Customer Reviews for

Exposure

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fear. Everyone lives with it. Day after day.

There are moments of suspense but it generally centers on Kaycee dealing with her fears. Learning how to work through and overcome them. There are general references to God but it wasn't a significant theme in the book. This is a book that is a good read but I probably ...
There are moments of suspense but it generally centers on Kaycee dealing with her fears. Learning how to work through and overcome them. There are general references to God but it wasn't a significant theme in the book. This is a book that is a good read but I probably won't read it again. My advise? Get from the library - don't rush out to buy it!

posted by GHott on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not Very Suspenseful...

While this story had its twists and turns, it didn't really grab me. I wanted to get to the end of the book to find out the ending but that's about it. Nothing really pulled me in. Kaycee could be grating at times, and the two different story lines didn't really pull to...
While this story had its twists and turns, it didn't really grab me. I wanted to get to the end of the book to find out the ending but that's about it. Nothing really pulled me in. Kaycee could be grating at times, and the two different story lines didn't really pull together until the very end. It was a nice twist but not enough for me to say the whole thing was worth it.

posted by Milbrath on October 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 16, 2012

    Not Very Suspenseful...

    While this story had its twists and turns, it didn't really grab me. I wanted to get to the end of the book to find out the ending but that's about it. Nothing really pulled me in. Kaycee could be grating at times, and the two different story lines didn't really pull together until the very end. It was a nice twist but not enough for me to say the whole thing was worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fear. Everyone lives with it. Day after day.

    There are moments of suspense but it generally centers on Kaycee dealing with her fears. Learning how to work through and overcome them. There are general references to God but it wasn't a significant theme in the book. This is a book that is a good read but I probably won't read it again. My advise? Get from the library - don't rush out to buy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Excellent

    This is an excellent book. It is well written and kept me up way past my bedtime. I donated it to the library where I work and have recommended it numerous times. The patrons have never been disappointed and have requested more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Collins--Exsposure

    This book is a gotta have book if you are a Collins fan, like me. This book like most of her other books is a murder mystery supsense, which will make you want to keep reading it. This is an awesome book and i recommend it to anyone who has ever struggled with a fear.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    DIDN'T SEE THAT COMING!!!

    I really thought I had Collin's plot all figured out, smart reader that I am. Even if the book had not been so good, I would have read to the end just for the satisfaction of knowing I knew "who donnit". Then, suddenly, I was smacked in the head by an incoming missle that never hit my radar screen. Ohhhh myyyyyy.....

    What a great read! The worse thing about the book? It kept me up at night until I finished it!! Brandilyn Collins has outwritten all her previous novels in "Exposure". Never had I read a book that shocked me as much as this book. Truly she has earned the right to be called the Queen of "Seatbelt Suspense"!!

    Amazing characters and plot. Surprise ending.. did I mention the surprise ending? Even if I read the book backwards I never would have seen it coming!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Exposing my Fears

    My husband was away on a business trip recently, and there's a rule of nature that says things will always break when he's away. Light bulbs I can fix; blocked drains; computers that refuse to switch on. I'm really fairly independent. But come night-time, I walk round every room in the house, checking every electrical socket to make sure no plugs are falling out and no wiring's getting warm. I check the cooker, double-check, run my hands over the top. I lock and relock the windows and doors, and look in the garage to see if the car's okay. Then I listen to every creak and groan, the plumbing's moan, the drips from the roof, the patter of critters in the yard.

    When I started reading Exposure, by Brandilyn Collins, I felt right at home. The protagonist, Kaycee, knows all about the fears of an empty house. She battles them by writing a humorous column in the paper, and I'm jealous; I want her job. But then things start to happen, little things with big impact and no evidence left behind. Maybe they're just images from Kaycee's subconscious mind. And maybe they don't matter, because someone Kaycee cares for might turn out to be in real danger. Or maybe.

