, not sure which side I was going to land on, or if I could straddle that line forever.

    Exposed is a deftly-written, emotional, and somehow hopeful verse novel about losing everything, but still making it. It tackles a hard subject realistically and from an almost outsider's perspective. Liz is outsider in the situation, but beyond close at the same time. The writing is phenomenal and had me near tears at times because this could happen, this does happen, and this is how most people probably handle it. If you're a fan of verse novels or contemporary young adult fiction, then this one is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Monica Sheffo for TeensReadToo

    Gold Star Award Winner! Liz and Katie have been best friends for as long as they both can remember. But that all changes when Katie begins acting strangely. She ignores Liz in the halls, loses interest in her hobbies, and isolates herself from everyone. A confrontation reveals the unimaginable. Katie had been raped, and the rapist was a member of Liz's own family. Liz suddenly finds her life spinning out of control as she struggles to come to terms with Katie's shocking allegations. Will she be able to pick up the pieces of her shattered life, or will her friendship with Katie never recover? Emotional and raw, Kimberly Marcus writes in a brutally honest free verse similar to that of Ellen Hopkins. She reaches to find the true heart and soul of a teenager and is extremely successful. The pain the characters are experiencing is evident in every line, creating a breathtaking piece of literature. EXPOSED is easily one of the best books I have read all year. I couldn't put it down - and neither will you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1