Customer Reviews for

Exposed

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

Chan has PIRs (parental Internet rules) when it comes to being on the computer and the Internet at home. The key rules are:

1. Never put any identifying information on the Internet without parental approval.
2. No public profiles.
3. Everything that is done on t...
Chan has PIRs (parental Internet rules) when it comes to being on the computer and the Internet at home. The key rules are:

1. Never put any identifying information on the Internet without parental approval.
2. No public profiles.
3. Everything that is done on the computer gets supervised or reviewed.

Chan is about to break every one of these rules in the next few weeks.

After a horrible breakup at school the previous spring with the school quarterback, Chan avoids dating and boys. But she wants to find the perfect companion somehow. And the best and safest way, Chan decides, is to find one on the Internet. But this goes against all three of the cardinal rules.

So with begrudging help from her best friend, Devin, the two girls set up a secret Blahfest profile. The two also add streaming video of the two twirling batons in Chan's room. Before they know it, Chan has a message on her profile. It's from Knighthawk859. The two start secret harmless chat sessions that go long into the night. Knighthawk (aka Paul) tells Chan how to download a screen saver that will also help purge and hide any talks and keystrokes. Paul seems perfect and can even recite Emily Dickinson back to Chan. (Chan adores Emily's poetry.)

Chan's schoolwork starts to suffer, and she's getting less and less sleep. It doesn't help that her 8-year-old sister, Lauren, wakes up with nightmares each night and comes into Chan's room for comfort. With lack of sleep, and bruises from Lauren's restless sleeping, all Chan can concentrate on is her next chat session with Paul. The only bright spot outside of the chatting is her twirling. With Paul's assistance (financial and educational), Chan has gotten onto a training routine and her twirling has never been better.

But soon, the chatting turns darker. And when Chan encounters a similar screen saver on the family's computer downstairs, she starts to panic that her younger sister has gotten in above her head as well. Can Chan come clean with her secret boyfriend to save her sister, or will everything come crashing down because of her?

EXPOSED is one of those books that are ideal to be shared between parents and their teenagers. It explores the hazards of seemingly harmless chatting on the Internet. It shares how anyone determined enough can piece the puzzle pieces together with relatively limited information. Chan's PIRs may seem silly to the average teenager, but in reality, and in light of today's identity thefts and predators, they may even be too simple.

posted by TeensReadToo on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not So Great

i didnt find this book very great, sure it has a great message about being careful on the interenet and real relationships as well, but i didnt find it that interesting. the plot was pretty boring, and it took me longer to read than most books because i wasnt excited to...
i didnt find this book very great, sure it has a great message about being careful on the interenet and real relationships as well, but i didnt find it that interesting. the plot was pretty boring, and it took me longer to read than most books because i wasnt excited to read it at all.

posted by uh_liss_uh on March 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    Chan has PIRs (parental Internet rules) when it comes to being on the computer and the Internet at home. The key rules are:

    1. Never put any identifying information on the Internet without parental approval.
    2. No public profiles.
    3. Everything that is done on the computer gets supervised or reviewed.

    Chan is about to break every one of these rules in the next few weeks.

    After a horrible breakup at school the previous spring with the school quarterback, Chan avoids dating and boys. But she wants to find the perfect companion somehow. And the best and safest way, Chan decides, is to find one on the Internet. But this goes against all three of the cardinal rules.

    So with begrudging help from her best friend, Devin, the two girls set up a secret Blahfest profile. The two also add streaming video of the two twirling batons in Chan's room. Before they know it, Chan has a message on her profile. It's from Knighthawk859. The two start secret harmless chat sessions that go long into the night. Knighthawk (aka Paul) tells Chan how to download a screen saver that will also help purge and hide any talks and keystrokes. Paul seems perfect and can even recite Emily Dickinson back to Chan. (Chan adores Emily's poetry.)

    Chan's schoolwork starts to suffer, and she's getting less and less sleep. It doesn't help that her 8-year-old sister, Lauren, wakes up with nightmares each night and comes into Chan's room for comfort. With lack of sleep, and bruises from Lauren's restless sleeping, all Chan can concentrate on is her next chat session with Paul. The only bright spot outside of the chatting is her twirling. With Paul's assistance (financial and educational), Chan has gotten onto a training routine and her twirling has never been better.

    But soon, the chatting turns darker. And when Chan encounters a similar screen saver on the family's computer downstairs, she starts to panic that her younger sister has gotten in above her head as well. Can Chan come clean with her secret boyfriend to save her sister, or will everything come crashing down because of her?

    EXPOSED is one of those books that are ideal to be shared between parents and their teenagers. It explores the hazards of seemingly harmless chatting on the Internet. It shares how anyone determined enough can piece the puzzle pieces together with relatively limited information. Chan's PIRs may seem silly to the average teenager, but in reality, and in light of today's identity thefts and predators, they may even be too simple.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Astounding!