    Kaycee's still checking windows and doors, closing curtains, and jumping at sounds that the house spins around her. And I'm jumping too. Jumping more when she sees "it" again.

    But hey! My husband's home. I don't need my night-time rituals. Still, Ms. Collins conveys Kaycee's feelings so powerfully I find myself checking electrical outlets again. But I don't switch out the light; I have to keep reading to the end.

    Exposure is a very satisfying novel. The twists and turns move naturally, leading the reader to guess and not quite guess, doubt and not quite doubt, till an ending that brings all the different threads together. Do people's worst fears always happen? I have to believe they don't, though I'm sure they sometimes do. And Ms. Collins' novel reminds me that there's ways to cope, and someone out there will hold my hand too if my world falls apart.

    I don't want Kaycee's job after all. Her column reads way better written by her. Read the book and I'm sure you'll agree.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Perception or Reality?

    The author gives us a chilling look at how fears, both real and imagined, bind us or motivate us to make choices, for good or ill. Through the perceptions of different characters, we must sort out what’s real and what’s not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Thrilling and Moving

    WOW! "Exposure" is definitely a must have. Brandilyn Collins always delivers in her thrilling novels and she did not cut us short on this one. This book was very good and I know you will love it. I got to a point where I was scared to turn the page. It will also reach you on a spiritual level and remind you of who's in conrtol, which is God. Please get it. Get it now. Right now. Go, right now and get this. Now, lol! God Bless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Best be Afraid!

    As we expect from this best-selling author, Exposure is an interesting and tense mystery /crime drama. The character Kaycee Raye is overwhelmed with fear every minute of every day of her life, and as the reader, I couldn't help but feel that fear with her all through the book. There were twists and turns in the story along the way, but in the end, all of it comes together until it is proven that even paranoids can have real enemies. I had no clue ahead of time to the twists in the storyline and the surprises added to my enjoyment of the book. Again Zondervan publishes a wonderful fiction book that demonstrates people who struggle with doubts and fears, but rely on their faith to get them through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A decent, readable crime/suspense novel

    A columnist from a small town starts experiencing some very disturbing events at her home that closely mirror her own worst nightmares. It is not clear if those events are due to her delusional mind, some sick copycat who plays some elaborate joke on her, or genuine supernatural phenomena. Meanwhile a daughter of her friend runs away from home and goes missing. In an unrelated story a bank clerk with severe case of claustrophobia goes through a very harrowing bank-robbery. These three stories don't seem to have much in common, and the reader is kept wondering until the very end what the connection is. This puzzle is the one of the main sources of interest for me in an otherwise rather unremarkable novel. The writing is extremely simplistic even for a hard-boiled crime novel, and characters are very flat. The characters oftentimes do such dumb things that it can be a challenge to maintain the suspension-of-disbelief throughout the novel. The final resolution of the plot did somewhat work out, although even that left me scratching my head about many particulars. The invocation of God in one of the last chapters felt totally gratuitous and unconnected with the rest of the story. I have no problem with intertwining a deeper spiritual or religious message into a story, but this needs to be done with some dose of tact in a meaningful, naturally-flowing way. Otherwise it looks as ridiculous as a top-hat on a hobo.

    Despite all of its flaws, this is a decent, readable, book that will keep you interested and can be worthwhile if you have nothing better to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Wow, what a great book!

    I've never read a book that had me on edge. I love how the author ties everything together. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    Suspense!!

    As we expect from this best-selling author, Exposure is an interesting and tense mystery /crime drama. The character Kaycee Raye is overwhelmed with fear every minute of every day of her life, and as the reader, I couldn't help but feel that fear with her all through the book. There were twists and turns in the story along the way, but in the end, all of it comes together until it is proven that even paranoids can have real enemies. I had no clue ahead of time to the twists in the storyline and the surprise added to my enjoyment of the book. Again Zondervan publishes a wonderful fiction book that demonstrates people who struggle with doubts and fears, but rely on their faith to get them through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Such awesome suspense!

