Customer Reviews for

Exposure

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Gripping!

    "Exposure" is thought provoking, beautifully written and gripping. The premise of the book is written appropriately and fitting for 2011. Two teenagers in a consensual relationship choose to text each other inappropriate pictures. The girl's father finds out and takes legal action. Anthony and Amelia's, (who were high school seniors), private and intimate pictures of themselves, not meant to be shared with anyone but the two of them, were misinterpreted as child pornography. This book touches on many typical issues, such as they're typical teens; they are passionate and feel that no one experiences love like they do; they have hopes and dreams for their future together. Their parents are also pretty typical; they want their kids to succeed and have an easy life. Amelia's dad may seem the overly sheltering parent, but he has made mistakes in his past that he was hoping she would avoid. This book will surely be a book club favorite with the subject matter at hand. It's a representation of everything that is good and bad about our changing culture, including the news media that feeds into the salacious aspect of the story. Presenting characters that are so real, "Exposure" is a fast-paced, intense read and I enjoyed every minute of it. Madison Pridgen, A member of Between the Lines book club

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Provocative, Gripping, And All Too Timely

    It's hard to know where to begin with a story like Exposure. The premise is simple enough: 18 year old Anthony Winter is in love with 17 year old Amelia Wilkes. The two of them have a sexual relationship - which is perfectly acceptable according to North Carolina law - and happen to exchange nude photos of each other and with each other - which is not acceptable according to the law. Parents are infuriated, blame gets passed around, mostly by Amelia's father Harlan, yet both teens are still 100% devoted to one another. Like I said, simple enough.

    What makes Exposure stand out and truly become this phenom of a story, is Therese Fowler's remarkable execution. Told in third person, from several different perspectives, the reader has insight into the emotions and the thought process of Amelia, Anthony, Kim Winter (Anthony's mother), and Harlan Wilkes himself. Each chapter ignites more and more rage about the entire situation, but no one can ever be hated in it. Harlan, the most easily disliked of the characters, isn't even a bad person. His view of the situation, while biased, unreasonable, and rash, is still understandable. He loves his daughter and he wants to do what is best for her, even when she insists that he's only accomplishing the opposite. Kim Winter's love for her son rings just as true as Harlan's for his daughter, only she sees Anthony for who he is - not a man who should be on a sex offender registry, but as her son. Her son who is madly in love with the wrong man's daughter and who is being unjustly punished by some backwards law that allows him to have sex with a 17 year old girl, but to not have naked photos of her, or her of him.

    Seeing the strains put on each of these characters strengthens the story, and each of their reactions make the entire situation hit that much closer to home. Anthony and Amelia could be any two teens, in any school, in any state. Harlan could be any concerned, upset, outraged father. And Kim could be any devoted, terrified, and loving mother. These people are not out of the ordinary. It is the fact that they are so ordinary, that makes them stick out.

    It is this - along with Fowler's emotional hold on the reader - that gripped me from beginning to end. Exposure is a love story at its heart, yet Amelia and Anthony spend little time together. The majority of their love is displayed in sweet memories and quiet longings. But that love is quite evident regardless. Fowler writes the story like one would a play, in acts, and even with an encore. Each act brings more and more dissolution and despair, almost like one of Shakespeare's tragedies. And she knows this, doing it with precision and purpose. Creating a poetic connection to her characters and their plight, two teens, madly in love, yet persecuted for the means in which they go about it. For hiding it, for lying, for keeping their private manners private, but doing so with technology they always use, but winds up being their damnation.

    Exposure is provocative, gripping, intense, and all too timely - a modern tale of love, family, right, wrong, and the consequences of following your heart. It didn't leave me breathless, but gasping for a resolution. I was stunned, blindsided, emotionally aghast, and so, so heartbroken that love in the 21st century can be this hard. That two people can love each other that much and have to suffer for it. It defies genres and preferences. It is timeless, a modern twist on a classic tragedy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exposure

    Having never read anything by Therese Fowler I wasn't sure what to expect with "Exposure." I have read several fiction works about the subject of sex ting and wondered how different another book about the topic might be. Well I must say that I became captivated by this book immediately, the authors writing style completely drew me in, she allows you to feel the emotions the characters feel, and because the topic discussed in this book is quite timely it was easy to imagine how this scenario might actually happen.

    She gives us the story of Anthony and Amelia. While they both attend Ravenswood Academy, they come from different worlds. Amelia is a seventeen year old who is the only child of Harlan and Sheri Wilkes. Having grown up poor Harlan worked his way into owning several car dealerships in the area, but since he never forgot growing up poor he is determined to shelter his daughter from a life of adversity by planning out her future for her.Anthony is eighteen and grew up in a single parent home, his ticket to Ravenswood Academy is the fact that his mother took a teaching position there.
    Anthony and Amelia are drawn together because of their love of theater. They are making plans for where they want to go to school, and while they are able to share their plans with Anthony's mother,everything has to stay hidden from the Wilkes, until Amelia graduates, because she knows her parents will never allow her to follow thru with her plans, because they are so different from what her father wants her to do.
    When Amelia forgets her laptop on a kitchen counter, her father decides to do a little snooping, shocked when he finds several naked pictures of Anthony. Unwilling to listen to his daughter, Harlan becomes irate and wants Anthony to be punished, but when Anthony's computer is confiscated pictures are found that cause Amelia to be arrested as well.