    In my opinion, Exposed is marvelous, heart-felt and a true page turner. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put the book down.Chan Shealy, the main character, has just started another year of High school with her best friend Devin. After last year's mistake of getting herpes from Adam-p(the quarter back of the football team) and a dreadful breakup, Chan concludes that having a boyfriend at school is to much complication. Chan decides that she wants to find the perfect guy by getting an online boyfriend. However, Chan has PIR(parental internet rules) whenever she goes on the computer. There are three major rules in her house that she must follow. Number one: no public profiles. Number two:never put identity information on the internet. Number three: everything put on the internet is supervised. To get an online boyfriend, Chan must break all three of them. With the help of Devin, they make a secret Blahfest profile and put a video of them twirling batons. They also connect a webcam to stream.

    It works because soon enough, Chan gets a message from Knighthawk (his real name is Paul). Paul seems like the perfect guy for Chan. He quotes Emily Dickinson(her favorite poet), helps her lose weight for her twirling competion, and makes a portalpay account so he can give her money. Paul even told her how to download a screen saver that will hide and erase their chats. But before she knows it, Chan's grdes start dropping and she starts losing sleep because her 8 year old sister Lauren is having nightmares. Lauren has to worry about singing in a play and gets stressed. But Chan can only think about Paul. Twirling is improving for Chan though.

    Then things take a dark turn when Lauren gets a online boyfriend too and attends her rehearsal at the church. That person is Paul! Chan must save for little sister from danger. On her way to the competion, Chan says she has to go to the church and save Lauren. Chan's twirling instructer, Chan's calls her the Bear, calls the police and they arrest Paul (he then says his name is really Jim). This book is a real life lesson to kids, teens and adults. It teaches that people aren't always who they say they are and you have to watch out because you never know who's a predator. Inconclusion, I loved this book I would recommend it to all my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    AWESOME!!

    I loved this book!! I coudln't put it down!!!! It's very rare for me to find a book that I can't put down. I had it done in 2 days!! Loved it!! Major page turner!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not So Great

    i didnt find this book very great, sure it has a great message about being careful on the interenet and real relationships as well, but i didnt find it that interesting. the plot was pretty boring, and it took me longer to read than most books because i wasnt excited to read it at all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A GREAT FAMILY READ!!

    Chan Shealy is a sophomore who is has been labeled as a "skank" and an outsider. She trusted her first boyfriend who left her broken hearted and diseased, so she has vowed to never to do it again. Chan decides that real life boys aren't worth the trouble, but on-line boys are. She gets hooked up with a dreamy guy named "Paul", but little does she know that he has more than love on his mind. This is a great tale for teens and adults alike. Everyone at some point experiences loss of friends and social grace, but Chan takes hersefl on a dangerous journey into the world wide web. This an excellent book to bring to life the dangers that chat rooms and other social sites can cause, and it's definitely a page turner!!! As an English teacher I can honestly say that Susan Vaught really gets into the minds of teenagers and tells a unique and gripping tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    Im not one to read...but WOW!!!

    First off this is not a vampire story!!! Who ever thought that is totally wrong!!! <BR/><BR/>Chan goes through wanting an online boyfriend to get away from the real boyfriend drama, due to her reputation being destroyed after a football guy gave her herpes the year before... but ends up with webcam trouble, family issues, and friends being forgotten as the true bestfriend they once were. At the end there's a huge twist where I ended up not being able to put the book down at all until I read all the way to the end. This twist ends up making Chan really discover how much her life has changed. From wanting that not-so-real boyfriend to saying "I just wish life would start feeling real again..."<BR/><BR/>This book is one of the top books I've ever read!! I've even gone through some of the things she has, and it just hit me really hard. This is surely one book I WILL NEVER FORGET!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Must Read

    This book is really good. It shows people that there defientley consquences when going online. I recomend to 13 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Loved it!

    Ok. I seriosly love this book! Its very unique and twisted and you feel as though youre right there with Chan. I felt complete adrenaline as I read this book,, and have been in Chans position before. Dont trust the Internet, people!
    Paul cannot be trusted. The book is intense, and can make you a bit uncomfortable. I am totally in <3 with this book! Read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's book blog

    This is a very realistic book about online predators, but it is also about much more. I haven't really read much about a teen dealing with an STD, and I think that its really important to talk about, because no matter how gross or uncomfortable, it is REAL LIFE. Sometimes things in fiction can make something in real life easier to deal with and hopefully that will make someone less ashamed of themselves, and realize that even though a mistake, it can happen, and you can still live your life.
    That said, the main character was sympathetic in some ways. She did in a sense have it all, but she also had a broken heart, an STD, and attracts the wrong sort of attention online, so really, she didn't. I didn't connect with her personally the best, but I still was invested in what happened to her, and I saw the bad things coming and didn't want it to.
    I love the realistic, but strong connection she has with her sister. She's dramatic, bratty at times, but underneath vulnerable and young. I love it when Chan's protective instincts kicks in, and the soft moments where she lets her in her bed after a nightmare, and other ways she looks out for her. I also love her bff Devin, it makes me long for a friend like that.
    The plot was fast moving and kept me interested, especially after the first few chapters of set up. I liked Vaught's writing style and want to read more of her stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another good one.

    Vaught is a good author who writes mostly novels about teen issues, but writes them interestingly enough to hold adults interest as well. This book is great for maybe 12year olds + with a great story about the dangers online.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Reply for is it good 4 ten yr olds

    No b/c its for grades 8 nd up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Not so great

    The idea of the story was good but it didn't really catch my attention. Towards the end I was wondering when it was going to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2