Customer Reviews for

Extinction: R.A. Salvatore Presents The War of the Spider Queen, Book IV

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    What a Blast.

    Wow! What a ride.

    Lisa Smedman takes this series and injected a jolt of intensity that it really needed. She has a way of writing that feels very immediate and exciting. The subject (our group of drow splits up, follows paths all over the place, and gets even deeper into trouble) is nothing really special, but Smedman presents it in a way that really made me feel for the characters and kept the pages turning.

    I especially loved the way she worked the minutiae of Dungeons and Dragons lore into the story. I've been a D&D fan for a long time now, and we never worry about most of that little stuff in the games we play, but Smedman worked things like spell component collection, the use of those components in spell casting, and in just the descriptions of the various items the characters use into the story. But in a way that flowed naturally, rather than becoming a grocery list of completeness.

    I was very very impressed with this book. And I'll be looking out for more Smedman in the future. I think she's an author to watch!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I LOVED THIS SERIES. I can't say more than that.

    This series starts off a little strange and you can't really see where they are going with all of this but as you progress, you see that the first book was the set up for a HUGE climax. You need to treat each book as a "Chapter" and when you hit the end, you will either absolutely love it or find it distasteful but completely in line with the mores and values of the Drow.

    I got 3 books in and tried to read R.A. Salvatore's The Ghost King (Transitions Series #3) and it paled in comparison to this series. I had to stop reading it after only one chapter because I couldn't take the sugar and spice.

    Be warned, once you take up The War of the Spider Queen, you may not be able to go back to the morality and sappy innocence of Drizzt's story lines.

    I'm not even going to attempt to pick up Mr. Salvatore's books until I can get the Underdark and the Demon Web Pits out of my mind.

    I LOVED this series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Extinction, the War of the Spider Queen series, Book 4

    The "babies" that have escaped from Lolth's egg sack are attacking one another, until there is only one. The strongest one will survive, from the thousands. Hallistra is questioning her faith to Lolth, since their recent trip to the Demonweb Pits in the Abyss. She is charged by Quenthal to return to Menzoberranzan, and report what answers they have for now. Hallistra finds her calling to the goddess Eilistraee. Soon the goddess charges her to retrieve the lost Crescent Blade. The weapons master Ryld, joins her, as their love and relationship becomes one like those from the World Above. But, he runs into a boy, who is a werewolf, and this complicates matters with the priestesses of Eilistraee. In the meantime, the remaining adventurers will return to the Demonweb Pits for more answers to Lolth's silence, but with a better guide this time. They learn of a demon ship of chaos that they can sail to the Abyss. Unfortunately for one, the ship must be feed a soul in order to make the journey. Valas finds himself in "deep water", as the team travel to the city of Zanhoriloch to recover the ship of chaos. The city of Menzoberranzan is pinned between the tanarukk and duergar armies. To Menzoberranzan's advantage, Gromph makes his escape/reappearance, but at a price.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    This is a great book.

    This is the book that made me a Lisa Smedman fan. It's one of the best books in the series. It was fast-paced and very exciting. Halisstra and Ryld enter the surface world from the Underdark. From there,it goes so fast, you don't want it to end! It earns the right to stand beside the War of the Spider Queen books that came before it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    The action continues

    You have the missions to find out what happened to Lolth as well as Ryld and Hallistra's adventures above ground. Many battles and plot twists make for a real page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    curiouser and curiouser

    the latest instalment of this saga just makes your mouth drop and say 'um, what the hell just happened?' being based on a purely evil society the author found new ways for the charaters to develop and act in a variety of illogical and inherintly evil ways. the twists and turns bring you further into this world and make you wonder who is really playing who. additionaly the tiny prolouges annoying and irrelevant in the first book are slowly coming to light and making you desire the next few books to be released as soon as possible. enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    Still Great but slowing down...

    This was my least favorite of the War of the Spider Queen due the lack of plot progression and flatness of the characters. But, its still fun to read and keeps the saga floating onward. First, I felt the plot did not advance at all for the core characters. Yes they moved geographically, but nothing new evolved in the war. In addition, I felt the characters lost some of their edge here especially Quenthel--seeming to be a puppet for the heads of her whip instead of a devious and cunning drow priestess. Where the book shined was the development of Ryld and Halisstra. Their sideplot helped develop their characters and added an interesting twist to the overall saga. But as they developed the others were virtually at a stand still. As I said earlier, it was still a fun read and still captured the essence of the series. It just lacked new direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    Best Book in Series Yet!!!

    Read this book in two sittings. Couldn't put it down! Best plot development of the series so far. Lisa Smedman is an excellent author. Can't wait to read more Forgotten Realms titles from her. When this series is done, I will probably have to rate it as one of the best Forgotten Realms series ever. A must read for DnD fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2