    I love Brandilyn Collins. Everytime I read one of her books I think, no way can she top her last book, it's just not possible. I have figured out her style and I can see any twist coming. Right? WRONG!!! She gets me everytime and with "Exposure" she blows the doors off of all my expectations - she shattered my preconceived notions and I promise never to underestimate Brandilyn again!

    We see two stories unfold in "Exposure". The first one is Kaycee, the ultimate scaredy cat, afraid of everything - especially her own shadow. But her fears have escalated since her friend died a year ago and now she figures she is really going crazy, or at least the police are going to think so. She sees a picture of a dead man showing up everywhere - her computer screen, her tv, but no proof. Her friend's daughter disappears as she is running away to Kaycee's house and she feels responsible. Will she fall apart before she can help find Hannah?

    At the same time we see Martin and Lorraine's story unfolding. A bank robbery, a murder, the mob, a sick daughter.

    I knew the two stories would intersect at some point, but BAM! I didn't figure out how. This book is fantastic - thank you Brandilyn for doing what you do better than anyone else and doing it again! Please don't stop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    Exposure by Brandlynn Collins -- I loved this book!!!

    As part of Zondervan's blogger program I was sent an advance reader's copy of Exposure, by Brandilyn Collins. I can't hold it in, I loved this book!!!

    Okay, I know I'm supposed to tell you a bit about the book first, before I give you my take on it, so here it goes. The story revolves around a newspaper columnist names Kaycee Raye. Kaycee deals with multiple fears and devotes a column to writing about those fears and helping others to deal with their own fear issues.

    One day Kaycee comes home and is standing in her kitchen when suddenly a camera she hadn't noticed sitting on her table takes her picture. Frightened, she picks up the camera to find not just her own picture, but a picture of a dead man. She throws the camera in a panic and goes to the police, only to have them search the house and find nothing out of order, and of course, no camera. The police write it off as one of Kaycee's many false alarms.

    This is just the first in a number of mysterious and terrifying events which Kaycee must try to ignore as she has an even more important task ahead of her. A young friend of hers has gone missing and she must find her.

    This book was a page-turner from page one. I was totally absorbed in the storyline from the minute I started reading. As with any good mystery, I was totally stumped as to what was going on and try as I did, I could not put all the pieces together. In the end was twist I never saw coming.

    Brandilynn Collins is a new author to me, but I will be reading more of her books. Like I said above, I really loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    Exposure by Brandilyn Collins - You Can't Put This Book Down!

    I have to admit that I love books in the Suspense/Thriller category so receiving Exposure by Brandilyn Collins for review is quite a treat for me. It's the first time that I'll be reading Christian Fiction Suspense so I am very intrigued by how the writer tackled this.

    Brandilyn Collins is known for her trademark Seatbelt Suspense and Exposure does not disappoint. In Exposure, Kaycee Raye lives daily with the fear of being watched by someone she cannot see. Fear and multiple paranoia is a part of her daily life. Despite this, she continues to live her life, trying to conquer her fears and writing about it in her newspaper column. A twist in the story will force her to confront her past in order to save a little girl who needs her help desperately.

    Expect high action and psychological thriller in the pages of Exposure. Faith and trust in the Lord is woven in the story so well.

    I could not put this book down once I started reading it. The suspense has kept me on the edge of my seat. Brandilyn Collins writes so well and sometimes it really feels like I am right there with Kaycee Raye. I appreciate that the main character goes through a time where she resolves to keep on trusting the Lord to face her fears. This is a well-written book and worthy to be another bestseller! Thanks, Brandilyn Collins!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    Collins serves up another suspenseful treat