    This book is filled with well developed characters. Amelia and Anthony are so easy to envision, so in love and full of hope for the future. Because we get the story from so many points of view, it is really hard to label anyone as a bad guy. I could understand Amelia and Anthony exchanging those pictures,never realizing something that they did out of love would be exposed. As a parent I could definitely understand how Harlan must have felt when he found those pictures on his daughters computer. I think the one person whose opinion I would have liked to read more of was Amelia's mother Sheri, she seemed to be in the background quite a bit, and allowed Harlan to make the decisions.
    I did enjoy the fact that the Wilkes' dog a golden Lab named Buttercup was mentioned several times in this story.
    I really enjoyed this eye opening, thought provoking story and will certainly be looking for more work from this talented author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    WOW!

    Iloved Souvenirs and was thrilled to hear that Therese Fowler has written another novel. I was lucky enough to score an ARC of Exposure - and just loved it. It is well written based upon a great - and current - premises. The characters are so believeable! I only wish that I had known from the start that this grew out of a real life experience for the author. Such a good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Best Book I've Read This Year

    You know how great it is when you get a book you can't stop reading and you stay up until 1:30 am to finish it? That is Exposure by Therese Fowler. This, simply put, is one hell of a great book! I was already a fan of Fowler's work as I read and loved Souvenir last year. Exposure is even better!

    The premise of the book is perfect for 2011. Two teenagers in a consentual relationship choose to text each other inappropriate pictures. The girl's conservative, successful father unfortunately finds out and legal action ensues. This book is very timely in our age of digital cameras, flip videos, Skype, etc. I dare say that everyone who has a child who even knows how to use a cell phone should read this novel ASAP!

    This book is such an absolute page-turner that I really don't want to say much more about the plot so that I don't spoil your fabulous upcoming reading experience. Suffice it to say, the boy, the girl and their parents all get in BIG trouble. Despite the teenagers' actions, they are lovable and believable. Fowler's character development is tremendous.

    Exposure is really a 21st century Romeo and Juliet. This book will be the delight of book clubs as it has a gripping plot and can so easily lead to moral and ethical questions. I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that I see this book becoming a movie shortly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Impressed

    *Note: I received an advanced copy, so I won't go into details in case something is changed before final publication.

    While at first I feared that Exposure would go the way of A) a cheesey teenage love gone wrong story, or B) an overzealous courtroom drama, I was pleasantly surprised to keep reading and find that it was neither. Fowler managed to bring in the romantic and legal aspects while at the same time developing truly engaging characters and creating an overall flowing story. Once into "the meat" of the story, I had a hard time putting the book down. I genuinely cared about Anthony and Amelia, and could not wait to get to find out what happened to them. It definitely has me interesting in reading more by Therese Fowler.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Very Interesting

    A really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Outstanding!!!!

    Compelling, love story, realistic topics about teens and sexting and how parents become involved---could not put it down---finished over the weekend! Raw and full of emotion with real characters you grow to love and adore! Having raised two sons and three stepsons in the south (Winston-Salem, NC) before moving to Atlanta and now Florida, coming from strict parents within the Bible belt, myself; could relate as such a conservative closed mind area.

    Even though my sons are grown now with families of their own it offers an insight to what is in store for their children--the internet and technology has changed all our lives, especially teens and the younger generation. The story is about teens, young love, romance, and relationships with parents, politics, and the south—a wake-up call to parents a teens alike.

    Have read Therese’s other two books; however, will say without a doubt, Exposure was outstanding and this gem truly belongs on the best seller list and movie worthy! Hats’ off to Fowler for bringing a story to life which appears was close to her heart; controversial and well-written. A must read - I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Excellent reading

    Well written, believable characters, page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Timely & Relevant Read!

    Wow! Where to begin?

    In this digital age we live in, can we ever be to careful of the information we save, store, and put out there for the world to see?

    My youngest son is 16 and his cell phone is an extension of his right arm. We've had numerous talks about the dangers of sexting, the harm that can be done by simply forwarding a picture sent to him by someone else. But does he really get it?

    I don't think I truly got it until I read Exposure. Aside from the obvious humiliation, rumors and innuendos both parties would find themselves surrounded by, there are also the legal ramifications to consider which this book did such an excellent job of driving home.

    Anthony and Amelia don't feel like they have done anything wrong. They love each other. But what they don't understand is at their age, Anthony eighteen and Amelia seventeen, is that in showing their love to each other they trip a wire that runs a thin line back to the law. And even though they did something very personal and very private which they thought would only ever involve them, it turns out to have very real and powerful consequences for those that they love as well, and soon Anthony's mother Kim is just as knee-deep in the court system as they are.