    Exposure by Brandilyn Collins is a haunting look at the power that fear can hold over our lives, but just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they aren't really after you. Kaycee Raye has lived in fear of people watching her. Her mother lived with the same paranoia, always watching out windows and moving from place to place to find some semblance of peace. Kaycee's tried to turn her fear into something good by writing a newspaper column about the effects of fear and how to overcome it. Despite recent baby steps to freedom from fear, she's been making calls to the police about seeing someone lurking around her home, making her look like the woman who cried wolf. When a young girl disappears while on the way to Kaycee's home, it starts to look like someone may really be after her, and everything gets really scary. I am a longtime fan of Collins, because she never fails to surprise even me, a fairly jaded reader. When the two divergent plotlines came crashing together in this book, I was stunned and blown away by just how good her writing really is. I did feel a bit at times as though I had stepped into the second book in a series; there's a lot of backstory. I do love how she portrayed the debilitating effects of fear and how perfect love casts out fear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SEATBELT SUSPENSE

    Kaycee's paranoia and fear should make her hard to sympathize with. Brandilyn's writing skill kicks in right away and the reader is rooting for Kaycee to overcome her fears. We care.

    Brandilyn has a BHCC club. Big Honkin' Chickens Club for her friends who are too chicken to read her suspense novels. I have read several of her books. Piece of cake. Who would be afraid to read them? Well 3/4 of the way through Exposure I was afraid I would be joining the BHCCs. Sigh.

    I mean what was with Lorraine? Right there on page 209 I wanted to shake her. Get with the program! Get out of there! Don't you know you are in danger? As I write this review my heart is still pounding. As Brandilyn says: Don't forget to breath . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    Love the Exciting Twist Ending

    Oh my! I've been a fan of Collins' books but I felt like this one went up a new level into sophistication and depth. The ending truly is an exciting twist. Not anticipated at all. She just keeps getting better and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    High Octane Seatbelt Suspense

    Brandilyn Collins proves what a master of suspense she is in this new novel EXPOSURE. She not only handles the plot in an innovative treatment, she forces us to face our deepest fears. At one point, when I dozed off as I couldn't put the book down, I had a nightmare (which I can't remember now) that woke me up and I kept reading to the end. The pace never relents, only intensifies as the dangers escalate.

    Kaycee Raye writes a syndicated newspaper column that ridicules her own fears, while exploring them. Until she starts seeing things that disappear and the police can't believe her. And then the young runaway daughter of a friend disappears and the child's note indicates she wanted to stay with Kaycee. Are all these incidents related? The fear that she is responsible for young Hannah's possible abduction drives Kaycee to fight her fears and help look for her. I agree with the first reviewer. To go further with the plot is to give away the stunning ending.

    Even though EXPOSURE is produced by a Christian publisher, this novel could have been mainstream. Kaycee's experience with God is organic to the story. She prays in "short-tongue" style--according to her quick observation or urgent appeal, more in keeping with how most people pray--and only at the end of her ordeal does she analyze the part God plays in what has happened to her and in the healing process. That too is how most of us experience our relationship with God, whatever our religious belief.

    Brandilyn deserves to stand at the top of the podium. This is an outstanding novel that rates five stars PLUS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Exposure by: Brandilyn Collins

    I relate, in a way, to Kaycee. I'm afraid of the dark. Well, not the dark exactly, all the things darkness can hide.

    Brandilyn Collins has written a story that forces her characters to face their phobias. Apprehension grips the reader as Kaycee tries to find out who is behind the mysterious messages and how they were able to get in through locked doors.

    Exposure will have you reading as quickly as you can to find the truth. And what happened to Martin Giordano's family?

    Mystery, gripping, compelling flows from chapter to chapter demanding answers. Suspense keeps you reading, with a determination to discover the facts as you watch Officer Mark Burnett put aside his preconceived assumptions to solve two cases. Are they related?

    Ms. Collins work is a must read. She encourages us to remember that God is always there, quietly waiting. He is the answer to all things. Thank you, Brandilyn Collins for challenging us to step out and trust God even in the midst of fear.

    Exposure
    By: Brandilyn Collins
    Zondervan
    ISBN 978-0-310-27643-2
    $14.99

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4