    I felt the heartache these two teenagers were going through- the love they had for each other, the painful forced separation, the worry, anxiety and fear. Therese Fowler makes you feel every emotion acutely. Even though I could never condone what they did or what they're about to do I found myself rooting them on. And Amelia's father, though well within his legal right as a parent, needed a rude awakening that I sincerely wanted to be the one to give him.

    Exposure had me feeling far-ranging emotions with every page I turned and after my last book (good, but dry) it was a welcome feeling. I loved this timely and relevant novel so I am rating it 4.5/5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Now meets then

    I was frustrated with Mr. Wilkes' old-school ways of thinking...that he should have a grand plan for his daughter's life as he sees it. But, as most parents know, with children comes a yearning for indepence. Today's young adults also add a mix of an ever increasing social media presence. While this book shows the lengths parents and teens may go to get "their way" it also is a springboard for discussion on the media (texting, email, facebook, etc.) that are a part of our lives from now on. How different to parent today than when our parents raised us.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Woman's Point of View

    This novel should come with an advisory warning: Male lawyers are not going to like the way this book portrays them! Men in general don't fare too well either. The story is a soap opera of a tale about teens sending messages called "sexting" which include nude photos of themselves.It's a topic of conversation around the country, and for those who do not understand the popularity of it, take note that the book is of no help there. Sexting just is. As a story I rated the book 4 stars, both because it is heartfelt, and because it does have something to say beyond how ugly male lawyers are. Teens have been falling in love for centuries, and fathers have always been reluctant to see their little girl grow up. The author puts a new twist on this with the sexting angle and will perhaps deter some teens from doing it, or at least make them consider carefully before they do. And it is them that the book seems to address, not male lawyers anyway!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    BORING, don't waste your time or money

    This book was SO boring and the ending was pathetic. I have enjoyed Therese Fowler's other 2 books, I figured I would like this as well. NOT!
    I can't believe the Author put aside a book that she was writing for this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    An Exceedingly Emotional Story...

    Exposure by Therese Fowler is a boldly captivating, riveting and at times, haunting story of young love that is distorted and misinterpreted by outside forces. What makes Exposure a standout novel is the fact that the characters are so utterly real. I think that everyone can relate to these teenagers because everyone knows an Amelia and an Anthony. You can truly connect with the story, because you can get inside it. You feel a kinship with these teens, because they have such honesty in them.

    The story definitely has elements of heartbreak, especially in the way that the relationship between Amelia and Anthony is skewed and formed into something else by her father. As you read the passages narrated by the young adults, a vision of a all-consuming, genuine first love. When you see it from the fathers eyes and see what he tries to portray their relationship as - well it stirs up quite a reaction. Therein lies the gold-mine of Exposure - strong reactions and difficult emotions.

    Fowler expertly plays up these heightened feelings and forces readers to take notice of this difficult subject matter. She beautifully crafts this complicated tale of a young love that is cast in different lights depending on the viewer. Fowler throws many difficult questions at the reader and forces you to feel. This, I think is the mark of a wonderful book -something that pushes the boundaries, something that takes hold of you and puts you through a riveting emotional ride.

    The writing is superb, the storyline is captivating and the characters are honest. Honestly, I do not know what else you could ask for. Exposure is one of those rare novels that quickly grabs hold of you and never really lets go. If you enjoy challenging storylines that not only encourage thinking, but demand it - then Exposure is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Real life romeo and juliet

    This book was great. The characters build that love that only eighteen year olds can have, true passion. The understanding mother and over protective father, its a must read. Loved the way it ended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exposure- You need to read this!

    Exposure, by Therese Fowler

    Exposure is a modern Romeo and Juliet; a teenage couple who are desperate to be together despite Amelia's father edict that she was not allowed to date, even at 17. Anthony and Amelia, who after their cumulating night of love, make a decision that has consequences far beyond what either of them could have possibly imagined. Amelia's father finds naked pictures of Anthony on her computer, and despite her protests, uses his influence on the local police to arrest Anthony, and to have the media label him a sex offender. Events continue to unravel out of control, and soon the story gains national attention. With the continued investigation, the "sexting" takes a wild turn, and the teens take drastic measures to clear their names.


    Ms. Fowler bravely takes from a personal experience that occurred in 2009 when her son approached her with dread and announced, "Mom. I'm in trouble and I'm going to be arrested.", and creates a work of fiction that feels uncomfortably real. The book, as the author states, "is fiction, the characters drawn completely from my imagination." All the reactions and fears are entirely real.


    As a HS teacher, I asked a couple of good students, average teens, about sexting, and their comments surprised me.

    Yes, it is happening, in good schools, in good families, in your area! Beginning in MIDDLE SCHOOL!


    And yes, these 'harmless' acts, even when both parties consent, if caught and convicted, will have to register as sex offenders. I too have personal knowledge of such events.


    Bravo to Ms. Fowler (as well as her son and family), for sharing, which as I can only imagine, must have heart-wrenching.


    Suffice it to say that I truly loved the book and will be HIGHLY recommending it to others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2